We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Majestic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Majestic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate with my mum. We were on a package including 3 course dinner with bottle of wine on first night and afternoon tea on second day. Our room was a large corner twin with w.c. And separate shower/bathroom. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Thought it was a lovely touch to have the history of the hotel book in the room too. Set menu for dinner had plenty of choices, food was delicious and served promptly by very friendly efficient staff. Nice bottle of Rosé too! We were not in usual dining room as a large function was taking place however, this room was large and beautifully decorated.Self service breakfast both mornings had varied choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurts, breads, croissants etc as well as the usual full breakfast and cooked to order specials. Lovely high tea on Saturday afternoon too. Minor issues here and there if you were being really picky about decor but the heart and warmth of the hotel was in its staff and the service and welcome they provided were second to none. We will be back and will be recommending you to our friends too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

Our team do everything in their power to try and ensure all our guests have a wonderful stay with us and I'm so glad that this was your experience.

We are all delighted with your kind praise and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    860
    531
    288
    183
See reviews for
330
1,366
30
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Met up with two friends from Southampton for reunion after a very enjoyable stay at the Majestic over New Year. The return proved to be a triumph. We were all delighted with the service, quality of food and accommodation and venue for exploring Yorkshire. Now arranging next New Years stay at another Puma hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ph002d7555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

Our team do everything in their power to try and ensure all our guests have a wonderful stay with us and I'm so glad that this was your experience.

We are all delighted with your kind praise and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was very good. The hotel is chic in places and shabby in most others. There is no spa as such. It is more a swimming pool and gym which is in need of refurbishment. Spa Treatment rooms are separate but the treatments are outstanding and more should be made of this facility. The food was good but the restaurant is old fashioned and lacked atmosphere and warmth. There is nothing about the hotel that would make me return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Nikki L,

Thank you for posting your review and sorry to hear that the traditional hotel wasn't really for you. We do market the hotel widely as a Victorian hotel and equally we point out that we have a leisure club rather than a spa.

You are right about the beauty salon, it is a hidden gem.

Sorry that despite the positives you'd not return. We are next door to the Holiday Inn which is far more modern and may suit you better.

many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here with a friend on a special offer break. I suspect we had an upgraded room as it was clearly recently refurbished and huge with a large lovely bathroom. there was a minor issue with lunch in the bar but this was quickly and efficiently dealt with by charming staff. Our deal included dinner on one night and afternoon tea on the other day - both of which were delightful. Only one thing stopped me giving 5/5 and that was the corridor area linking hotel and spa - such a shame it was the first thing we saw - a very badly stained and maintained carpet. Could be fixed in a flash for little money. However loved the hotel and the people of Harrogate and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear chrispres,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Majestic Hotel in Harrogate.

I'm really pleased that you had a wonderful time and do look forward to welcoming you back. The glazed link to the adjacent leisure club was provided by Forte in the late 80s and does look a little out of place. On a positive we do have a pool which sets us apart from Harrogate's other hotels.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked the Majestic as part of a living social deal. Booking was very frustrating, and after much mucking about and miscommunication on available dates, we finally found a suitable date before the offer expired.

The hotel was easy to find and is well placed. You can clearly see how grand it once was, and the history books in the hotel room were a great idea! Room was large, with a new, clean bathroom, with disco lighting... We felt the decor was slightly bland, but that's personal preference I suppose. We overlooked the entrance, and listened to the revellers late into the night, and had the smell of cigarettes to enjoy through the open window.

We made use of the pool, again, lovely, clean and enjoyed the hot tub. It's not a huge pool, bit bigger than a lot of hotel pools and large enough to have a proper swim. The approach to the pool felt a bit dated and could do with a spruce, which would really raise the feeling of the hotel, which has the scope to be really glamorous.

The dining hall was a little like a 1950s tea room, slightly random, huge and not intimate at all, but very busy! Has the potential to be an amazing room if used for the right purpose, having walked around the hotel, I think they use it for convenience, and there are other rooms that would be nicer for evening dining.

Sadly dinner was disappointing. I checked with the waitress before I ordered the Tuna and prawn cocktail that the tuna was fresh, not tinned - really didn't sound appetising if it was tinned. She assured me it was fresh, but alas, it was a strange concoction or tinned tuna, tiny prawns and undetectable salmon. Really unpleasant starter. The main was duck and cherry sauce, I asked for mine rare, which it was far from, all tasted ok, but not great, the accompanying veg were overcooked and we didn't even bother. I didn't get the opportunity to complain about the starter as no one came back to check it was ok, so I just put up. When I did raise it, she apologised.

We had a drink after dinner in the bar. I asked if there was a cocktail menu, and felt very embarrassed when the reply was 'we're not that kind of hotel'. I don't know what type of hotel we presumed to think it was, but it's 2013 and cocktails are 'in' and available everywhere. I wasn't talking about tequila slammers, and had hopes for a champagne cocktail or 2.I did feel a little chastised by the bar staff, but a fabulous room, again, with great, but unharnessed potential.


Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, nothing really to add on that.

Overall, we didn't regret the booking, it could have been better. It's an amazing hotel and must once have been so grand, It would be great for a work trip, but would be nice to see some of the lustre restored, and some of the mainstream dullness eradicated for social events!!

Room Tip: I'd aim for a room on what used to be the front of the hotel, away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L3GSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

A lovely place to stay, great location and food - very good breakfast. Unfortunately our last night was spoiled somewhat by being awoken by the fire alarm going off three times, and waiting outside in the freezing cold, while some of the staff appeared not to be fully aware of their fire procedures. Very disappointed that nothing was said about this by the reception staff on our departure. Sad that this reflected badly on an otherwise very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sm00g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed on a family short break during half term. Stayed in a large, newly refurbished family room, beautifully decorated. Excellent stay, faultless, thanks Majestic. Love the leisure facilities and general grandness of hotel. Staff are very welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate.

Our team do everything in their power to try and ensure all our guests have a wonderful stay with us and I'm so glad that this was your experience.

We are all delighted with your kind praise and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing