We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel in good location”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in good location”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is imposing and suitably 'majestic' in a central location in Harrogate. I was there on work in the exhibition centre so didn't get to experience the town itself. However, the hotel reception rooms maintain their original character and are lovely. The bedrooms cover 4 floors and seem to be spacious. My room was a typical 4 star ish affair. Everything was fine but not much character in the room. Yes, there is room for some TLC, particularly in the bathroom but essentially, it had everything required of it. Interestingly, my colleague's room was far more attractive than mine with a nicer bath!

We ate in the bar. The barman was very friendly and the food was simple but just what I wanted! I did use the 'leisure centre'. Breakfast was again, typical. Gorgeous room, expensive for what it was, but normal selection you would expect. This does indeed seem to require some modernisation and touching up. I didn't go into the pool (it's very small) and it looked 'fine' but not especially 'beautiful' or 'relaxing' the way you often expect. I did use the gym which is very small and not brilliantly equipped. It's not a 'proper' gym, more a little room attached to the hotel with 3 Lifefitness treadmills (old), 2 Technogym bikes (old), 2 cross-trainers (old) and 2 rowers (also old). All worked OK but they were very tired. The whole room looked tired. The weights area was extremely limited and the stretch/stomach area had 2 tiny little mats! Enough to tick you over but not for anything really serious!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMintola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear QueenMintola,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and I'm very pleased to hear how you enjoyed your business stay with us. It's a real shame that you had no time to venture into the town as it is a wonderful place. You'll have to return for a short break.

It does seem that we met your requirements and sorry that you envied your colleagues bathroom. All our rooms are different in size and layout, which is some of our appeal.

Our gym equipment has been in situ for some time though with a small membership the items don't get high use and we are more a relaxation club than anything serious.

Hoping to welcome you back for a relaxing non-work break soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    877
    542
    297
    189
See reviews for
334
1,390
31
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Perfect location as only ten minutes stroll into Harrogate.
Room was huge, spotless with a Queen size comfortable bed.
Bathroom was amazing with its multi Power jets and Jacuzzi bath.
Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice in both hot and cold food to suit all tastes. Dinner menu was varied food was excellent and afternoon tea was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Keith K,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope we can welcome you back soon.

For the benefit of other customers reading this, please note we only have 4 premium rooms with jacuzzi baths so it is a special request which we will try to meet but cannot guarantee.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

When arriving do not be put off by the exterior of the building it is old but as soon as you step inside its lovely with spacious rooms, excellent dining room and food, friendly staff and only 5 minutes from the lovely town of Harrogate. I stayed here with my group in May and we had a good week, the swimming pool is not large but lovely and warm. The car park is not free for cars so remember you have to pay for this facility.

Room Tip: Some rooms were more modern than others so ask for a modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mondeo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear mondeo4,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and so glad that you had such a great stay.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spent three nights at the Majestic last month (August, 2013) as part of a two-week crime fiction/literary tour of Yorkshire. Loved this hotel. Conveniently located with a very nice breakfast, tea and dinner. Good location near parks, an art museum, and the tourist center. Would definitely stay there again when in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Looking at other reviews, it seems one should ask for a room not on the road side of the hotel. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandra_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear jandra_13,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and for travelling so far to get to us.

Hoping that whenever you are in Harrogate you'll be a resident of the Majestic henceforth.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
524 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed before or don't wedding. A beautiful old hotel. A little faded in parts. Great traditional and continental breakfast. Excellent location on the edge of Harrogate.
Very pleasant staff. It seems odd that a grand old English hotel cannot attract more English staff. But the staff are all charming and capable. Good service.
Large, comfortable rooms which would benefit from a bit of decoration and design.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Andrew D,

Thank you for posting your review and glad you appreciated the beauty and heritage of the Majestic Hotel.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorking
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

first time to Harrogate hopefully not the last as really good. Hotel good value and great position for town etc. Nice atmosphere, Good value for food and drink. Rooms on road side quite noisy as on main road.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel noisy due to main road and late night revellers!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannedorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear joannedorking,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Harrogate and hopefully we can welcome you back for many more.

It really is a fabulous place with a wonderful heritage and beautiful open areas, with so much on your doorstep. York and Leeds are just short journeys away by road or public transport.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent two nights at The Majestic Hotel, booked as a package through Secret Escapes. This included dinner on the first night and afternoon tea on the second afternoon, both delicious!

The hotel is located just a few minutes' walk from the centre of Harrogate. We received a warm welcome and were very pleased with our room, which was spacious and well-furnished, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower cubicle and whirlpool bath.

There was a very good choice of hot and cold items at breakfast, and the best selection of jams, marmalade, honey and spreads I've seen anywhere. The staff were very efficient and helpful. (Thought for the day: why do people load their plates with perfectly good food from the buffet and then leave half of it? What a waste!)

We enjoyed using the swimming pool, which was larger than the average hotel pool and never crowded.

Our stay at The Majestic was a welcome change from the rather impersonal modern hotels we usually choose. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myhusbandandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear myhusbandandi,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay through Secret Escapes and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing