We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good stay that we could recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Thorpe Salvin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very good stay that we could recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic, Harrogate, with friends over a Sunday night in May. The Majestic lives up to its name; it’s very big and the main foyer is impressive. All the rooms, bars, restaurants are on a grand scale. It is an imposing Edwardian building in pleasant grounds close to the town centre and a short walk from everything worth visiting e.g. Betty’s.

The Majestic is easy to find if you remember the vehicle entrance is on Springfield Avenue and not on Ripon Road which is its postal address. Check-in was efficient and the staff friendly. Despite being close to the town centre it is quiet & peaceful.

We had a spacious, third-floor room. If you want a view it might be best to ask for a room looking towards the town centre. The bed was comfortable and we both had a good night’s sleep. The décor was fine and everything was in good condition. The bathroom was excellent with a powerful shower. There were the usual tea and coffee making facilities. No problems arose which required us to call on staff; room service was quick. All approaches to reception were met with immediate friendly, helpful responses. The TV was modern flat screen of reasonable screen size with all the normal channels. There was free Wi-Fi which required a log in and was not picked up in our room but was reachable elsewhere in the Hotel.

The restaurant was efficiently organized and staff were well trained and attentive. The food was very good. We had house wines, both red and white which were fine. Breakfast was an extensive buffet which was well maintained without any shortages or food going cold.

Checkout was pleasant & efficient. There is an overnight car park charge of £3:50 which we found a little surprising but which I suspect is becoming more common in town centre hotels.

A very good stay that we could recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a view it might be best to ask for a room looking towards the town centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear PGL75,

Thank you for posting your thorough and helpful review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    846
    524
    279
    178
See reviews for
321
1,344
30
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited The Majestic with family in April 2013. Quick and friendly check in, welcoming to our 2 children who received a kids pack. Wonderful spacious and comfortable bedroom for the four of us, loads of room and spotlessly clean. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. Restaurant and reception staff couldn't be more helpful. Plenty of areas to sit and have a drink. Made use of the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Fine but changing room was absolutely freezing and a bit uncomfortable. All in all though, would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and must have had one of the refurbished family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jess H,

Thank you for your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really glad your family enjoyed their visit and hope to welcome you back soon.

We'll check out the changing room temperature. Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

As you can probably tell, I was most impressed. A little pricey on food and drink, but you definitely get what you pay for. I will go again. Harrogate town center is within walking distance, and a pleasant walk it is too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear kevleahy,

Thank you very much for your review - glad you were impressed and do visit again soon. Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic Hotel for a conference weekend arriving on the Friday evening. We were allocated Room 160 which was fantastic. A very large room, with a dressing area, two dressing tables, sitting area and a well appointed bathroom. I subsequently discovered that this was a Premium room and we had been upgraded. Our friends had a much smaller room on the 3rd floor (Room 304) and although comfortable was not a patch on ours... only a 4'6'' bed too. We had lovely products in the bathroom and a good selection of teas and coffees. We used the bar facilities for both Friday night and Saturday night as part of the conference entertainment and it was a little on the pricey side however in a Hotel of this calibre it was to be expected. We had an evening meal on the Saturday (I believe there was in the region of 500 people but I can't be sure) which was more than adequate. The tables were set beautifully (if a little crowded!), the meal was duck liver pate, slow cooked lamb and sticky toffee pudding. All edible and most was tasty - the lamb did have a sauce which initially looked like asparagus packet soup but actually did have a nice flavour. Veg was good too. Having read previous reviews on this site I felt that it was better than reported; also remember the fee that you are being charged is most likely much more than the hotel are charging per head for the food....The hotel is fantastically located, easily just a few minutes walk into the centre of Harrogate and most of the rooms are wonderfully appointed (the revolving door to the North Bar could do with some serious attention, the windows could do with a good clean... and some of the bedrooms need updating but a hotel of this size must be like the 'Forth Bridge'... The swimming pool and jacuzzi were nice too and a good size. The beauty salon staff were lovely and the treatment I had was nice, if a little pricey. The breakfasts were really the best we have had in many a year and I defy anyone to want for anything.... well done chef! the staff were all extremely polite and helpful, particularly a lovely Spanish girl, with the exception of one member of staff at the bar who was extremely off-hand a frankly quite rude. But this did not affect our extremely enjoyable weekend and we would return and recommend this to others.. Thank you.

Room Tip: 160 was very large but no view at all... premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ruthndave,

Thank you for your wonderful review, it was a pleasure to read and you're right, we do just keep moving around making improvements on a never ending basis.

Our team will enjoy reading your kind words and don't wait for the conference to return to us before revisiting !

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a conference and can't rate the hotel highly enough. Our room, on the third floor was huge and modern with everything we needed. The food was excellent, especially given that they were catering for 500 -not the usual mass catering we expected. All the staff were polite and eager to please. A great hotel in a fantastic location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear heleddie,

Thank you for your review and so pleased the conference was enjoyable. We had fun hosting it and the great weather also helped.

Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose this hotel for our annual family get together. Since there was going to be twelve of us of varying ages and tastes we needed a hotel that was going to press buttons for all of our party. We chose the Majestic because it was a large hotel and we felt it could cater for all of us.

The hotel is lovely with lots of character and we had five rooms, all of which were clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was fine with food to suit everyone and the hotel was able to allocate a table for twelve throughout the weekend. We had dinner at the hotel one night and although most of the food was fine, it wasn't very exciting and the restaurant was cold on the evening we stayed.

A word of caution - the Puma website is a nightmare. I ended up booking ten rooms instead of five and paying for fifteen! Fortunately the reservations manager spotted this and contacted me. The error was soon rectified and just before our visit I contacted Puma reservations to ask to replace one of our double rooms with a twin and was told it wasn't possible. So I contacted the hotel directly and it wasn't a problem. If we stay again, and we are likely to, I will book with the hotel directly.

My daughter and grandsons made use of the swimming pool and they enjoyed it except for some private members who tried to make them feel as if they shouldn't be there. Water off a duck's back to my daughter but she said some guests did look a bit uncomfortable by the private members attitude.

The hotel was everything we would want it to be and we will probably visit again soon.

Room Tip: I noticed that some rooms have been refurbished. Not sure ours had but it was fine,very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie195453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Annie195453,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel and for slecting us for your family get together. I'm really pleased that the hotel met all your expectations.

The Puma Hotels website has just been replaced at the end of April. Certainly early indications are that this new site is easier to navigate and use.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A Lovely hotel full of character, Room 162 is an accessible room, clean and well set out. Comfy bed and great pillows.Close to town and shops. Food average only. Beautiful gardens. Bar is very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Magi M,

Thank you for your review and hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing