We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely break”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Booked this a bargain break so did not expect to have such an enormous room and huge bed!
Our accommodation was very comfortable in every respect (and the included wine in the room was extremely palatable). Dinner was good, with an allowance against the a la carte menu if desired.
All staff we met were very pleasant and we would definitely stay here again, especially since it's so easy to walk down through the gardens to the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear jane a,

Thank you for posting your review and lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your short break with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,693 - 2,699 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic for a long weekend in April. We had booked a superior room and were not disappointed. Staff at reception were very friendly and eager to help.
Our room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. Apart from breakfast we did not eat in the hotel as there are many very good restaurants within short walking distance. Breakfast was buffet style but regularly replenished.
You can walk from the hotel to the centre of Harrogate shops in just 5 mins and so is an excellent choice if you want to be in town.
My only gripe was the £3.50 per day parking charge for using the hotel car park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philinda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Phillinda24,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel. It's lovely to hear that we lived up to all your expectations and hopefully you'll revisit us soon.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic thanks to a Travelzoo deal at £99 for one night bed breakfast and dinner plus a free bottle of wine, which is a great offer considering this is a beautiful 4star hotel in a historical city.
This hotel occupies a commanding position overlooking Harrogate, in a quiet residential area off one of the main roads out of the city. Grand and imposing though it is, with its tail coated concierge and huge and ornate entrance hall, the Majestic has certainly seen better times. Our stay was for one night early in April, and although outdoors it was only 3degrees -and in the hotels massive dining room not many degrees warmer, the large bedroom we occupied was stifling hot, especially in the small hours. The room and the bed were comfortable and spacious, the bathroom adequate but uninspiring but on the minus side the windows very dirty, and the carpet had a grey border around the room where it had not been hoovered for many a month. The hotel,s public areas varied from moderns and attractive to olde world splendid, and undoubtedly in times gone by the hotel was the place to be and be seen, but sadly now much too large and grandiose for the numbers it attracts.
The dining room offered a choice of a la carte or table d'hôtel dinner menus and the food was of a reasonable standard if not exciting and likewise the breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful. Unfortunately most of the staff haven't yet come to terms with the hotel being slightly jaded nowadays and they still present the sort of overbearing approach that its former glory would probably have demanded.
We had planned to take advantage of the hotel's spa facilities during our stay but the whole leisure club area was so cold and uninviting we decided to give it a miss, much to our disappointment. We did however relax in the hotel's two elegant bar areas, where the drinks were reasonably priced and the surroundings quiet and relaxing.
In all this was a convenient and not unpleasant hotel at a reasonable price to use as a base from which to see the sights of Harrogate. I would stay here again and would not deter anyone else from sampling it's splendid surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robireyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear reyno19,

Thank you for your review from which I'm glad you appear to have enjoyed a good stay and glad to hear you'd return.

I'm sorry you didn't go into the leisure club. It's connected to the hotel by a glazed external link so is susceptible to getting cold but once you enter the club it is tropically warm.

Our staff are proud to work in such delightful surroundings and in a business with such rich heritage and I'm sorry that you thought this a little overbearing.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely hotel . Professional friendly staff . Spotlessly clean everywhere . We had a lovely relaxing stay . The spa manager was excellent . Overall a fabulous place . Great location . We booked at short notice having moved hotel from the st George because it was awful . The majestic hotel was perfect for us thank goodness

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Trudy B,

Thank you for your review and so glad that we were able to come to the rescue !

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through a travel zoo offer. For £99 that included the room, 3 course evening meal, breakfast and bottle of wine in our room. We took our 2 year old daughter, they did not charge any extra for her and provided a cot in our room.
The hotel is a grand old building, loved the decor and feel of the place, our room was big and clean, the food was excellent as was the service. We used the swimming pool a couple of times which our daughter loved, the pool was clean and towels were provided. The hotel is ideally located for visiting the shops and harrogates many tourist attractions. We thought the offer we had was excellent and would definitely return again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank northroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear northroth,

Thank you for your review and for taking us up on this promotion which sold out in just a few days. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Majestic hotel lives up to its name from the outside, it is a fantastic building in wonderful surroundings. Inside the grand theme continues with elegant decor and architectural details. I particularly like the old letters from prominent public figures that are displayed on the walls. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but they were beginning to show their age. I could not fault the cleanliness of the room or the bathroom, but the decoration was a bit tired. The restaurant served a good choice of menu and the waiting staff were excellent as was the breakfast choice. All in all a very nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear John K,

Thank you for your review and really glad that you enjoyed your stay and notably the restaurant.

Hopefully we can welcome your family back in the Summer.

Kind regards, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for a trade fair at the Majestic Hotel , its very old, regal style and have been coming here for years.
Always thought it was a bit dated and needed a spruce up, however a hotel of this size is difficult to keep all working well. The room we stayed in was a nicely refurbished room, modern decor and new bathroom, bed was huge and comfy so was very impressed this time.
The corridors have been redecorated with mood lighting which gives it a modern feel.
So was very happy with the refurb, Not sure if this is on all floors but our room was a Premier, so would recommend these.
Only downside was the bar staff were quite slow, its especially difficult to get a drink when there is an event taking place in the hotel, so would be nice to see more bar staff taken on for these occassions.
Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Premier room if you prefer more modern than traditional style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Sheila W,

Thank you for your review and it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your Premium room. I'm sorry the bar service was a little delayed. When we're busy with events we can have over 20 bar staff on duty around the building but still there are times when we need more. We are recruiting now.

Many thanks, Vince

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $79 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing