We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
lpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel twice now.the hotel is just a short walk into town. Nice and quiet location. Rooms clean and well stocked. Staff always pleasant . Would recommend a visit. ( only downside is the parking which is very limited)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    641
    196
    60
    45
See reviews for
131
1,048
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday. Our room was in the extension attached to main building, top floor, so we had skylights, Rooms very tasteful, clean and comfortable. could not fault it. Newly refurbished bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent, the best hotel breakfast ever.,. Had ours around 9am while breakfast room only half full.. We found that after 9.30 people it got busy, and 9.45 was very busy. You have to pass through a lounge for access to breakfast room.
No bar open until the bar in Signatures restaurant closed. Beer expensive in restaurant.

We had a wowcher voucher so paid £119 for 2 nights with b'fast and one complimentary 2 course meal in signatures. (Which by the way is not run by the hotel)

short walk into town.
All in all great value for money, could not fault it.

I think if you took car off car park it would be difficult finding another place, so we'd jumped on a bus to Knaresborough, which is worth a visit. Lovely river , castle and viaduct.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a 4 night stay in room 3003 at the Kimberley Hotel.

Our room was an exec double located in the annex at the back of the main hotel. Big room, bed v comfy and huge, wine and chocs waiting for us on arrival. Bathroom was really big with a huge bath and a rain shower. Room was v quiet despite being right next to the door in and out of the annex, hardly heard a thing. We both said we had never slept so well in a hotel before.

Our room rate of £90 per night also included breakfast. I liked that the breakfast was served until 10am on Saturday and 10:30am on a Sunday, brilliant. Breakfast was the usual full English affair served buffet style. There was also yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices and cold meats available and there were several dishes that can be cooked fresh on request-boiled and poached eggs, omelette, cheese on toast and porridge. Service was pretty good with waitresses bringing coffee and toast and there was always plenty of food, they did not run out of anything when we were there.

Location of the hotel is really good and we walked into town every night for our evening meal or to visit the shops, no need to take the car, just a 10 minute walk.

I have only 2 gripes to make with the hotel. The first one is our shower screen was not long enough and therefore every time was had a shower, water poured out onto the bathroom floor. Easily rectified I would imagine but just that it hasn't been sorted yet.

The second is you have to pay £6 per day for car parking at the hotel. I would rather that the cost be absorbed into the day rate and pay £96 per night. It just feels wrong that I'm paying for the room and then separate for parking! I did mention this to the lady on reception when we checked out and she sort of agreed with us. Maybe something to consider going forward as a couple we were talking to in the bar also agreed. We loved the hotel but feel a little aggrieved at the parking fee.

Having said that, it would not stop us staying here again next time we visit this lovely town. Spotlessly clean, convenient location and a good price.

If anyone has booked to stay here, there are a couple of lovely restaurants nearby, the Royal Baths Chinese Restaurant and L'albero delle Noce, a beautiful small authentic Italian. Both just a 10 min walk away.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed 3 nights 11-13 April , for our 40th wedding anniversary,
fantastic room, great food, great service.
would recommend and will return in the future.
5 min walk into town centre, staff very friendly,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeesyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday 12th April with 3 girlfriends. Hotel is a lot bigger inside than it looks with an annexe at the back as well. we stayed in the main hotel and our room was spacious and the bathroom was huge with a big corner bath and a large walk in shower. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate so it is ideally placed. We had booked a table in the bistro at the hotel which is owned independently (signatures). I would recommend booking as it was full. The bistro was lovely and the food excellent and very reasonably priced. There is a car park round the back but I would get there early to secure a spot. Breakfast was served in the basement which was quite warm but the food was lovely and you could help yourself to everything. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed from Friday to sunday evening meal on the first night 2 course lovely,breakfasts were also great plenty of choice.We were in the annexe, rooms were great, clean, spacious with tea and coffee making facilities also bottled water and biscuits nice touch would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Having booked so close to my travel date, finding they still had vacancies and that I could still get a good money-off deal via one of the hotel booking sites, I was resigned to it being an unwanted left-over and that I'd "get what you pay for". How wrong I was! Large, spacious, well-appointed and spotless bathroom, comfortable 3/4 bed in adequately sized single room and, joy of joys, a good night's sleep! For once, sound-proofing works well in a Victorian hotel, so it CAN be done! Only minor quibble is not being able to add dinner to room tab - the explanation being that the Signatures bistro is a franchise; a very good one with a varied menu of well-cooked and presented dishes. Staff in both the hotel and bistro were equally welcoming and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing