We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel close to everything”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to everything”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is very close to the town centre and yards from the International Centre. The decor is fairly contemporary so if you are looking for a chintzy place full of antique style furniture then find another hotel. We had booked a deal through KGB and were given a deluxe room in the hotel's annexe. The room was large, spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable and quiet. There was even enough space for a large sofa in the room. The bathroom was lovely, modern fittings, dark grey tiles, fantastic shower. There is free wi-fi and we had no trouble getting access in the room. The main hotel is similar in design and in my opinion, the only thing that lets it down is the guest lounge. It's on a lower floor and felt more like a corridor between the bistro and restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style, lots of choice and freshly cooked. We ate in the bistro as a part of the KGB deal, with a choice of 3 starters, mains and desserts. Great food, beautifully presented. A la carte was available
The car park is on a 'first come first served basis'. There is plenty of on street parking if you can't get a space in the car park.
All in all a very good hotel in a great spot. Would definitely stay there again.
Only niggles -
£6 per day parking charge but even then it's way cheaper than a public car park and we could have parked on the street for free.
There is a notice in the bathroom listing charges for damage to towels/dressing gowns etc. Is that really necessary? Could it not be put in the guest info. book. Does it have to be there at all?

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the annexe, even if you have to pay extra. Very quiet. Park on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    668
    204
    63
    45
See reviews for
141
1,096
20
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Upgraded to Executive room which was very nice. Had meal in Bistro on first night and food was very good. Location good -just a short walk to centte. However... Whole of hotel is pet friendly -not good if you're allergic to animal hair. Woke up sneezing, eyes streaming and snuffling without knowing why. Then saw the wiry dog hairs on the chair. They offered to change our room but with no guarantee the next room wouldn't be the same. I suggested they restrict pets to allocated rooms if only fid hygiene readons -or at least warn people-it certainly ruined my stay. Hope the anti histamine a kick in soon!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merrytripoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were warmly greeted after a terrible journey in the rain.
The room was smart and well kept with plenty of tea & coffee .
Brekfast was good, a buffet style with the usual cooked breakfast and cereals.
No complaints would definately go back.
We were on a groupon deal so this was excellent value.

Tip - the parking is £6 per day you can park for free on the road 1st left after the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyDany_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked this hotel as I was attending a friends wedding in Harrogate, I could not have been more pleased. We stayed in a deluxe room and my god it was deluxe. The room is furnished and cleaned to a extremely high standard, staff are polite and helpful. Breakfast in the morning is well worth the money, normally with a "hotel breakfast" it's burnt or half run out by the time an hour has passed of breakfast opening but it was replenished perfectly. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. Oh and just to add its about 5 mins walk if that from the centre of Harrogate

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromer
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recently had a 2 night stay at this Hotel just a short walk from the HIC and Harrogate town centre. I Had booked a bargain deal with booking.com and paid only £100.00 for the 2 nights so was pleasantly surpised to find I had been allocated an executive room. The staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful and my bag was carried to my room, My room was comfortable, very clean and quiet.
The only blip was my room service meal on my first night which had suffered, presumably in the microwave, and was not as it should have been. However there were no quibbles when I complained and I was not charged.
As a solo traveller felt entirely comfortable at this Hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heanor, DerbyshireEngland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I bought my 2 night hotel break from a KGB deal, so was a little apprehensive at what I was going to find. Two nights for two people for £99!!...Anyway...first point of call was the Reception, greeted by a lovely lady, who had full knowledge of the ameneties of the Hotel, and full marks for trying to upsell meals in the restaurants. We stayed in the Hotel Annexe. The room was huge. Everything about it was perfect. Bathroom was ultra modern, with black tiling, very trendy indeed. Towels were provided, spotlessly white. Large flat screeen TV positioned on wall opposite bed. Could have stayed relaxing in bed, with the complimentary bottle of wine!! The decor of the hotel was very "Boutique" style, really welcoming and stylish. Breakfast was lovley, they use local produce and have plenty to suit every taste. We had a meal in the restaurant downstiars in the evening. I can honestly say, that "Fish and Chips" was the best we have ever tasted....absolutely gorgeous! The only one negative comment I have about this hotel is the car park charges, they should do away with them! We enjoyed our stay so much...that I have purchased another deal, although I believe the Hotel offer similar offers themsleves now, I have just yet to decide when!. Hope this review helps!.x

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryTVHines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had read the reviews before going and I have to say that they are very accurate. The hotel only has a small car park and does indeed charge 6 pounds per day for the duration of your stay. The reception was well manned and check in was quick and efficient. I did request a room in the annexe but could not be accommodated and had a room upgrade to an exec room on the second floor at the front of the hotel. Very spacious and warm, the only downside was that the bathroom was tiled in black and as a result quite gloomy. No easy application of make up after dark in here. The bidet did not have a working hot tap, but there was both a bath and shower so this really wasn't a problem. In fact, the bidet looked a bit dated to be honest. There is also quite a strange laminated sheet in the bathroom advising that if towels are taken by guests then a charge will be made and it lists the cost for each size of towel. It was a little strange and did give me rise to wonder about the sort of clientele the hotel may have if they feel this is a necessity!
In the bedroom there is no central light and only energy saver bulbs in the 3 side lamps, one of which didn't work on the desk. Again, gives rise to quite a gloomy feel. On the plus side the bedroom had such thick luxurious curtains that despite being on the front of the hotel and overlooking the main road sleeping really wasn't a problem at night, although to have the window open during the day does afford a considerable amount of road noise.
The hotel is very centrally located, a mere 5 minute stroll in to the centre of town and well located for the international centre.
The other consideration is the hotel bar. It seems to close incredibly early and there seemed to be little or no provision for late night drinks. We had a party of colleagues with us from as far afield as Canada and the USA as well as all over the UK and we would have liked to have hosted some drinks at the hotel but this just wasn't possible. Indeed on one night we were even shepherded out of the bar as the bar staff wanted to close up, so bear this in mind.
Breakfast was an adequate provision of cereal, fruit, (mostly tinned) and a self serve buffet for hot food. Again, not really a wow factor to the breakfast but perfectly adequate and far more than I get up and provide in my own home every morning. I would stay again having borne all of these points in mind.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melandmuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing