We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value but left me feeling uneasy”
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value but left me feeling uneasy”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just back from a great 2 days at this hotel. It is a 4 star AA rated hotel and just about scrapes that rating. We had a KGB deal and for the money we paid the value was excellent. On checking in I was given a card and directed to our room up some very windy steps if you have walking difficulties check with the hotel as corridors can be cramped and the lift is small. The room was fine at the back of the hotel with an electric shower but no grab rail for getting in and out of the bath to shower. Breakfast was excellent although a bit cramped but the staff did their best to keep things moving. The bar was fine and average hotel prices apply. So... why did I feel uneasy well they have obviously had some theft of towels as notices were placed in the room threatening all sorts should they disappear and outlining what sheets could and couldn't be used for. Magazines were in the lounge downstairs labelled Do not remove and for some reason the manager prowled relentlessly around the corridors and restaurant adding to that feeling of being watched. 'Honest Guv' if I had taken a magazine into the bar to read I promise I would return it or at the least leave it so your staff could put it back. Come on Kimberley lighten up!!! PS walls in main house are paper thin so be quiet. Overall excellent value and I would return again.

Room Tip: At the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    648
    198
    60
    45
See reviews for
133
1,065
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and did not get a good nights sleep on any night. The most uncomfortable bed i have ever not slept in. Complained after first night and reception said they would change the mattress. If they did it still had the same rocks in it as the old one, No towel rail in bathroom or hairdyer in room despite notices threatening guests with large bills if towels or hairdryer were not there at end of stay. It was inpossible to use the wardrobe as it was tucked in a corner and with the door open you could not get into it. In the room were notices inviting you to upgrade to a better quality room with more comfortable beds at extra cost, is there any connection? The redeeming feature was the excellent food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really surprised at our experience here in view of the many positive Trip Advisor reviews. Our room was dark, small with an old bathroom complete with noisy plumbing. Service was very friendly and breakfast ok, but dinner was a huge let down. The problem seems to be that we were part of a group, and although not a cheap tour, dinner was clearly done to a budget and certainly looked it: uninspired, small portions and on a few occasions looked really awful. Had I been on my own I would have sent dishes back but did not want to cause a fuss early on on our trip.
The bar is not owned by the hotel but run under a franchise arrangement for some reason. It was expensive and lacking in choice. Apparently the hotel has been refurbished and does contain better rooms than we had. Non tour guests looked to be treated better in a separate restaurant.
Harrogate is a fine looking town but I will always associate it with the disappointing experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newer rooms at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a disabled friendly room which was better than most we have stayed in - plenty of room and a very good shower room. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, particularly in regard to my husband's disability. The restaurant food and service were of a consistently very high standard and quality. We would highly recommend the Kimberley Hotel as being both comfortable and reasonably priced and would certainly stay there again on our next visit to Harrogate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolmetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this hotel from a KGB deal. We booked a delux room which was in the annex., a seperate building from the main hotel, it looks like a modern block of flats. The room was lovely and bathroom was gorgeous. Lovely big double bath and rainfall shower. The bed was comfy and there was a nice view out to the Dene behind the hotel, which was nice and quiet. However.... the noise from the upstairs rooms was very very loud. You can hear every foot step and every creak. I would recommend you request the top floor to avoid being woken up! I had to get ear plugs it was that bad!
The hotel makes it very clear that if you "take" anything from the room that you shouldnt, you will be charged. Nearly every appliance I picked up to use comes with a warning note not to take it out of the room or you will be charged! A lot of kleptomaniac's coming to stay!
We has a 3 course meal included with the price of the deal. The food was lovely. The sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever had. A* for the food quality! We had breakfast each morning with was equally as good. Cant fault it.
The hotel has parking at the rear however they charge you £6 per day and dont advertise this fact of their website!
Overall a good clean comfortable hotel that is a short walk from Harrogate centre.

Room Tip: request the 3rd floor if you are in the annex building to avoid being disturbed by upstairs resident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellandshaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a KGB weekend deal. Have to say the place always impresses. We were in the annex this time and the room was fantastic. Spacious, very clean and all the services you'd expect. We bought an evening meal as part of the deal and the food in the hotel Signature restaurant was very good quality. 2 3 course meals for £30 was a very good deal! Drinks prices are typical for a hotel, £18 for 3 pints and 2 Vodka Diet Cokes.
Only gripe was breakfast on the Sunday morning, Everyone seemed to congregate at the same time and the staff didn't have a clue what to do as hard as they tried! On a separate note, the breakfast quality itself is first class, kept us going most the day.
All in all another great visit to this hotel, Giving it a 4 as the brekkie situation was a bit of a nightmare, however don't let that detract from how nice the hotel is. Oh and it's only £6 a day parking which is very reasonable considering how close it is to the Town Centre and it's proximity to the Conference Centre.
Oh one more thing to justify the 4 star rating, there was a beeping that continued for around 4 hours late evening/night, which turned out to be an air freshener!

Room Tip: Annex is better than main building (We've stayed in both). KGB deals are a complete bargain and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleJojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Harrogate must be blessed with lots of hotels and B&B's such is the attraction of the town and it's convention centre. This is the third establishment where I have stayed in Harrogate, and the best value. Great breakfast, buffet style but really well prepared. Comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicsPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing