We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't fault it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimberley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kimberley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Harrogate must be blessed with lots of hotels and B&B's such is the attraction of the town and it's convention centre. This is the third establishment where I have stayed in Harrogate, and the best value. Great breakfast, buffet style but really well prepared. Comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicsPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    631
    195
    60
    45
See reviews for
128
1,032
19
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Struggled to find anywhere for a Saturday night and found out late that the flower show was on.
Never mind, hotel easy to find and I followed the tip to park free on Coppice Drive. Budget room which was big enough, comfortable, good bedding, shower, towels, flat screen tv, complimentary tea/coffee/bottled water tray, kettle, trouser press and hairdrier.
Excellent breakfast. Great location to walk into town.
Excelllent friendy and efficient staff.
Wish it had been cheaper as I see many people mention vouchers and deals. However, it was a late booking at a popular time.
Thoroughly enjoyed our short break away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beniboozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in one of the executive rooms which was beautifully decorated and furnished with huge kingsize very comfortable bed. located in the new wing it was quiet and relaxing.The bathroom was stylish with super bath and overhead shower. Breakfast and dinner were of a high standard Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Only downside comment would be the parking it's a lottery to find a space as rear car park is small

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quieter only experienced executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny-d-69-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a one nights stay in the hotel booked at £50 through Last Minute. The hotel is modern, bright and clean with a good reception and pleasant staff. Our room was spacious, with very hot water, even in the cold tap for a few minutes! But all in all a good hotel. I would recommend asking for a room away from the kitchen. For some reason we always seem to get placed over the kitchen, and the general noise and humming from extractors is not good when trying to sleep. I really wish hotels would test each room on a regular basis, one of the main reasons for booking a hotel is to be able to sleep comfortably, yet many seem to miss this basic rule. We woke up grumpy and decided to eat breakfast elsewhere. The hotel is not too far from the centre of Harrogate, an easy walk. breakfast in Bettys is pure delight and try The Monkey and drum if you like sea food.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from kitchen or bar noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed on a one night voucher offer which included a three course evening meal. The hotel is in a great location, handy for the town. The room and bathroom, despite being at the front of the hotel, were quiet, lovely and with good facilities. The welcome from reception on arrival was very friendly as were all staff that we encountered, Although the evening meal was part of our deal, he restaurant seems to be a separate business but the staff were excellent and the food was of a high standard. Drinks are maybe a bit expensive but the helpful staff guided us to a 'bin end' wine offer that was good quality & very reasonably priced. Breakfast room was typical hotel basement room with low ceiling. A bit warm & stuffy but the food was of a good standard & the staff were smiling & friendly. All in all a very pleasant night away. Well done Kimberley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have been to the Kimberley on several occasions (wife and 8 year old son) and have also pre-booked a further 2 dates, mainly through the KGB value deals.
My main concern with any "deal" is that you may be treated as a "deal customer" and not quite get all the regular facilities and service of the normal hotel. Not so with the Kimberley!
With taking our son each time, we are provided with rooms to accommodate the family(although this is a slight extra charge).
Each time we have been allocated an executive room in the annex (except last time- will comment later) which is nicely furnished with modern fittings, lovely bathroom and very comfortable and private, complete with bathrobes and good quality towels.
The Kimberley is located within easy walking distance of the town centre, and is also a starting point for visits to York or the East coast (which we do each time).
So the general opinion is of an ideal location with many options for visits or just relaxing. The hotel has nice lounge areas, a pleasant reception, and several eating options.
The staff have always been friendly, although some innefficiencys in housekeeping are reflected in my rating, and may start to let the hotel down. There has never been sufficient bathroom facilities for 3 of us and bedding may be overlooked as the rooms are supplied for 2 persons, and we have to request each time extra items.
Breakfast if first class, with efficient experienced staff. Plenty of hot or cold options and never the feeling of being rushed.
Dining in the evening in the signature Restuarant, was I regret to say better than it is now, as this has become a concession restaurant and everything needs paying for before leaving. On our last visit we were not aware, presuming that it would go on the final bill. However a phone call after 10.30pm (waking our son) informed us "we had walked out without paying", so Signature points lost. The food was good and well served, but we were overcharged when we received the bill.
So good and bad!
Parking can be a nightmare, and is charged for, so get there early.
Main building family room last time- the double bed came as 2 singles, another call to reception.
Wi fi or Internet is virtually non existent. Was told trouble with the router (each time?)
Meal deal included is restricted choice, additional items can be expensive and don't forget to pay!!!

The good thing is that the majority of reception staff are very helpful, and effective at dealing with any issue.
So overall - we will continue to return to the Kimberley, and the only reasons not to rate it higher, are that I feel over the past 12 months there has been a slight deterioration in standards but it still rates 4 star from me -just.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TheDesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Both myself and my fiancee had a couple of nights stay at the Kimberley Hotel on the 28th and 29th of August with our Jack Russell (Yipeee, A Hotel which accepts dogs and did did not charge us.) The deal was with KGB deals including bed and brekfast. The room 2101 was at the rear of the hotel and we found the room to be very nice. A Bottle of Italian red was waiting for us which was a nice touch and was not too bad.Room had a plasma Tv which we did not use and the bathroom was quite nice as well. Brekfast was buffet style and was very plentyful but they kept running out seperate items so we had to wait a little but it was not too bad. Restaruant called signatures which is quite expensive( especially drinks) but was quite busy.
As a note, Signatures not owned by hotel so you could not pay on room. Would go back though.Parking can be a problem but we had a disabled badge and parked at the front.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel seem quieter as front is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberley Hotel

Property: Kimberley Hotel
Address: 11-19 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimberley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kimberley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberley Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing