We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from great Staff”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #45 of 396 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'etre' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and creme brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and pate de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The decor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soiree Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We initially went in for a drink and to have a look at the restaurant, but the staff made this visit excellent, we were offered a table on the balcony in the sunshine. James explained the menus and had great knowledge of the wines making a few recommendations as well. There was no pressure to order food which we really appreciated, the wines were topped up, water was offered and great conversation was made from James. We decided to order something as the food coming out looked impressive. The order was taken without fuss and again James knowledge of the menu was impressive, the order arrived quickly and hot, bread is automatically served as well. The squid was excellent, just lightly cooked and so full of flavour, what I loved about the dishes was that they were uncomplicated, seasonal simply presented and very reasonably priced as was the wine and drinks list. . The music also contributed to create a great ambiance and a memorable afternoon, we will return again and again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ajf547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jameshr7, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback it’s very much appreciated for us to grow from it.

I am happy to see how amazing James has managed to make your experience with us go. I am sure he will be very happy when he is shown your feedback.

Thank you
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Ilkley Bistrot Pierre last year which was really good. So tried the Harrogate on our Yorkshire visit this time. Lovely food. Lovely restaurant and attentive staff. Love this chain as they cater for gluten free really well. Thank you. Please can we have one in Kent worth a visit.

1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jameshr7, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback it’s very much appreciated for us to grow from it.

I am happy to see that you had a pleasent experience with us at Harrogate, aswell as last year in ilkley. We are glad to see our gluten free caters well for you as we are proud of what we try to offer as gluten free.

Thank you
James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our hotel had this restaurant on its recommended list so we thought we would give it a try. It seems to be open for most of the day but we went for an evening meal.
We did not book and went midweek about 6 ish.
It had quite a few customers in but there was space. It is located upstairs and the ambience is very good.
The person who met us and took us to our table was very friendly (in fact everyone was).
The menu was extensive with a very good choice of dishes with varying prices available including a fixed price option if you want.
Our drinks and food came at just the right pace and with just the right amaount of attention from the staff. The tables are not packed in so it felt comfortable.
We were not disappointed, we had three courses and everyone of them was excellent as was the wine (not a huge choice of wine but a good choice available).
I note this restaurant does specialist nights which sound excellent value for money giving the opportunity to really taste a variety of food.
I do wish we had this restaurant closer to home (we live in South Cheshire) as we would be a frequent visitor to it.
I notice that many people had booked tables so that in itself indicates that people want to come here.
An excellent restaurant!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PPGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daumet93, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experienced with us and that you wish you had this restaurant closer to home !

Thank you again for your kind comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Clement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice restaurant with nice views at sunset. staff were attentive and pleasant and really enjoyed the three courses that i ate.

1  Thank Thomas_LFC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jameshr7, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback it is very much appreciated.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed your dining experience with us from all aspects food to service.

We look forward to having you dine with us again in the future.

Thanks
James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival for our Sunday lunch booked table at 2.30 there were a total of four other tables occupied. Despite this we still waited 20 minutes for anyone to take our drinks order before I finally went to the the bar myself and ordered from there - he also took our food order at the same time - clearly that was a mistake as the drinks arrived with the food and the bottle of wine I had ordered so now the table is very full! The food was poor with the roast potatoes more like bullets and the pathetic bowl of veg for two highly inadequate. The main course now out of the way and the menu presented for dessert - another 20 minutes and again no-one returned so we got and paid and left never to return. All this could possible be understood if they were rushed off their feet but they had 4 tables of 4 and the two of us!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daumet93, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris ,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts. We really appreciate it when our guests go to the trouble of contacting us.

It was a such shame for us to hear that you were disappointed with the food and service, for which we sincerely apologise. We were also so sorry to hear you had to leave your seat and go find a member of the team. We have shared your comments with the Restaurant Team, who were also very disappointed that the standards which we pride ourselves on were not met on this occasion, please rest assured this is not the norm. This is unacceptable on our part.

We really do hope you will reconsider your decision and return to Bistrot Pierre, where we can reaffirm your faith in us.

Therefore if you would like to drop me an email to harrogate@pierre94.co.uk as I would love to discuss this matter further with you and organise something special for you.

Kind regards

Clement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;