We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #30 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The décor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Harrogate
1 review
“Magnificent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I came in for lunch today, it was my first time visiting and I will defiantly be back. I was waited on by Tamas and Nicky, the service was great, tamas helped me choose a main course. I had a steak which was cooked too perfection. Thanks for a great lunch!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CNov01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
this is a real treat to read a review that contains words like "magnificent" thank you so much, and let me tell you Tamas and Nicky our managerial team were delighted with your kind observations, so thank you very much!
Looking forward to see you soon,
Best regards
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    314
    76
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back on form”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

It's been a while since we visited the Harrogate branch of this chain but a coupon for a free bottle of wine persuaded us to give it another try.

When it first opened this restaurant was very good indeed but then, as often happens they seemed to rest on their laurels a bit and standards declined which is why we had not been for a while.

I'm happy to report though that when we went the other day it was a great experience. Good food and excellent service and very competitively priced. A hearty recommendation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Hutchinson_Weth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Welcome back Sir, thank you very much for giving us another go, we will do our best to never disappoint you.
We always welcome honest feedback as its vital to the success of our business and I was really delighted to read your comments, much obliged!
Take care and see you soon!!
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never fails to please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have visited this restaurant many times over the years, the last being early January 2014, and I always leave feeling very satisfied. There are many quality restaurants in Harrogate but my friends and I feel that this place is the benchmark for quality (of both food & service), atmosphere and value for money. The range of wines is excellent but the "Bin Ends" offers are especially good value. The starter I had last time was the Saucisse de Toulouse which was outstanding. Harold and his teams really look after you so we will continue to eat here regularly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saffyrose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,
It has been an absolute pleasure reading the lines you left for us on TA and sharing with the whole team. I am overwhelmed with gratitude for your loyal custom and the kind details about our food and wine. I cant wait for you to come again and try some new dishes which sound equally delicious and as ever it will be a pleasure looking after you!
Best regards
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“As authentic as it could possibly be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We all know that this restaurant is part of a brewery owned chain but the food, service and atmosphere are all authentically French.
There are a couple of dishes which are designed for two people, which are especially well presented.
The staff are all pleasant and seem as if they do enjoy their work, which leads to a generally good atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pambill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review! I hope you don't mind me bringing a couple of amendments, we are indeed a growing company yet privately owned and thank you for the commanding comments about the authenticity of the food and service. We are trying to stick to the French roots as much as possible and introduce more and more authentic French staples to the British public.
Many thanks and best regards
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been to this restaurant several times most recently on the occasion of the Friends of Harrogate Theatre Christmas lunch . As ever we were not disappointed . Excellent food and cheerful service . We have tried the special menus as well : was nearly defeated by the amount of food but nevertheless enjoyed them ! A good place in Harrogate to get good cooking at reasonable prices .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
what a superb review! Thank you so much for the kind words , this is just amazing to read and really give us a big boost when our guest appreciate our work. I do hope to see you again to give you more memorable dining experiences !
warm regards
Arnold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing