We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely suprise”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #44 of 390 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'etre' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and creme brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and pate de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The decor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soiree Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stumbled accross this little gem on a break in Harrogate. Unsure at first about how hungry we were we looked at the lunch menu and decided as it wasnt to expesive we'd give it a go.
So pleased we did. It was one of the nicest meals I have had in a long time. £10 ish for 2 courses or £13 for 3 and it honestly couldnt be faulted in any way. So full after two coures but wished we could have managed 3 as the desserts and cheese looked wonderful too. Will return for an evening meal next time in Harrogate. In fact we'll make a point of returning to Harrogate with this place being the main reason.

Thank durhamborntrveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback after your recent visit to Le Bistrot Pierre Harrogate.

It is always a pleasure to look after you and I am looking forward to see you again in the near future!
Yours sincerely
Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 847 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Throughly enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast this morning with my husband. Great quality and very tasty. Especially enjoyed the creamy scrambled eggs, and black pudding! Service was friendly, and welcoming. Would definitely eat here again and recommended. We got 2 free teas which was a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hello!
Thanks for the lovely review,much appreciated!
you should come and try the lunch and dinner menus as well,it will be our pleasure to look after you!
Best wishes
Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I ate at Le Bistro Pierre on a rainy sunday at the end of October. It was our first visit as we were in Harrogate for our anniversary.

This was not our first choice of places to eat but it seems in Harrogate on a Sunday night things are a bit limited. We were however, very pleased with the choice by the time we left.

Staff were really helpful and friendly on our arrival (despite my slightly offending the girl at front of house by saying ‘weve booked but I probably shouldn't have bothered’ with an almost empty restaurant). it has to be said, it was quite full by 9pm.

We were offered a choice of three menus. One early bird (2 courses for £15) or ‘late weekend’ menu which was the same but with a carafe of wine for £20. The later of which was a bargain for me as I was already on the wine!
The full menu was also available but the choices on the two offer menus was excellent so we chose from there.

Apparently Le Bistro Pierre is actually a chain of restaurants, this being the case you could not tell by the quality of food that was served. It was produced as if by the chef that had conceived them and so good were the starters and mains we ate that we had to give desert a go.

The whole bill (including a cocktail for my wife) was under £60, which I thought was brilliant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi there,
Thanks a lot for the lovely review,it really means a lot and we are delighted you had an enjoyable experience!
Looking forward to see you again soon
Best regards
Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

After having an amazing meal and service the previous night at L'Albero Delle Noci this fell well below standard.
We were shown to our table outside which was nice enough however the main I wanted they had ran out of as was my second choice. We had to keep getting the waiters attention to order another drink, desert etc when the restaurant was only quarter full and then had to go inside to pay as we couldn't get anyone's attention.
I do frequent the same restaurant in Nottingham and a totally different service, maybe take a leaf out of their book!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank very much for your honest feedback,I am hoping that you will give us another go next time you are in the area .
Many thanks
Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Decided to go to the Bistrot as we were staying over the road in the Brasserie but as it was pouring with rain didn't want to walk far. What a good choice! Really lovely venue - the staff were friendly and the food was wonderful. Really good choice and something a bit different from the norm as well.
Highly recommend :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Poppy2310_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBPHarrogate, General Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello!
Thank you so much for trying us out,I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience and hope to see you again in the near future!
Best wishes
Arnold

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing