We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased to find it”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #25 of 384 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'etre' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and creme brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and pate de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The decor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soiree Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We hadn't booked a table, but the staff were very happy to find us a nice table for two as soon as we walked in.

The a la carte menu is comprehensive and as one of us is vegetarian it's sometimes tricky to find any more than one menu item; not so here! There was a good selection, and the vegetarian 'burger' was chosen (not a burger as such; more a number of different vegetable layered to make a burger shape). This went down well with the excellent chips! The other meal ordered was 'Poulet' or chicken on a cassoulet of chorizo, bacon, beans and tomato and served with the day's selection of vegetables. This dish might be a bit heavy on the salt for some tastes, but I found it OK.

We would certainly return to try a few more of the menu items!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for writing review and so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to our bistrot. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 946 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife has recently been diagnosed as Gluten Intolerant, and we've found that eating out can sometime be problematic. Not at Le Bistrot Pierre in Harrogate! Friendly, attentive staff, who understood my wife's food allergy, and a really good menu offering a fantastic range of GF food. The food wasn't 'modified' from the non GF menu, instead it seems as though the kitchen have made a range of dishes that use alternative ingredients without impairing any taste or quality, suitable for all who eat there. I take my hat off to you, a fantastic experience that made my wife feel as though for the first time since being diagnosed, that she wasn't the 'problem diner'!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of your dining experience and for your lovely comments about our gluten free menus; it's greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was, simply, excellent! A beef stew and chicken with garlic sausage went down very well with my partner and I. The honey chorizo appetisers were also a highlight. Staff were friendly and helpful, if the food took a little longer than we would have liked as a complaint though, this should not detract from a lovely restaurant experience that comes highly reccomended from us

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adzee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Whilst deciding on a place to eat it was recommended we try this restaurant ,upon arrival we were greeted by a very attentive waitress who guided us to our table and promptly asked what we would like to drink , when the drinks arrived giving us plenty of time to decide on meal choice ,she took our order i ordered the ribeye ,my colleagues ordered their meals and quite quickly our meals where served , i must say my steak was cooked to perfection and probably one of the best ribeyes i have had ,my colleagues meals where of equal standard and all were hastly dispatched with clean plates all round .This venue is certainly well worth a visit ,in fact i am back up in Harrogate in 2 weeks and will try and have a return visit to this restaurant .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your first visit to our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We went for early doors at 5.30 and was amazed that as doors open at 5.30 that it was full
We were shown to our reserved table and after our order had been taken that the food was delivered promptly
It was nicely presented and of good quality,the prices were not expensive but seen as reasonable
Would we go again. Oh yes and soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again in Harrogate or at one of our other restaurants soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing