We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tasty French goodness”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #29 of 460 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'etre' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and creme brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and pate de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Sitting in the heart of the town centre, just a two minute walk from Harrogate Theatre and close to the bustling Montpellier shopping district. The decor is decidedly French in style, with the accent on elegant and relaxed. Our bistrot is located on the first floor with lift access and benefits from a stunning heated balcony, which is the perfect place for dining al fresco whatever the weather! Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soiree Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online. We also have a bistrot in Ilkley in West Yorkshire, which sits proudly within a stunning arch-shaped building that dates back to 1861. Next door you will also find our sister pub, The Crescent Inn, which boasts 8 real ales, 15 wines by the glass, honest home-cooked food and eleven affordable boutique bedrooms.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was, simply, excellent! A beef stew and chicken with garlic sausage went down very well with my partner and I. The honey chorizo appetisers were also a highlight. Staff were friendly and helpful, if the food took a little longer than we would have liked as a complaint though, this should not detract from a lovely restaurant experience that comes highly reccomended from us

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adzee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

934 - 938 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Whilst deciding on a place to eat it was recommended we try this restaurant ,upon arrival we were greeted by a very attentive waitress who guided us to our table and promptly asked what we would like to drink , when the drinks arrived giving us plenty of time to decide on meal choice ,she took our order i ordered the ribeye ,my colleagues ordered their meals and quite quickly our meals where served , i must say my steak was cooked to perfection and probably one of the best ribeyes i have had ,my colleagues meals where of equal standard and all were hastly dispatched with clean plates all round .This venue is certainly well worth a visit ,in fact i am back up in Harrogate in 2 weeks and will try and have a return visit to this restaurant .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for writing a review and so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your first visit to our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We went for early doors at 5.30 and was amazed that as doors open at 5.30 that it was full
We were shown to our reserved table and after our order had been taken that the food was delivered promptly
It was nicely presented and of good quality,the prices were not expensive but seen as reasonable
Would we go again. Oh yes and soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again in Harrogate or at one of our other restaurants soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just a quick review. I eat here quite regularly and have probably tried most of the main courses they dish up, and I've never been disappointed with the food or service. There are lots of restaurants in Harrogate, but not many that offer the consistency and value that this one does. As a bonus, it's normally possible to get a table without having to wait too long. Merci à tous - keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank criticalhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having walked around Harrogate for a good 60minutes, we decided to eat here on a Thursday evening. We hadn't reserved, but this wasn't a problem according to the friendly lady who greeted us.

A young girl took our order, I'd decided to have the 100% beef burger, and my wife the Quiche. Being honest, the young girl made us feel uneasy when we declined a starter and wine (we're more main and dessert people).

The food was fantastic. The burger was perfect, literally the most tender burger I've eaten. After we'd finished our main, the friendly restaurant manager Matt asked if we could squeeze in a dessert, and impressively cleared our table in one swoop.

The desserts were fantastic, small but incredibly rich.

The atmosphere was relaxed and lively, which made for an enjoyable evening.

Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing