We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great weekend break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our 2 dogs in the dog friendly lodge for 2 nights
We requested an early arrival time due to an appointment in Harrogate and, the staff made this possible, even arranging to put the heating on early to ensure the lodge was warm.
On arrival at reception we were welcomed by name and everything was efficiently organised...we were handed an envelope with general information about both the park and, the local area, wi-if vouchers etc and were personally shown to our lodge by a staff member.
The lodge was warm, clean and welcoming with a clean, modern bedroom, bath and shower room, lounge, small kitchen and, an outside balcony. There was tea, coffee, sugar and milk provided, Molton Brown toiletries, and a hair dryer.
The staff were also able to offer us a late checkout as no one else was using the lodge on our leaving date and therefore they could arrange for the cleaning to be done at a later time.

The lodge wasn't ultra modern in terms of furnishings but it was spotlessly clean and everything we needed had been provided.
The management should be highly delighted with the level of service their staff provide. We really got the impression that nothing was too much trouble and all the staff wanted guests to have a wonderful time....here they really do put the customer first and we had a fabulous weekend break.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ST22012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stay in our caravan here, the toilet/shower blocks are clean, and warm, the pot washing facilities are good. The grounds are kept well. The little shop is a gem, filled with most things you could have forgotten. Staff in here are very friendly and polite. The swimming pool is clean and heated, although the price is high for only a pool no slide or anything.

The only down side to this site is the deer house, the food is very over priced, and is certainly not worth the money. Linda is not very welcoming, The entertainment is very poor and certainly needs to be looking at better quality and more varied groups, as at present they are very dated. Also we would like to see some entertainment on every weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 47charlie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us at Rudding Holiday Park and for acknowledging that the toilets/shower blocks are clean, the pot washing facilities are clean and grounds are kept well.

We do, however find it completely unacceptable to publically berate one of our hardest working members of staff. Linda has worked in the catering industry for over 35 years and with us here at Rudding Park for 6 years. She is an incredibly warm person and always makes our guests her priority, as such, she was mortified to read that you think otherwise. You obviously don’t understand the impact of your review on people’s feelings. If you had an issue with any member of the team we wish that you had the decency to share your opinions directly with us.

After reading your review, I feel it is better for both parties if you do not stay with us again, we cannot accept this sort of behaviour from our guests.

Regards

Nuno César de Sá
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having just returned from rudding park we stayed for 2 nights camping.on first impression all looked really good reception was prompt and made you at home and welcome.thats when it all stopped.we were taken to our pitch which we were told by the website is 10x10 metres our tent is 7x4 and it was a struggle to make it fit.every morning at 6 o clock someone thought it'd be a good idea to cut the grass.petrol lawn mower at this time of the morning is not a good way to be woken up believe me.each tent on the field we were allocated to felt like you were crowded in.then there was the neighbours from hell.from 6 in the morning till 10 at night 3 screaming wingeing crying arguing kids not once did the parents tell them to quieter down.the pub is abit of a rip off the food is average but for the prices it should be exceptional.our experience could of been different if we were in a static ,lodge or caravan.we will never go back to this site.wild rose Appleby is by far a better site in every aspect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginge2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at Rudding Park and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community

I was so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time at Rudding Park. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive and are disappointed that this was not so in your case.

At Rudding Park, we care for our guests and try our best to make sure their stay with us is as enjoyable as possible and I do wish that you had let a member of staff know during your stay about the lawn mower at 6am, the family next door or your disappointment regarding your pitch and we could have solved these issues.

We would have found out who was cutting grass so early and changed the work pattern of that person.

The Duty Manager would have had a word with the family next to you and asked them to be more considerate to our guests.

All of our service grass pitches are 10m x 10m however some of the corner pitches are slightly bigger and I am sure if you had mentioned while you were here we would have moved you to a corner pitch to accommodate the larger size of you tent.

I am sorry to read that you didn’t find the food at the Deer House exceptional, we receive fantastic feedback from guest comments about the Deer House which we are very proud.

Once again thank you for your comments, I am really sorry that you are not coming back, however, should you decide to return please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation and ensure that a larger, quieter pitch is available for your stay.

With kind regards


Toni Fernandes
Holiday Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Arrived late on a Friday afternoon. Stayed for 3nts with EHU and paid £72. 00 for 2 adults 2 children & our dog. Lovely big site but think majority of campers request certain pitches at time of booking. Due to arriving fairly late around 6pm I got the impression that we ended up with one of the worst pitches. The pitch was close to the shower block but was the smallest pitch on the site and not level- which meant we slipped out of bed during the night. Was very disappointed with the pitch even though I booked this in March this year- so not a last min booking. Our tent is a Vango Tigris 800, and we struggled with the size of the pitch. Some of the pitches looked great known as the 'Super pitches', think I will be looking to book the super next time we visit.

The shower block was excellent- best I've been in so far, lovely and warm and very clean. Hairdryer was also handy. The shower cubicles also had a lovely spacious area to change which you don't often find. Pot washing was outside the shower block and had no running water on the 2 occasions I attempted to use it. Needless to say I didn't bother again and opted to boil my kettle instead.

Our children loved it and also made use of the outside pool, which you book at reception and pay at the poolside when you arrive for your chosen swim time. Had a drink from the bar which was average price. Small play area next to the pool is ok and the older children's play area is also ok- large grassed area for ball games but seemed to be taken over by seasonal residents playing rounders- not much chance for others to play other ball games.

Dog walk is a small grassed area and considering the size of the park- I expected much better or bigger- ok for small dogs but not big enough for our large dog to have a good run. Also had a stroll to the Golf Clubhouse for a drink sat and watched a couple coming in and fantastic views whilst sipping a lovely glass of white wine. Not the cheapest- but it was the Clubhouse when all said and done. Little shop was very good, lots of things if forgotten anything and lovely fresh bread, eggs etc. Also daily newspapers. Very reasonable prices.

Overall we will be returning, this is only our 3rd camping trip and this has to be the best site so far. Marks out of 10= 9

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAMY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

decided to stay her for a night with our touring caravan. Arrived about 4.15pm set up very nice hard standing site Electric, water, and a garden table/bench. Daughter wanted a swim in the pool, height of the holiday season closes 5.00pm On site restaurant had tables set out like a boarding school all in rows 12-16 at a table. The car park had parking bays but were all coned off very uninviting. The park was kept very clean and tidy, but it is very large. The site could do with a better restaurant set up and why in hot weather and height of the season the swimming pool is not open until about 8.00pm like other sites

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuddingPark, Manager at Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you liked your hard standing site and that you feel the park is kept very clean and tidy. You are right, it is a large site and we take great pride in looking after it and our guests.

Thank you for your comments regarding our swimming pool opening times. We close the swimming pool at 5.30pm as we have found that most guests don’t use the swimming pool after this time. Our Deer House is our family friendly pub that offers a varied menu and a warm welcome. The table lay out is to suit families, however, our Manager Linda would have happily changed a table setting for you on request and we are sorry it was not to your liking.

With regards to the car park, we were running a family fun charity event the day after your arrival so were preparing for the visitors to this. We did ensure that this had no effect on our residents who were arriving. We were all very pleased to raise over £355 for a local charity at this event.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Park soon.

With kind regards

Toni Fernandes
Holiday Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

One of the best all round campsites we've experienced, washrooms lovely and clean, staff most helpful and most of all plenty to keep the kids entertained. Absolutely fantastic few days stay, can't wait to get back there next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviej22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a camping trip here recently and cant recommend enough, brilliant well maintained site. Facilities were always spotless and lovely and warm! Swimming pool was great, pub offered a decent menu and food was nice, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and in a great area with lots to do nearby. Despite the site being fully booked we had a spacious pitch, there was no noise at all after 10.30/11pm and there was lots of space and freedom for children to paly. Perfect family location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
1.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park

Property: Self Catering Breaks at Rudding Park
Address: Follifoot Road, Harrogate HG3 1ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These self catering properties are in the award winning Rudding Park estate. The 3 star cottages are set in beautiful grounds, whilst the chalet lodges are in delightful woodland clearings, many surrounding a small lake. The 5 star Luxury Lodges have a contemporary feel and overlook the two golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Self Catering Breaks At Rudding Park Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing