We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky find in Yorkshire Dales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Verona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky find in Yorkshire Dales”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I arrived on Sheila's doorstep tired after a long day's drive and we were quickly swept into the sitting room for a wonderful cup of tea and a slice of cake. The room that Sheila had prepared for us was extremely comfortable and the view out over the dales was a wondrous sight to wake up to. Everything that we needed was on hand and Sheila's recommendation for a place to eat dinner was spot on. Breakfast was excellent. The other couple that stayed the night had been coming back to Sheila's every year for 10 years! That speaks more than our words but if you are looking for a place to stay to venture out into the Yorkshire dales and the towns nearby don't hesitate to rest your head on one of Sheila's beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
168
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night in need of pure relaxation and a place to 'get away from it all,' we were not disappointed. Sheila made us feel very welcome from the moment we stepped through the door with a cup of tea and some yummy cake. The rooms were spotless and the view was amazing. We definitely had the relaxing, peaceful stay we wanted and we would recommend this place to anyone it truly is a gem. The breakfast was perfect too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFJ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A truly, wonderful and probably the best B&B in the UK. Very clean, nice comfortable rooms and toilets. A very wonderful place to stay. Sheila is very accommodating and attends to all your needs. Plus she takes the effort of maintaining a very high standards of the place. We will surely recommend this place to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FadzlanZainol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was about the best B & B we've every been to in the UK. Everything had been thought of for the comfort of the guests. Sheila was lovely and just so helpful. Room was beautiful, breakfast was wonderful. Altogether a wonderful place to stay - no faults at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for three nights and received a very warm welcome from Sheila.This is an exceptional place to stay where everything is provided to a very high standard. It is warm, cosy and has everything you could possibly want from a b&b.Very comfortable bed with beautiful inviting "white company" bed linen. The bathroom has gorgeous soft towels & a plentiful supply of toiletries. Beautifully clean & it is obvious that Sheila takes great pride in maintaining a very high standard. The cooked breakfasts were a joy. An excellent location to explore some lovely parts of Yorkshire & very convenient for RHS Harlow Carr. We hope to return again in the future.
Penny & Barry

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A truly wonderful place to stay. Sheila ensures you have everything you need from tea and cake on arrival to luxury bed linen, spacious rooms, sherry in the rooms and the most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in.
The home cooked breakfasts are amazing and will set you up for the day and the open fire will be warming the sitting area waiting for your return at the end of a cold day. The rooms are spotlessly clean including the bathrooms which are filled with handy toilettries.
The local area is great with good meals available at the Queens Head and Nelson Inn.
All in all the most relaxed, comfortable, enjoyable stay either of us has ever had - we would definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I lived in Harrogate for 20 years and moved to the South 7 years ago. Since then, I have stayed at Knabbs Ash regularly and would challenge anyone to find a better place to stay in Harrogate. Sheila Smith gives you a great welcome and a very good breakfast. Her rooms are spotless and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAMLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
3.4 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#28 of 100 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#13 of 15 in Knaresborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.9 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
North Dockenbush B&B
North Dockenbush B&B
#15 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cold Cotes Guest Accommodation & Gardens
1.8 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#58 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast

Property: Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast
Address: Knabs Ash Skipton Road | Felliscliffe, Harrogate HG3 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small holding set in peaceful countryside with far reaching views. Three tastefully decorated en-suite rooms, private sitting room for guests own use. Patio & garden for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knabbs Ash Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing