We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant guest house”
Review of Baytree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baytree House
Ranked #10 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here in December - we decided on this guest house based on reviews & we weren't disappointed!
We came to Harrogate to do christmas shopping - lovely town with the normal big shops & a few small unusual ones. Betty's tea shoppe is a must whilst visiting - lovely atmosphere & food even if slightly pricey but still worth it!
Once we found Baytree House ( it was raining hard!) we had a lovely welcome from Amanda who showed us to our room at the top of the house. Four Poster Bed - chaise longue - chairs - tea & coffee making facilities - en suite....... we were spoiled.....Lovely comfy bed - what more could you want!
We walked into town - it wasn't far at all, even in the rain & wind. As it was a Sunday it was quiet but we did find a restaurant that looked popular, Cattlemens, & what a nice place - good food & service.
We walked off our dinner & went back to our lovely warm, cosy room. After such a hectic day we slept well & next morning we were ready for our breakfast.
The breakfast room was lovely - we had a window seat & the radio was playing softly in the back ground - nice touch as sometimes these B&B's can be a bit quiet when there are only a few guests.
There was plenty to choose from - juice, cereals, fruit, yoghurt then the cooked choice. It was lovely, cooked well tasted lush. Simon came to check on things after he had cooked & we had a chat.
Both Amanda & Simon are good friendly hosts who make you feel at home.
If you plan on visiting Harrogate you can't go wrong staying here - close to the town & good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NellieGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 396 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here with my wife. Whilst the location was good (a decent walk to town in good weather, taxi in bad), I did find the room rather small (especially the bathroom), and not especially well appointed.

The breakfast was good, and the hosts friendly. Ultimately though it was very expensive for what was an average experience. The cost was also not matched by the decor. In luxury B&Bs you would normally find much comfier beds / furnishings, more space, and higher quality (for example not having to stretch the kettle lead to get it on the shelf).

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms on the top floor for reasons of temperature and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

then I probably wouldn't stay here again. The B&B was nice enough but our room was small with a very poky shower en-suite. For £90 a night I had hoped for so much more. The breakfast was nice enough and the location was very handy. Although I found the room colder than I would like and the bed not very comfortable. I probably wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Chose Baytree House for a last minute night away after seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. A lovely old house in a great location with own parking. We had a Kingsize room with a well appointed bathroom and 4 poster bed. Everything was superb, cleanliness, welcome, breakfast, comfort - we will definitely use this lovely place again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karens_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My business partner and I have stayed here twice while traveling in England from the US. Our experiences have been very positive both times. Amanda and Simon are very hospitable, helping out with travel schedules and recommendations for sights to see. The inn is within walking distance of town center. The rooms are comfortable. And the breakfast is outstanding. We can highly recommend the Baytree for business or personal travel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForwardFocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Baytree based on reviews from Trip Advisor . It is a really beautiful boutique b & b with really excellent breakfasts. The location is ideal for Harrogate which itself is a lovely place to visit for a weekend. We stayed in the de luxe room on the top floor which was excellent.

Room Tip: recommend the de luxe room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickletonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed in the baytree house to have a little festive treat. It really was a fab place to stay, car parking facilities, rooms cosy, all you needed and the hosts were great. Breakfast was one of the best B&B breakfast we've had, simon and Amanda have there own special touch with that and it makes it tops. we were 100% satisfied with our stay. We Recommend others to definitely try it out too.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topkat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#5 of 83 in Harrogate
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#8 of 83 in Harrogate
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#1 of 83 in Harrogate
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree House

Address: 98 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baytree House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baytree House can be found on a quiet tree-lined avenue amidst the classic Victorian and Edwardian architecture that makes up the spa town Harrogate. All our rooms are en-suite with luxury finishes to enhance your stay. Enjoy an AWARD WINNING breakfast complimentary when booked direct from our website. We are just 5 minutes walk to the Harrogate International Center (HIC) and a 10 minute stroll into the centre of Harrogate. FREE parking and WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baytree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree House Hotel Harrogate
Baytree House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing