We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baytree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baytree House
Ranked #13 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“High quality B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our third stay and the standards have been consistently high. There is a friendly helpful welcome from the owners. The twin we've stayed in is nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. The room was beautifully warm on a couple of very cold March days, and the thermostat controls worked well so it was easy to regulate to your own preference. Breakfast is excellent - quality produce, freshly cooked and delicious (both full english and the salmon/scrambled eggs). Will be back and would recommend to friends without hesitation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank furbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    27
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
52
181
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

After reading the great reviews this guest house has received on this website, we were looking forward to staying here. The location of this B and B is ideal. It's in a lovely quiet street and is a short stroll from the centre of town, great if you want to go for a meal and have a bottle of wine. There is also off street parking. The house itself is lovely with lots of original features in the sitting room and hall. However, it's when you get into your rooms that you realise that it isn't all that great. As someone who suffers from a dust allergy, our room wasn't ideal. There was dust visible on a lot the surfaces. There was also visible water damage on the ceiling of the room. The room was tired, with wallpaper starting to peel from the wall. The light shade was interesting, as they used a lamp shade upside down as a shade hanging from the ceiling. There was also 5 ladybirds who were sharing the room with us. Don't know if they came in while the window was open or if they were already there. We opened the room as it was a bit stuffy. Overall, we slept well. Breakfast was nice, but bacon and muffins were a little overcooked and portions are small, especially the salmon and scrambled egg. Home made bread seems to be what they're plugging, and it's nice, but from a breadmaker. Not that there's anything wrong with a breadmaker! Owners are friendly. But a comment about being too busy on to Sunday as they were full was a bit strange, considering the economic climate, they should be grateful they have business. Overall, this is an okay place to stay. But at £95 a room living night, they could do much better. For an extra £25 you could stay in luxury at the nearby Rudding Park Hotel. So i wouldn't be back to this establishment and wouldn't recommend it to a friend as I believe you could get better elsewhere for the price they charge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellabrianna, Owner at Baytree House, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Four in a bed springs to mind with this review... there maybe a few imperfections at Baytree and if you search hard enough you will probably find one or two. However as stated by the majority of our previous guests and the hotel inspector our rooms are generally spotless and well maintained.

As with the majority of this guests reviews we too unfortunately did not live up to their high expectations,
however the ladybirds enjoyed their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A lovely B and B, just 5 to 10mins stroll into the town. Large comfortable bed in the deluxe room we had with excellent power shower. The hosts Amanda and Simon were delightful and the breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Would recommend this establishment without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room it is only £5 extra a night, the bed was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday and Sunday night in February and loved it. The owners, Simon and Amanda, are lovely - so friendly and helpful. The quality of the breakfast and the service provided were fantastic. The property is beautiful, it's in a lovely residential area with easy parking and only a short walk to town. Our room was great with a huge and fantastically comfortable bed (Amanda did tell us it is their regulars' favourite bed so I guess we got lucky). It's room 9 if you want to ask for that one. The property is spotlessly clean. We ate at Mirabelle and Blue Orchid (which is Simon's favourite) and both were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

A fine B and B with friendly owners. It is clean and well located with nicely decorated rooms. It is 11 minutes walk from the town hall so is quiet but also near to amenities . It is near the bus route to Great Yarmouth and the owners make their own jams and have a clutch of cute Yoda dogs that live in the owners section. Parking is free on the road outside and seemed easy when I stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelotottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelalot75
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I think this must have been our third stay in this lovely B&B and will be back! The Baytree House is very welcoming, clean, comfortable and serves an absolutely amazing breakfast. It is located in a lovely tree lined road which is a short 5-10 minute walk away from the town centre. Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from another great visit to the Baytree B&B in Harrogate.
Again, very comfortable rooms, superb customer service and home cooked breakfast.
Well done Simon & Amanda, look forward to seeing you on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baytree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baytree House

Property: Baytree House
Address: 98 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baytree House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baytree House can be found on a quiet tree-lined avenue amidst the classic Victorian and Edwardian architecture that makes up the spa town Harrogate. All our rooms are en-suite with luxury finishes to enhance your stay. Treat yourself to afternoon tea with delicious homemade cakes and scones and a selection of tasty sandwiches! All room rates include our AWARD WINNING breakfast when booked direct from our website. FREE parking and WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baytree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baytree House Hotel Harrogate
Baytree House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing