We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience”
Review of van Zeller - CLOSED

van Zeller
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Van Zeller restaurant in Harrogate has a chef of rare gifts in native Yorkshireman Tom Van Zeller. Creating delicious and innovative British cuisine is the mission here, and one that has succeeded admirably. The smart dining room is both stylish and comfortable, a fine, intimate bistro-style setting for the kitchen's high ambitions. Chef Van Zeller started his career locally at the famous Betty's Tearooms and Rudding Park before learning his craft in some Michelin-starred restaurants in London, Sydney and New York. Now returning to his roots, Van Zeller won the backing of esteemed restaurateur David Moore (two Michelin starred Pied a Terre and Michelin starred l'Autre Pied) in creating Van Zeller restaurant. Almost immediately, his creative cuisine has earned Van Zeller Best Newcomer at the 2010 Northern Hospitality Awards, Best Chef at the 2010 Harrogate Hospitality & Tourism Awards and a pair of AA rosettes. Van Zeller is one of Harrogate's destination restaurants.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was the first time here as my daughter has recently moved into the area . I can't praise her choice enough!
We went as a family to celebrate Mother's Day .
The 5 course menu was absolutely delicious , varied and beautifully presented .
We all thought it was very good value for the quality and flavours of the food
I particularly enjoyed the shin and sirloin,which was cooked to perfection but all five of us enjoyed our choices .
Service was attentive and friendly , the restaurant atmosphere warm and welcoming.
Good wine too , can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snwwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Snwwhite, thanks so much for taking the time to review and for your lovely compliments on the dishes – the Longhorn Shin & Sirloin in particular! We look forward to you returning to the restaurant – with spring on its way we will be changing our menus soon with some great new dishes for you to try when you’re next in the area! Thanks, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    64
    36
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went to Van Zellers for a family celebration today and had a lovely dinner. The food was excellent, the service was spot on and we all enjoyed our time there. I can definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PomPomRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi PomPomRochdale, many thanks for your feedback, we love hearing back from our guests so I appreciate your comments and in particular that you’d recommend us which is indeed high praise! Thanks again and I hope to see you at the restaurant again soon, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best for miles around”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the most amazing dinner at Van Zellers. It was, quite simply, one of the best meals we have ever had. No wonder it is seen as one of the best resturants in the the UK having been crowned as 'the overall winner of the prestigious The Good Food Guide Readers Restaurant of the Year Award 2013'. It is well worth a special visit/detour with the service, wine and food outstanding. If we could give them 6 stars we would!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinjlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi Robinjlw, thank you for your wonderful feedback! It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed the meal and the service. Of course we’re very proud of our recent awards so I’m pleased we lived up to expectations. We often have special offers and events so keep an eye on our website or join our mailing list for more information and I hope you make that detour sooner rather than later. Thanks again, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Local Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is definitely worth a visit it you want some fine dining, locally. I have eaten here twice now and on each occasion have considered it amongst one of my favourites. Even though we had chosen the tasting menu we were offered alternative food should we not like some of the courses. Yes, it is pricey for some, but you have to factor in overheads with this and there are certainly a lot of staff. I am prepared to pay the price and will be going again.At last, we don't have to travel for miles for an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Suzie, thank you for your feedback, I appreciate the lovely comments and it’s nice to hear van Zeller is a local favourite of yours! If you sign up to our monthly newsletter via our website, you will receive the latest offers and news from the restaurant – in fact we have a great offer on at the moment for a 5 course à la carte at only £35! I look forward to seeing you at the restaurant soon, Tom van Zeller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good meal, unfriendly service.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Expensive, inflexible menu - basically a 3 course meal sold as 5 courses and no A la Carte option. Food very good, although small portions. No atmoshpere and not friendly. Asked to dine earlier than wanted despite restaurant being very quiet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CathB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK-PH1, Owner at van Zeller, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi CathB64. My restaurant is not expensive! If you want to spend a lot of money in it you can but if you'd prefer to have tap water and the 5 course menu for £25 you can. Or you could have the a la carte menu which is currently offered at £35 pp at certain times. A saving of £29 per couple!
Furthermore we are flexible, I cant remember the last time I refused a request. The portions are designed to be balanced over 5 courses. If you are looking for a cheap single plate of food that will make you feel bloated after you have eaten it then you will need to go elsewhere.
Finally, if during a quiet, mid week night, in winter, in a triple dip recession and we are not full to the rafters you will be advised of a time when there are other diners in and the atmosphere will be more lively. You are our guests and we want you have a great time. I hope you will try us again. Best TvZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed van Zeller also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing