We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Find”
Review of Shelbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelbourne House
Ranked #23 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We have just returned from a great weekend in Harrogate. This bed and breakfast was fantastic. Sue and Neil couldn't do enough for us, from our initial booking when Neil was Informing us of the local must see and do's. I wish we had taken his advise and booked ourselves into the Turkish baths before our visit, because sadly they were fully booked when we got there. Onto the hotel. It is in a great location opposite the conference centre. Our room was very comfortable, we slept really well and had to prise ourselves out of bed in the morning. It was worth doing this though because breakfast was delicious, cooked beautifully, and not at all fatty. Neil and Sue recommended several good restaurants. We didn't take their advice on the first night and went to an Italian on the first night called Vivado. Unfortunately, we were overlooked and forgotten, but they still managed to put a service charge onto our bill which we were unhappy about because the service was very poor. We followed Neil's advice the next night and had an early bird meal at Bistro Pierre. The food and service were outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening there. We thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast and hope to return here in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionalcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

Booked the whole place for the weekend for a girlie get together. The rooms are decorated beautifully and we all had a brilliant time. We had a party at the hotel on the Friday night, with Sue and Neil providing excellent Mexican food and great cocktails that went down a storm!

Breakfast was lovely - a 'Full English' if you could manage it or cereals, fruit, scrambled egg and salmon or even kippers if you fancied something else.

The main town is a 5 min walk away (if that) so is in a brilliant location. Free parking is available by means of parking discs which Sue and Neil provided.

Sue and Neil are so friendly and will do anything to help make the weekend special. We all loved it and will definitely be coming back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clair-routledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garrydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celebrationsbridals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinamagee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrowniesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.0 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#6 of 98 in Harrogate
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#9 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House Hotel
Brookfield House Hotel
#35 of 98 in Harrogate
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 98 in Harrogate
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne House

Address: 78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $109 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne House AA four star,More than just a family run bed and breakfast. The house is ahigh standard boutique style accommodation. Located adjacent to the International Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. Two minutes walk from the door is the historic spa town, and its selection of elegant boutiques, fine restuarants, contemporary cafes and period tea rooms. All of this is complemented by the unique homely and relaxed style of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shelbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne House Hotel Harrogate
Shelbourne House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing