We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B & B”
Review of Shelbourne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelbourne House
Ranked #23 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here over Easter, lovely house in a superb location in the delightful town of Harrogate. Very comfy bed and delicious breakfast with lots of options and info of where they source their ingredients. Free parking definitely an added bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent restaurant recommendations from Sue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donmat1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are spoiled in Harrogate having many good restaurants on our doorstep. It is only a five minute walk into town and you can be eating delicious food.. We try and eat at all the restaurants (not a hard job!) so that we are able to give personal recommendations.

We hope to see you soon. Check out our Facebook page for midweek offers and follow us on twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

My family business exhibits at trade shows in Harrogate every year, since finding this little gem the view of our colleagues, staff and friends who we have introduced to Shelbourne House is "why stay anywhere else?" As well as being clean, comfortable, well maintained and convenient it manages to do something that is uncommon; it feels like home from home.
The guest house's best feature is Sue.
Sue is always happy to help, she is cheerful and accommodating, we look forward to seeing her every year.
As has been mentioned by other reviewers breakfast is a real treat, the ingredients used are of superb quality, indeed of award winning quality in many cases, the menu is well conceived and the choice is ample.
Having stayed in various rooms over the years I have always been happy with the space, some rooms are larger than others but all are adequate in-terms of space and specification.
Parking permits are on-hand and spaces are available..
To conclude I'll say that reviewing hotels isn't something I do, in this case however, given the service I feel it's only fair to pass-on this referral - Excellent!!

Room Tip: Just tell Sue what you want, there's good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

When our guests return again and again it is the biggest compliment that we can have. Our guests return for regular conferences and we have a house full of people who meet up at Shelbourne House and have a good catch up to what has been happening over the year both in business and pleasure.

Thank you for your review and see you next year. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

There is not much I can add to the other reviews of this place.
We recently spent 2 nights there whilst visiting Harrogate.
Location is perfect, nearly opposite the conference centre and less than a 5 minute walk into the town centre. Parking permits for the weekend were provided upon arrival so there was no hassle with moving the car/parking charges etc.
The house itself is lovely and decorated to a very high standard
Although there was only 2 of us we had a family room (room 2), which conisisted of a double bed and a large single bed. The room was lovely, well decorated, very clean with nice touches such as shower gel, tea/coffee facilities.
Sue is the pefect host and like others have said before, it is like going to stay with a friend.
Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and there is also a selection of fruits and cereals.
Overall this is a great B&B which I would highly recommend.
We are already looking at dates for when we can return!

Room Tip: Book early if you want a choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louby_lou1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Manager at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We aim to make people feel comfortable and that you have enjoyed the surroundings and take full advantage of what Harrogate has to offer.

We hope that we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed with my wife just a for a night. The 'house' itself is lovely - very well decorated and each room has it's own character. Our room was at the top of the house and while it wasn't huge, it was comfy and had everything we needed. Sue is an excellent host - she said before we arrived that even if the room wasn't ready, she would provide an on-street parking pass so we didn't have to pay any parking charges. While there wasn't any off road parking, I found the fact Sue provided parking permits better as some of the other B&B's have limited parking so if you miss out you either have to pay or park a good distance away. Shelbourne is perfectly located just 5 mins from the centre of Harrogate and very easy to get to - from the A1 follow the main road into Harrogate and turn left onto the top of Kings Road. Shelbourne is towards the bottom almost opposite the conference centre.
Sue herself couldn't have been anymore welcoming, making sure we knew where everything was and even providing free drinks in the sitting room The breakfasts as has already been mentioned was fantastic.
Overall, 10/10 and I will not consider anywhere else on our next night in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for giving us this fabulous review. We appreciate your feedback. I always try and make people feel welcome and not just a number, which I feel smaller establishments can achieve. If you check out our Facebook page and press like you will receive the latest news and offers at Shelbourne House. You may also follow us on twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights there whilst visiting the Harrogate Flower Show, Our host was welcoming and ready to ensure we had all that we needed. Parking was available. The house was 5 minutes from the centre of town and almost.opposite the Conference Centre. The room was comfortable. Breakfast was a feast. Options included fresh fruit and a variety of cooked breakfasts. These were freshly cooked to order. It was excellent value for money and I would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Back of the house was probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestatynChanghua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We are glad that you found Shelbourne House ideally located for your break and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please check out our face book page for up-to-date news, press like for information on offers we may have. Also you may follow us on twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great place to stay. 2 minutes walk to the conference centre. Parking available. Very homely. Sue cooks a great breakfast. Well decorated and spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shelbourne House. Your review is appreciated. All our food is locally sourced and we pride ourselves with providing a good quality fresh breakfast.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my friend actually won our stay at Shelbourme House through a charity event which the Shelbourne house support. It was a wonderful stay, excellant decor throughout the house and was made to feel more than welcome. It had a homely atmosphere and only a 5-10 min walk into the centre (even in heels). My favourite was the rug in the lounge-amazing!
Highly recommended and would love to stay again the next time im in Harrogate!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueHarrogate, Owner at Shelbourne House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. We get lots of comments on our decor and the rug does stand out, and gets lots of great remarks, it was actually Neil's choice, he has a great eye for quirky and unusual design. We love it when our guests actually comment and enjoy the house as much as us.

We hope that if you ever decide to visit Harrogate in the future you will stay at Shelbourne House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.0 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#6 of 98 in Harrogate
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#9 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House Hotel
Brookfield House Hotel
#35 of 98 in Harrogate
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 98 in Harrogate
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelbourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelbourne House

Address: 78 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $109 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelbourne House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelbourne House AA four star,More than just a family run bed and breakfast. The house is ahigh standard boutique style accommodation. Located adjacent to the International Conference Centre and Exhibition Halls. Two minutes walk from the door is the historic spa town, and its selection of elegant boutiques, fine restuarants, contemporary cafes and period tea rooms. All of this is complemented by the unique homely and relaxed style of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shelbourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne House Hotel Harrogate
Shelbourne House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing