We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Ranked #14 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a really good meal, excellent value, ambience and service.it was a lovely sunny evening s o we had a drink outside after the meal, then came to the bar for another drink and enjoy the jazz music. It was busy so we are glad we booked as some people seemed to not be able to get in . Would definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped here for two nights and had a fantastic time, the staff were very friendly and helpful. we had a spacious apartment suite on the top floor with a balcony were we could sit and watch the world go by. The room was very clean and well furnished and the bed was sooo comfy. The Hotel is beautifully decorated and has a French/European Entertainment theme to it, the food was excellent in the restaurant as so was the live jazz band and for those moaners saying it was expensive and dimly lit I suggest you should have gone to McDonalds it may have suited your pocket and eye sight! The English breakfast was made fresh to order and was spot on. There is a lovely beer garden to the front of the hotel with various querky seating arrangements where after dinner drinks went down very well! Overall we were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were brill, nothing was to much trouble - would go back here for sure.

Room Tip: There's two spacious apartments on the top floor both with covered balconies and they have ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmensteve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved this hotel...firstly they have off road parking which is great as Harrogate isn't the easiest place to park.
We were made to feel very welcome at the hotel and was given the Studio Apartment at the top of the hotel. The room was new and was very well decorated and spotlessly clean, the sheets felt so crisp and wonderful you didn't want to get out of bed!

The roll top bath in the corner of the room was novel so of course had to be used and the small balcony was lovely, although lacked a 2nd chair, but there were a couple of chairs in the room so we just took that out there. The room was very light and airy which was lovely although the sky lights in the room and bathroom could have done with blinds that you could pull down so that the light does not wake you in the morning, but that's a small thing.

The apartment also had a very stylish kitchen, although not very well equipped we made do as we only had a few snacks that didn't require using pans, the oven was fine and there was a baking tray in there. The cupboards had tins of paint in them which we found quite funny, maybe someone was coming back to finish off or maybe cook up some delight using them!

In the evening we went down to the bar area where the jazz band was playing and it was very good and the atmosphere was wonderful and relaxing.

The breakfast was very good and the waiter very attentive, my husband had the black pudding and he said it was one of the best he had tasted. I liked the fresh bread you could cut and toast yourself, although the jams were a little awkward at the toast area it would have been better to have the preserves on the tables.

Overall very nice and we would go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a party of six and stayed at the Brasserie for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were so friendly and helpful. This hotel is a little different to the normal bog standard hotel. It is based on a French theme i.e., Moulin Rouge, so go with it. The Rooms were good and the food was excellent. We did not think it was overpriced as some reviewers have stated.
Take a trip to Fountain Abbey and Knaresborough well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have just spent a couple of nights there and it was great. Hotel is different, and the better for it. Bed comfortable, room distinctively decorated but spacious. Only quibble was the bathroom which was small and the lack of a decent shower although the bath was great. Importantly the food was great, the staff brilliant and the music only added to the experience. Anyone visiting Harrogate and wanting something different, close to the Town Centre, and very reasonably priced should definitely give it a go. Beware though old building steep stairs.

Room Tip: Room 8 was reasonable and at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty good, quirky but comfortable. We were OK with a bit of dust and weird ornaments dotted around, as I said quirky.

The breakfast was yummy, no problem there.

What forces me to give such a low grade is the incessant noise from outside. We were in room 15 and over our two night stay I think I'd be generous if I said we had more than 7 hours sleep, that's not per night, but over the whole stay.

Unfortunately there was a small child/baby in the room next to us, which is not the hotel's fault.

Road noise was not even a massive problem, you get used to that.

The problem is the revellers who seem to hang out outside our window. I think there was some karoake on somewhere too. I nearly joined in with Fame, an Abba medley, The Weather girls, and quite ironically, I will survive!

We were sweltering with the windows closed but you just couldn't stop the noise.

Another issue was flimsy pillows, they failed the over arm test. No support whatsoever.

Unfortunately as much as I liked the vibe of the hotel, I could not recommend it to actually sleep in which really is its primary function. Epic fail I'm afraid.

Such a shame.....

Room Tip: Definitely not room 15
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Wattsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the first time we have been to Harrogate and the first time at the Brasserie hotel,
The Hotel is extremely well situated just a short walk to the centre of town, Its small car park is at the rear i would advise patrons to pick up a small detailed map from the hotel, on how to get to the car park, Our room ( apartment) was right at the top of the Hotel up a number of flights of stairs, but was well worth the effort, The room was brilliant , bright, new, and very clean.
Jazz bar was good on the Friday & food was excellent ,Breakfast food was excellent too

Room Tip: anyone in bad health should not stay in apartment, This hotel has not got a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel

Address: 26-30 Cheltenham Parade, Harrogate HG1 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $100 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing