We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a shame....”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel itself was pretty good, quirky but comfortable. We were OK with a bit of dust and weird ornaments dotted around, as I said quirky.

The breakfast was yummy, no problem there.

What forces me to give such a low grade is the incessant noise from outside. We were in room 15 and over our two night stay I think I'd be generous if I said we had more than 7 hours sleep, that's not per night, but over the whole stay.

Unfortunately there was a small child/baby in the room next to us, which is not the hotel's fault.

Road noise was not even a massive problem, you get used to that.

The problem is the revellers who seem to hang out outside our window. I think there was some karoake on somewhere too. I nearly joined in with Fame, an Abba medley, The Weather girls, and quite ironically, I will survive!

We were sweltering with the windows closed but you just couldn't stop the noise.

Another issue was flimsy pillows, they failed the over arm test. No support whatsoever.

Unfortunately as much as I liked the vibe of the hotel, I could not recommend it to actually sleep in which really is its primary function. Epic fail I'm afraid.

Such a shame.....

Room Tip: Definitely not room 15
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wattsy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    153
    48
    28
    14
See reviews for
57
280
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the first time we have been to Harrogate and the first time at the Brasserie hotel,
The Hotel is extremely well situated just a short walk to the centre of town, Its small car park is at the rear i would advise patrons to pick up a small detailed map from the hotel, on how to get to the car park, Our room ( apartment) was right at the top of the Hotel up a number of flights of stairs, but was well worth the effort, The room was brilliant , bright, new, and very clean.
Jazz bar was good on the Friday & food was excellent ,Breakfast food was excellent too

Room Tip: anyone in bad health should not stay in apartment, This hotel has not got a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been to this place a few times. The food is excellent, presentation skills are top notch and the staff are welcoming and attentive. There is live jazz most days of the week. This is a must place to visit if you like jazz and great atmosphere whilst dining. This is definitely my favourite place in town even If its just to relax with a drink and to enjoy the jazz!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syderstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had 2 very enjoyable days in Harrogate staying at the Brasserie Hotel. Lovely place and the food was excellent both the evening meal and breakfast. Very friendly staff and recommend this place to anyone who is planning a trip to the lovely Yorkshire town of Harrogate. We will certainly be going back there and next time plan to stay in one of the gorgeous apartments.

Room Tip: Really spoil yourself and stay in one of the apartments either room 19 or 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July after touring Yorkshire and Lancashire. Having seen the pictures and read about the place we were greatly looking forward to staying here. From the outside the place lived up to expectations being striking, well kept and different. The bar area and restaurant also looked welcoming and informal whilst maintaining a certain elegance.
Unfortunately the room was hugely disappointing. We stayed in room 8, which was stuffy and smelly. The en-suite is wood clad with flaking varnish which allowed the water to seep in and gave the room a very unpleasant smell. The en suite was also small and cramped with a bath but no shower, other than a hand-held.
The room was interestingly decorated and reasonably comfortable, however the noise from both outside and adjacent rooms and stairs mean that when staying here you will wake up with the earliest riser in the building.
The 'Saniflow' toilets are extremely noisy as is the water pump and there appears to be nothing in the way of soundproofing between rooms or common areas.
Also, because the room was so stuffy we had to have to the window, overlooking the service area, open. So we had to put up with noise from dustbins and deliveries from 07:00 onwards.
We decided not to eat here due to the lack of variety on what seemed to be a rather expensive menu. Given that this is in the centre of Harrogate you could do better for food elsewhere.
The breakfast however was excellent, freshly prepared, well cooked and delicious.
This was the most expensive and most disappointing place we stayed, it did not provide a good night's sleep and the en-suite was inadequate. Personally I would not recommend this place or stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here avoid room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we had the pleasure of staying there for a night . the hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly .we booked dinner that night,which was very good , followed by a jazz band in the bar, which had people dancing between the tables. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Harrogate Brasserie has been known to me for very many years. It has been 4 years since I last stayed due to change of areas in business. Just returned for a short two day stay this week and things in the main have not changed, the owner, his staff and its quality. Since 2009 it has been refurbed in certain areas. Some new apartments with balconies - great. The restaurant and bar is the same with excellent cuisine at affordable prices. 6 nights a week you can be entertained to live music typically jazz. Relax after a hard today's work - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a back room it is a little quieter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel

Property: The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Address: 26-30 Cheltenham Parade, Harrogate HG1 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing