We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini-moon”
Review of Spring Wood Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Wood Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mini-moon”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Gorgeous, quiet, isolated location. really friendly staff. great hot tub. Very clean, cheerful place. wildlife all over the place. Pateley really nice, great butchers in summerbridge too. Cock of the north worth a trip out, as is scar croft reservoir.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
74
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the Skovarel lodge at the end of April to celebrate our anniversary. Having not been before, we took everything, knives, garlic press, hair dryer, tea towels etc. On arrival at the secluded site a quick tour of the luxurious lodge showed that everything you should need was thought off, just bring food and drink. We even took a caffetier, no need. There was a cold bottle of fizzy and chocolates awaiting our arrival. The Skovarel is a lodge with two double identical bedrooms, four poster beds, ensuite facilities, fully fitted kitchen/ dining area with a flat screen tv. The living room has two double leather sofas, flat screen tv, DVD player and a decent choice of film and sounds. Immaculately clean,warm and comfortable. But, do not spend your time indoors, well not too much time. Outside there is the sauna, very easily operated and quick to raise the temperature. There are a few chairs to sit on the decking and enjoy the visiting bird life and squirrels. They do come very close, helped by lots of seed and nuts, remember to take some. We had woodpeckers, Jays, pheasants, finches, loads etc and rabbits. It was so relaxing, then to make things even better, late at night have a shower, venture down to the lower decking, remembering to take a glass(bottle) favourite vintage, pull back the cover and step into the warm, soothing hot water of the hot tub, lay back and gaze at the stars. Cool, warm and chilled. Did I enjoy the experience? Ohhh yes.

Room Tip: Just get any, they are all totally secluded, but the lodge we stayed in was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannahslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in sneugel lodge, amazing. A wonderful peaceful, relaxing break. Lodge spotless with lots of personal touches as well as a sauna and hot tub. Bed soooo comfy. Wildlife lovely. Will be going back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our second visit to spring wood in the last year, this time staying in the Grondal. What an amazing place this is. The view from the balcony was absolutely gorgeous, every day we were visited by squirrels, rabbits, pheasants and a variety of birds. We put food out for them every day.
The lodge itself is furnished and equipped to a high standard. There was even a window in the sauna so you could admire the view! Such attention to detail is down to the hard work that Gerald and his wife put in to ensure everyone has a fabulous time. We were worried whether our car would get up the bank due to the recent heavy snowfall but Gerald had cleared the whole bank himself! Obviously one of the lodge's best features is the hot tub! After a day walking round brimham rocks in the snow it was great to get back and sit in the hot tub with a glass or two of bubbly!
I really can't praise this place enough and will be booking our next visit very soon!

Room Tip: We loved the Grondal but all the lodges are amazing! You will be happy in any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from staying in the Grondal lodge. It made a change to be pleasantly surprised that the interior of the lodge was far better than I expected from the photos I had seen (and better than my photos show!). The photos really don't do it justice. Everything looks new and is immaculately clean. The kitchen was a full size kitchen open plan with a spacious lounge area. I don't know if this lodge is new but it felt new inside.
The hot tub was perfect. It is surrounded by evergreen trees with a glimpse of the valleys opposite and offers total privacy. Sitting in the hot tub in the dark with the snow falling was just beautiful. The whole setting is just relaxing and calming - just the ticket for an escape from everyday life.
Away from the lodge we ate out twice. Once at Olley's in Pateley Bridge and once at The Sportsmans Arms which was a few miles outside of Pateley Bridge. Both meals were enjoyable. We would recommend the Sportsman Arms. It wasn't cheap but the food was high quality in a nice environment.
I can't think of any criticism of the Grondal lodge and think we may well make this an annual trip as I havent felt so relaxed in an age!

Room Tip: The Grondal lodge offered total privacy - hot tub was totally secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lilo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just home from another stay at Springwood lodges, this time in the Grondal lodge. Absolutely perfect again, could not fault a thing. Everything there that you need, real home from home log cabin. Only our 2nd trip to the cabins and we will be looking to go again next year. The wildlife was great entertainment and the views great as always, so colourful with the autumn weather. The hot tub was great any time of the day or night especially with a bottle or two of bubbly!!

Room Tip: Grondal is the 1st cabin on the park and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Blandy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at Spring Wood Lodges and felt I really should share our little slice of heaven with you ! Where do i start..... There are only five lodges on the site nestled in 30 acres of woodland, with a pretty lake in the centre if you choose to explore the walks in the woods. Each time we have stayed in the lodge named Evernia, which is just perfect for a couple with a cute four poster bed, a lovely sauna and a gorgeous hob tub on the large decking area outside. It is exceptionally well equipped with everything you could need to have a great stay, from champagne in the fridge, to a garlic crusher in the utensils drawer ! Although there are other lodges, they are well placed so you don't see the other people staying and feel like you have the whole woods to yourself. Its the kind of place where you can be happy just doing nothing but looking at the scenery and relaxing. My partner proposed to me the first time we stayed here under the stars so it will always have a special place in our hearts, we will continue to come back every year to celebrate our anniversary. If your looking for a romantic break, which is peaceful, relaxing and you love nature you just cant go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiejo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
7.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
11.8 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Westholme Estate
Westholme Estate
#1 of 1 in Aysgarth
744 reviews
13.6 mi away
Faweather Grange
Faweather Grange
#1 of 1 in Eldwick
427 reviews
23.2 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Wood Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Wood Lodges

Property: Spring Wood Lodges
Address: 4 Hartwith Bank, Harrogate HG3 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Scandinavian style detached holiday lodges each with its own private hot tub and sauna. Located in Nidderdale 'an area of outstanding natural beauty'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Wood Hotel Harrogate
Spring Wood Lodges Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing