We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brimham Rocks Cottages
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in 'Oak Cottage' booked through Hoseasons. Upon arrival we were told our cottage wasn't ready (although this was just 2pm they had said it would be) this was not a particular problem as we planned to go to lunch anyway. The couple kindly rang round some venues to check they were still surviving (very helpful).

Once checked it to our accommodation we were quickly shown round by a member of staff and left to our own devices. The wine and chocs on arrival were a lovely touch. A few things to point out the kitchen is advertised as spacious. It is not. If there was anyone sat at the table you literally couldn't get round the kitchen. As we unpacked our shopping we realised how tiny the fridge was (bearing in mind this cottage eledgedly accommodates 8) and wast not in the slightest bit adiquite for a 4 night stay.,as we had been told there was a communal freezer went went to ask if there was extra fridge facilities. I should point out before I go on we had 4 adults 4 children and an infant and these are the details we entered onto Hoseasons to which brimham rocks appeared. Anyway on remarking to the gentleman owner how little fridge space there was his reply was "we'll that's all there is and to be honest your pushing your luck with the amount of guest you have in there". Well sorry but take that up with Hoseasons not us! Really rude and no need in our opinion.

The living room was a decent enough size with 3 sofas, non of which were very good quality. The sofa bed had a plank of wood under the cushions to descise the sagging. However the toilet adjacent wasn't really practical and BEWARE of the towel rail as it is continuously on full blast and is so close to the toilet there were several incidents of burnt legs and no way to turn it off that we could see. The curtains in the living room were extremely mouldy. If you stay here and it's forecast good weather take you own fans as we didnt and has to go out and buy one the next day it was so hot inside.

They advertised not supplying towels so we brought our own equaling more luggage and when we got there, there was 2 towels per person provided??

The bedrooms although compact were fine but the bathroom shower screen could do with replacing or given a good clean.

The swimming pool facilities were excellent although small which meant we had to wait until the pool was empty of other guests to use it. It also closes up each night at 8pm which we didn't feel was late enough. However the games room was a big hit for us and wasn't closed quite as sharply. The communal hot tub was unfortunately A waste of time as it was situated around lots of bushes and shrubbery etc and the minute u liffed the cover and got in you were literally bombarded with flies.

The communal garden wasn't the best. 2 picnic branches were fine but the table and chair set was broken and rotten in places. The garden (other then the grass) was completely unkept. Nettles and weeds growing up everywhere u could see to waste height and higher. Not ideal when u have small children. The BBQ area was fine however unfortunately the field adjacent to said area was full of cows so as soon as they appeared at the wall so did those dreaded flys again (not the fauktmof the owners im sure) so sadly we had to go back in doors.

I really didnt find our stay value for money in the slightest so upon reading the welcoming pack and seeing the owners requesting u strip all beds and have all crockery clean and back in cupboards on departure I was left wondering what it was we were paying for.

Overall an average stay and a place we don't intend returning to which is unfortunate as we stay in the area every year and upon arrival thought it looked the perfect place to return. Sadly this was not the case.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsFionaHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in early June and had an absolutely fantastic time. The cottage (Maple) was spotlessly clean and so cosy that we did not want to leave. It was wonderful to be able to enjoy champagne (plastic flutes) in your own hot tub within the privacy of your own garden. The owners, David & Judith, were so very friendly and incredibly accommodating. The surrounding area is so beautiful and the walks are amazing. The wildlife is so varied and we saw and heard curlews, which is the first time either of us had ever seen these beautiful birds. We will certainly be back very soon. Thank you again David & Judith for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Ring the owners and describe your requirements and they will point you in the right direction as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We recently for a midweek break and enjoyed our stay at Brimham rocks cottages.

The hosts were good and the wine and chocolates were a very nice surprise on our arrival. The cottage itself was reasonably clean although a little cramped. It was supposed to sleep 8 but we only had 6 and still found it small. If we had taken it to capacity it would have been very squashed. Although the bed was comfortable it was not a full size double due to the room size and me and the wife who are not massive people found it a little squashed so be aware. I think the other double was ok though. There was a dehumidifier on landing so i assume they get a lot of damp and i noticed a lot of mould around the landing window which is not a good look.

Heating is controlled by them not your self and one morning didnt seem to come on at other times later it got too hot, I know there are valves on radiators to control this but would have preferred control of it all. Our cottage (Oak) had a dishwasher but our friends also in an 8 berth did not, not a problem for us as we didn't use it but may be for some

Freezer is in utility room and is communal (free), is alongside with a washing machine and dryer (pay) and washing and drying can only be done on certain days.

Pool and games room is in pretty good nick the pool is small but maintained well and there is also a communal hot tub.

Brimham rocks and the area itself are very nice, stump cross caverns is worth a visit and Pately bridge is very nice ( recommend the chippy station i think its called). There is also nice food at the crown and near the cottages at the pub at Felbeck.

All in all nice break would have give it 3.5 but it wont allow it, so it has to be a 3. The rooms are a little dated or it would have been a 4. Would go back to the area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in Oak cottage this weekend and had a fabulous time. Lovely, cosy, warm cottage with plenty of room for the 7 of us and very well equipped. Perfect base for exploring that part of the world with the added bonus of an on site swimming pool which was excellent for our children. The owners were very friendly and helpful and I'm confident we'll return at some point in the future. Note: book via their own website not hoseasons as it's a little bit cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had booked this cottage as a get away from it all R&R break. It certainly ticked that box! Cottage was clean and tidy. Bottle of wine and chocolates on arrival was a nice touch. We shown round where everything was which was nice. Nicely equipped although no ice box in the fridge (down side if you want ice cubes) but a freezer is available in the shared utility room.
It was very peaceful and the hot tub was a relaxing treat. The only thing which let it down a bit was the bathroom which was a bit tired and the shower not very efficient but apart from that small detail - everything was brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DottieOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 day break at brimham rocks cottages, with kids, dog and parents in tow. An ideal base for touring the dales with a fantastic view over to the rocks, these cottages are well equipped, comfortable and clean. The bedrooms and bathrooms were well decorated and the lounge area was just big enough to accommodate 4 adults, 2 teenagers and a dog.

The kids loved the swimming pool, games room and hot tub, making use of it each evening. We had snow whilst we were staying and its quite high on the moors, so id advise a 4x4 or be prepared to stay close to the cottages if you head up in similar weather. We walked to the rocks in the snow to check out the stunning views over Nidderdale. There is also an area set aside for dog walking next to the cottages. Great if you want to take your furry ones with you.

Well worth a visit, but I would suggest booking a cottage slightly larger than your needs if you like your space. Eg if there are 6 of you, try and book the cottages for 6 to 8.



  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smeehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands 50th birthday and had a lovely time. The day before we arrived we got a call asking if we want twin our kingsize beds and said it would be fine to arrive for around 2pm instead of the advertised 4pm, which was nice and gave us more of the weekend to enjoy. We stayed in Rowen cottage which is a disabled friendly cottage so all on one level with good facilities if you need them, very private forecourt with your own hot tub. Lots of places to visit, we went to Brimham Rocks, York, Harrogate, Knaresborough and still had time for a lovely meal and drink in the local pub and long soaks in the hot tub (even though it was snowing). Nice heated swimming pool and games room.
And the views are outstanding.
All in all we had a great 3 night stay and wouldn't hesitate recommending Brimham Rock Cottages to friends and family and we will be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikitadreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
5.3 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
769 reviews
15.7 mi away
Faweather Grange
Faweather Grange
#1 of 1 in Eldwick
442 reviews
3.7 mi away
Roslyn House
Roslyn House
#1 of 12 in Pateley Bridge
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
100 reviews
10.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimham Rocks Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimham Rocks Cottages

Address: High North Farm | Fellbeck, Harrogate HG3 5EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brimham Rocks Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimham Rocks Cottages Hotel Harrogate
Brimham Rocks Cottages Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing