We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Inn
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Although we only stayed overnight we were made most welcome by the owners, Tim and Pauline. Tim prepared us a fine meal in the restaurant and then entertained us in the bar afterwards with his knowledge of the music world! Our room with en-suite was comfortable, modern and clean and breakfast was freshly prepared with local ingredients. Will return again when passing this way and would recommend anyone to drop in either when passing through or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthDiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
59
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturton By Stow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at The New Inn whilst travelling to a classic jag show; what a little gem of a place! The owners Tim and Pauline were friendly and fun; the food excellent and the newly refurbished bar/ restaurant area is delightfull. The rooms are lovely, airy and clean. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A fantastic stay,warm friendly welcome from Tim and Pauline and the locals! Rosie the resident staffie was on fine form and I do not normaly take to dogs easily she however was loving and friendly! My hubby loved the real ales - Vallhalle gave him a sore head my spritzers were spot on and the food was delicious - I cannot give enough praise for the hygiene, the shower was wonderful clean towels daily - tea, coffee and biscuits changed every day! we wolu d go back again should we holiday in Yorkshire! Mark & Mikela - Lincoln

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikkiLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I needed somewhere to stay whilst doing an exhibition in Harrogate and chose the New Inn purely from the TripAdvisor recommendations.
This is a lovely little pub within 20 minutes of Harrogate and, whilst at a crossroads, there was little or no traffic noise.
It has a nice bar/restaurant with three real ales plus the other usual lagers and ciders. The wine list is quite wide with the majority available by the glass and the food was excellent. If I had one gripe, it was the steak knives - they will let you on an international flight with a New Inn steak knife! The ordinary version was sharper!
I had a single room with a nice wide bed (perhaps it was a small double room?) Clean, well stocked for tea/coffee and a nice en suite bathroom. Every evening the room had been tidied from the condition I had left it in and was in the same condition as when I first arrived. The TV only gets five channels, but that is probably a geographical problem.
All in all I would recommend the New Inn and will be going again. I hope that this review doesn't mean it is full on my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhaul-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

we stayed here for one night before travelling onto York. We arrived about 8.30pm as we got lost. Nice cosy room, with a huge power shower. tea and coffee and biscuits (fab)
It was nice to relax on the sofa's and get merry on wine.
Breakfast was lovely in the morning .
friendly owners, and lovely resident staffy bull dog.
would stay again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My partner and I stayed at The New Inn for two nights in June. Upon arrival, we were greeted and shown to our room which was spottless, homely and comfortable. Tim and Pauline King (the owners) were friendly and welcoming, as were the other members of staff. The morning breakfasts and the evening meals were absolutely superb, faultless. We would definitely like to return for another lovely get-away in the near future. - Pat Dezulian, Swansea.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdez01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

we didnt actually stay in the hotel, just popped in for food and whilst we was sat waiting for our food the barman was bringing out big plates of food, so we thought this looks promising. My food was nice but when my boyfriends food came we was EXTREMELY disappointed, he ordered a chicken curry and even his 5 year old niece would not have filled up on it. There must have been 2 table spoons of curry and not much more rice. It is a shame cos up until then it seemed a lovely place and my boyfriend and friends have classic cars and often go driving out for food and thought (before we got our food) that this one be one we would return to, however after our experience we wont and will not be recommending it to any of our friends and relatives. VERY DISAPPOINTED !!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shirbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,689 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
107 reviews
4.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Pateley Bridge Road, Harrogate HG3 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated on the doorstep of the Yorkshire Dales yet only a 10 minute drive from Harrogate, The New Inn offers the traveler comfortable fully refurbished 4 star accommodation, a restaurant serving delicious food and fine wines and a traditional bar with real ales and in winter a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Harrogate
The New Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing