We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harrogate Country B&B
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The sheet on the bed was stained, there were cobwebs everywhere, the shower hadn't been cleaned properly, the room wasn't cleaned during our stay, they could have at least emptied the bin, and checked to se if we needed clean towels. We were woken up at 2am, 4am, and 5am by people banging doors, and shouting to each other in the corridor. The bed was lumpy, and uncomfortable, and was on an incline. The breakfast was continental, we didn't discover this until we arrived, so we didn't bother having breakfast. All-in-all, a dreadful experience. We won't be back again - ever!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank PandM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

4 Stars is relative to the $s reflecting good value for money. Yes there's a 100 yards of potholed road in but you are only 5 minutes from downtown and the Black Swan pub was great for evening meal. Rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable. Michelle, our host, was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Quite adequate continental breakfast. Most unusual location, we got to watch a bunch of young people training with their horses for show jumping - right outside our room, looking through glass. Also WiFi in the room was fast and reliable and quite large TV to view, two things we could not say about a number of places costing 50% more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken_Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were going to two different exhibitions and B&B space was at a premium. We came across this establishment on the web and agree with the reviews already written.

Yes this is in the middle of nowhere but only a few minutes from a good pub and 4 miles from Harrogate.

Yes it is down a narrow lane with a muddy potholes on the drive into the farm. Just take it slowly.

Yes the accommodation is unremarkable and basic, but it was clean and adequate with TV, Wi-fi, and tea making facilities.

Yes breakfast was a continental semi DIY affair but you won't go without.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and the price was just right for what you get.

Just don't expect the Hilton and you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikemayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Are boss booked us in this place as we was working in harrogate center. Iv been working away for about 5 years and change jobs around every 5 weeks so I have stayed in my fair share of B&Bs and I place this 2nd worst Iv stayed in!!!! The rooms were really dated it was like stepping back in the 80s it felt dark and cold it had trunking running on the ceilings for the electrics and most of all it smelt funny, which mite of had something to do with the horse arena out side are room. We went down after 5 min of being there asking if we could have are money back saying we didn't want to upset anyone but it wasn't for us! But the woman wouldn't let us just leave an kept asking why? So we told her!! What didn't go down well as are boss later told us she had said we was swearing and saying we normally stay in 5* hotels! What was a lie! They also refused to pay us back for that nights stay, saying they would have to get the room fully cleaned as we'd been in there!! Alls I can say is, if you like horses and are using the riding school then maybe stay there but we checked out and got another hotel for an extra £5 a night what was 100x better...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
16  Thank Me1ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This motel is difficult to find down a pot holed lane. On arrival we were shown to our room which was cold and dark (we were told the heating would come on later) the beds were cheap and extremely uncomfortable, The bed linen was of poor quality and smelt of horses as did the brown towels. The ensuite was extremely basic. The following day the owner watched over us as we ate the bland continental breakfast. The best part of our stay at this Motel was when we put the key in the box and left!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TriciaS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly couldn't do enough for us. When we got stuck in the snow they came and helped . Brilliant stay at the farm. It is a working farm with an equestrian centre. Brilliant if you want a down to earth experience. We would go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you want a luxurious hotel conveniently placed for the town centre .. forget it. If on the other hand you want good value, clean en-suite accommodation with a friendly welcome at a cheap rate then don't hesitate to give it a try. as others have said do check directions closely before setting off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrtony7023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Harrogate
Travelodge Harrogate
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
186 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Yorkshire Hotel
The Yorkshire Hotel
#21 of 30 in Harrogate
1,863 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrogate Country B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrogate Country B&B

Address: Brackenthwaite Lane, Harrogate HG3 1PW, England (Formerly Harrogate Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: $62 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrogate Country B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harrogate Country B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrogate Country B&B Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing