We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B in nice quiet location and spacious single room”
Review of Ashwood House

Ashwood House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashwood House
Ranked #44 of 101 Harrogate B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in nice quiet location and spacious single room”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for the Yorkshire Show - the hosts were very flexible regarding breakfast time. The bedroom was furnished in a nice modern fashion, the dining room and hallway are more traditional but still fine. The street is a quiet cul de sac and my single room was probably the biggest U have stayed in and the ensure was huge! I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
42
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely house, lovely room, lovely staff, lovely stay in fact it was just lovely. Highly recommended and we will come again. No faults except one we didn't stay longer. CLEAN and friendly, nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. Location is excellent, being only 5 minutes walk from the town centre, and quite easy to find by car as well. Parking permits available from the hotel. On street parking. I had a bicycle with me as well as the car, and that is the source of my only complaint. there was really nowhere secure to leave the bike, other than in the car. So if you're a cyclist and you plan on arriving by bike or train, you might have an issue with storage.
The room was good value, especially as the single room I had paid for wasn't available so I was put into a double with 4 poster bed. Nice en-suite with good shower. Everything was spotless, but the use of fabric conditioner on sheets and towels could be reduced! I am allergic to some of these highly perfumed soaps and detergents/conditioners, so was expecting to break out in a rash at some point but it never happened.
Breakfast was also first class. Plenty of choice of starters and cereals/juices, followed by a well cooked and very hot breakfast. All served by Nita; I think she runs this place single handed as I never saw another staff member in 3 days! She is very friendly, chatty and helpful. Lovely place to visit and I hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Definetly happy to recommend Ashwood House. Very friendly and helpful, rooms were comfortable and had plenty of space, parking outside, good breakfast, easy walking distance of the town centre and the railway station.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lisa459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I took my husband for a Two night break to Harrogate for his birthday and we stayed at Ashowood House. Lovely warm welcome and friendly atmosphere. Lovely Clean room and bigger than i expected. Owners couldnt be anymore helpful with their recommendations of places to visit and see as this was our fisrt visit to Harrogate. The breafast was delicious and we would definitely recommend this lovely Little B&B to anyone as it is very good value for money and a 5 minute walk into the centre of Harrogate. We would certainly stay there again. Thank you for a lovely welcoming stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoviRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful B & B which I would highly recommend to anyone. We left a phone charger at the B & B and they phoned up and offered to send it to us. Just brilliant

Chatty staff and a great place. As we have family in Harrogate we will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markcambridge82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

just spent a fantastic weekend at ashwood house.......superb friendly welcome on arrival with help to carry cases up to room.We were very impressed by the room we were allocated(room 3) amazingly large comfortable bed and very well presented with tea/coffee facilities/hairdryer/tv and en suite bathroom.Breakfast was exceptional with choice of cereals/fruit juices and main breakfast(the full english, which is freshly cooked,is to die for),,,,,,,Anita is an absolute star.very chatty and friendly as well as very informative about the local area and the parking permit system.The b&b itself is on a nice quite side road but just a 5 minute walk from all harrogate has to offer. BUT WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS B&B TO ANYONE ELSE?????????? I really would like to keep to keep this our secret but this gem is to good to keep quiet about, we would recommend ashwood house to anybody visiting Harrogate,either for pleasure or business

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_kenny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.0 mi away
Springdale Guest House
Springdale Guest House
#42 of 101 in Harrogate
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Lodge Guest House
Spring Lodge Guest House
#61 of 101 in Harrogate
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brookfield House Hotel
Brookfield House Hotel
#31 of 101 in Harrogate
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 101 in Harrogate
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove Guest House
Ash Grove Guest House
#37 of 101 in Harrogate
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray House
Murray House
#32 of 101 in Harrogate
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood House

Property: Ashwood House
Address: 7 Spring Grove, Harrogate HG1 2HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashwood House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing