We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Lovely Breakfast.. couldn't fault a thing.”
Review of Church Gate Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Gate Farm
Ranked #42 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here in the King room for just 1 night, but was very impressed. The welcome was warm, and the owner was friendly. The room is very spacious, with lots of room to relax. This room has the en-suite which was decorated in the same elegant décor as the bedroom. The tea and coffee facilities have so many options, there are DVD's to watch, and just about any amenity you may need.

I couldn't fault a thing, breakfast was served right on time, delicious and piping hot. Just the thing on a cold wet Thursday morning. Will be staying again when I next visit Harrogate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mum22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

A delightful home to spend a few nights while visiting this marvellous county. Guests are received by an extremely friendly hostess who takes a great deal of trouble to see that everything is perfect for them. The king size bedroom, in which we stayed was huge, comfortable and had everything we needed (and a good deal else). The house is spotless and beautifully decorated. Breakfast is served with great elegance and is more than ample! The house is set in open farm land well away from other buildings and has spectacular views. Despite its age it is very warm and everything works - large bath, excellent shower and carpets everywhere. An example of just how a really good B&B should be!

Room Tip: The king size bedroom is en suite; there is another double which has its own bathroom a few paces do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is our sixth year running to church gate farm, and each time Lyndsey has made us feel welcomed and relaxed. From the moment we arrived you are greeted with a friendly face, fresh ground coffee and home made cakes, which are amazing.You wake up to a delicious full Yorkshire breakfast, Lyndsey style, which sets to up for the day. The king size room is something you dream off, with lots of finishing touches that makes you feel pampered.
We aim to return again next year.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fantastic you won t be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a gem of a place to stay, you feel very pampered here! From top quality chocolates in the room and the Molton Brown bath products to top quality bed linen and the softest towels, this place is stunning! The location is peaceful and very quiet and the breakfasts are amazing. There is no guest lounge but when your room is as large and as full of goodies as this place it doesn't matter! Oh and not forgetting the mini bar, bottles of beer are just £1 and mini bottles of wine are £2, you'll struggle to get those prices in a supermarket!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank dizzystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Situated in beautiful countryside Church Gate Farm is an absolute gem. Lyndsey made us extremely welcome in her beautiful home. The room was spotless with lots of finishing touches including a mini rose bowl of freshly cut white roses, (well it is Yorkshire after all !) There was an unlimited choice of in room refreshments, lovely comfortable bed linen and soft white towels. The breakfast was superb. A really lovely place to stay in every respect. Thank you and hope to visit again.
Penny & Barry

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I were recommended this B&B and the recommendation was spot on! This just couldn't be better. The house is set in the middle of beautiful rolling countryside and is a pleasure to drive to. The owner couldn't be more welcoming, with tea and lovely biscuits on arrival, good advice on where to go, fabulous breakfast, and great facilities. The house itself and our room are very elegant, absoutely 5 star. There was a big selection of drinks and biscuits in the room, and even a free glass of port!!! The bathroom was beautifully fitted, with a good shower, the toiletries were best quality and everything was provided, including bathrobes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovetotravel1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Church Gate Farmhouse has the luxury of a five star hotel with the atmosphere of a family home.
This elegantly furnished farmhouse is in a beautiful countryside location, just 5 minutes drive from the village of Darley.
Everything is provided to make a relaxing visit.
Delicious breakfasts will last you all day!
Spent a week here in the king size room, and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
7.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
323 reviews
9.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,764 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,080 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Gate Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Gate Farm

Address: Church Gate Farm Low Lane | Thornthwaite, Harrogate HG3 2QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Gate Farm is a rambling 18th Century farmhouse set in glorious countryside in the heart of Nidderdale. A special place with a warm and welcoming ambience which will make you want to return time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Gate Farm Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing