We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le D2

Le D2
Reserve with OpenTable
Le D2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 433 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

First time in Harrogate looked on Trip Advisor at Restaurants and spotted this one and we were NOT disappointed. Warm welcome attentive and yet not overpowering staff who were keen to oblige. Food was superb, their signature dish "Cote de Boeuf" so infrequently found on English menus was fantastic a cut that needs expert cooking, recommend it wholeheartedly. Everything was spot on from the "Amuse-bouche" to the Cafetiere of coffee, well done. We also thought it was extremely good value. The Bistro was very well appointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonAppetitUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    63
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average food, average service and a draft”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went there pre-theatre and was not overly impressed.
We sat in the "shop front" and there was a draft which made it somewhat uncomfortable, in hindsight we should have asked to be moved. Not sure if it gets the sun in the summer, but if it does then it may be a bit on the hot side.
The waiter was quite pleasant but was not fully conversant with the items on the menu, as he was new. My squid starter was difficult to see being so small. The main was OK, but not memorable.
Perhaps because we were early there was little or no atmosphere, so take the score with a "pinch of salt".

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indimenticabile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked for the earlybird but the menu seems to be exactly the same as the regular menu. The restaurant was a little quiet and lacking in atmosphere - a penalty of chosing the earlybird - but as the evening wore on it filled up and the atmosphere was fine.
The food was superb, the service could not have been better and we thought that it was really good value for money. We will certainly return next time we are in Harrogate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I managed to get a table on a Saturday evening. I had the three course and my partner had the a la carte. Both good priced and wine too. Would return/recommend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A-mazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Staying in Harrogate for the weekend so we looked on here for restaurants and found this gem! Had a really lovely night, amazing food, fantastic ambiance and brilliant service, we couldn't fault it! 100% recommend it

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocket20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le D2 also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Le D2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing