We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must tray it. Fabuloooolous !!”
Review of Le D2

Le D2
Reserve with OpenTable
Le D2 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“You must tray it. Fabuloooolous !!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have visited this establishment many times and it is just fabulous. Very quirky nothing matches but it works !! Dominique and Geoff front of house are amazing not in your face but very professional guys who know the art of customer service. The food is just perfect a feast for everyone beautiful fish dishes and fab steaks. The rack of lamb is personally recommended !! Overall a top class restaurant and very good value both for food and wine etc. Give it a try you wont be disappointed and if you are !!! Stay in ????
Enjoy !
Ps Not to forget the the chef with c/o Owner Dominique DAVID never met him but he is the 'Man ' who makes all the food so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    67
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic overall”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were recommended Le D2 by our b&b and were not disappointed. Service was excellent from arrival. Very quiet to begin with but it soon filled up for a Tuesday evening giving a lovely atmosphere. We chose from the early bird menu at only £12.95 per head. I had a 12 hour cooked rabbit risotto followed by breem with a mussel velouté. Both delicious and perfectly cooked. My husbands mustard and whiskey salmon and slow cooked lamb were great too. All in all well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ate here with friends and had the most superb meal. The choice of food is wide ranging and everything we had was superbly cooked and very tasty. The service is superb friendly and efficient. Would definitley recommend this place to others it is of an exceptionally high standard and the prices for the quality of the food are i think good value

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Quiet venue for a good quality, good value meal”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went here on advice from our landlady. Good recommendation. Four of us stepped out of a rain sodden Harrogate into this warm welcoming restaurant. House wine, a French Rose, was reasonably priced and very good. Service was attentive as we chose from a mix of the a la carte and the blackboard "specials". The starters were good except for the pigeon breast which was overcooked and thus flavourless: however, when this was pointed out, despite having eaten the rest of the salad and being happy to pay, the item was removed from our bill. The Le D2 Fish Pie was excellent as was my pork chop on a creamy bed of cabbage and we all felt too full for pud. In sum, nice little unpretentious restaurant with marked French flavour; good service and good food at a fair price - you cant ask for more. I would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Harrogate”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've tried several restaurants in Harrogate and this is the best. Not only does it serve excellent food, but it is also very reasonably priced - a superb meal for 2 including wine for about £70 - not much more than you'd pay in a pizza chain. The restaurant is quite small and intimate, but the service is relaxed and friendly and Dominique (the co-owner) and Geoffrey are always happy to offer variations to their menu to accommodate people's individual needs/preferences. But what's most important is what goes on in the kitchen and here Le D2 doesn't disappoint. The food is always superbly cooked and presented - try the medallions of beef for example - absolutely scrumptious.
Le D2 is now our restaurant of choice every time we visit Harrogate - in fact it's our favourite restaurant anywhere, so it's a pity that we don't visit Harrogate more regularly!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ourkid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le D2 also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Le D2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing