We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Scotia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scotia House
Ranked #25 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited as 2 couples and we had the Kings suite that occupies the full frontage of the property. Owners have refurbished the property to impeccable standards and maintain it in pristine condition. They make you most welcome and offer advice about the area freely. Parking is no issue given a daily permit for on street parking. Great location will all the sites just a short walk away. Would thoroughly recommend and visit again if stopping in Harrogate. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHousl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Scotia House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 188 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

After terrible accomodation last year at travelodge booked this Great bed and breakfast perfection in every way recommend it to anyone. Very handy for the Harrogate international centre and extremely peaceful at night

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSR874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in single room. Very welcoming. Lovely modern, spotless bedroom and bathroom, soft towels, robe, good selection of tea/coffee/biscuits etc. Excellent breakfast. Free parking. Can't fault it. Very handy for Harrogate which is lovely, Conference Centre (opposite), train (few minutes walk) or for exploring the area by car. Book it you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We thought this B&B was excellent. Comfy, spotlessly clean room, a first class breakfast cooked to order and good service throughout. The owners were welcoming and very helpful.
We were on the top floor on the road side and on a Friday night it can be a bit noisy - rooms at the back are quieter.
Parking is off street with a disk permit but no problem.
It is located close to the shops (including the world famous Bettys), restaurants and lovely parks.
Certainly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this little B&B and thought it was superb. Very close to town and other attractions. Room was comfy, breakfast and service good. Parking is off street, but very easy with a permit each day. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjp1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked here to attend a conference over the road at Conference Centre. Very clean, immaculate surroundings. Good choice of breakfast foods - beautifully cooked to order. Room spotless, rather small and unfortunately bed had end board which made it uncomfortable for my tall husband. Owners very welcoming. Could not get wi-Fi on my ipad to work. Very convenient to walk into town & many excellent restaurants/shops. Parking permit system great - car parked safely in neighbouring street - didn't have to move for 3 days.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank stewpot444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked because of its situation close to the HIC, this was an excellent choice for a single person for 1 night. When I arrived I was greeted warmly and given a 24hour parking card for the neighbouring street. This worked very well, as I found a space immediately. (Parking at the HIC is very expensive). My room was very small but comfortable and filled with thoughtful touches - the bathrobe was a surprise. Another review comments on noisy bathrooms. I didn't hear other bathrooms, but the fan which came on whenever the light was switched on in my bathroom did continue for some time. The breakfast menu was extensive and the freshly cooked full English was excellent. I would certainly use the hotel again if I was attending a conference or other function in Harrogate.

Room Tip: My room was at the front facing the HIC. I did hear people passing by but not enough to be a nuisanc...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.0 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#11 of 98 in Harrogate
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#7 of 98 in Harrogate
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#5 of 98 in Harrogate
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia House

Address: 66 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $89 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm & welcoming guest house located directly opposite the Conference Centre and within walking distance to the town centre, restaurants and bars. Whether visiting Harrogate for business or pleasure we aim to ensure your stay is an enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Scotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing