We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and Breakfast in Great location”
Review of Scotia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotia House
Ranked #26 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
N.E. England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great bed and Breakfast in Great location”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night 14th December while celebrating my wifes 50th Birthday. The rooms are immaculate with convenient free parking just around the corner. Friendly reception by the owners who also recommended a local Italian Restaurant which was excellent. We have stayed in a number of B & B's in Harrogate but this is by far the best. Lovely breakfast. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldives-refugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    26
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
91
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here as we was attending a fair at the Harrogate International Centre. The bed and breakfast could not have been more conveniently situated and parking facilities were close by. We had booked the King Suite which was a lovely room that faced the main road. The room and infact the whole of the place was immaculate and clean & furnished to a high standard. The room was nicer than most hotel rooms and had lots of extra touches. It had a small ensuite with a shower (not the hottest shower in the world but adequate). The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Our hostess Marie was very accommodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and she had some lovely suggestions on places to go etc. We went to a small italian restaurant for dinner which she had recommended and it was really nice. Breakfast was superb - there was a wide selection and choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, jams, cold meats, fresh bread/coissants and choice of full english, continental or smoked salmon breakfast (this had to be ordered the night before). We will definately be returning on our next visit to Harrogate, would recommend it above any of the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

First time in Harrogate. Friendly informative helpful owner. Room spotless , attention to detail wonderful, if you appreciate someone taking the time to design and maintain a super boutique B&B this is the place for you. Fresh ingrediants for healthy breakfast and cooked to order with generous portions. Marmalade, jams etc.in dishes not pre-packed location great for railway bus town centre and shopping. large choice of restaurants within a short walk. I had a single room at the front number 5 it was ideal for my one night stay yes compact but not cramped and with an open window at night there was occasional traffic noise , Closed it was completely quiet.It is obvious that owner Marie attends to every detail and cares very much that you enjoy being there.
there are larger rooms one of which is like a small bedroom flat. reflected in the price which for a single in my case was inexpensive. my room was on second floor so stairs exist.
I would reccommend this place to anyone wanting a central small friendly economic B&B if you are ok with stairs.

Room Tip: book direct and talk to the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweynY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just came back from a 1 night stay in Harrogate.This house is very clean and cosy room we stayed in was number 1 which is at the back of the house very quiet and large.Bed was very comfy and the whole place is spotlessly clean .Breakfast had a wide choice and the host was very friendly telling me the best places to eat at and gave me a map to find our way around.Overall a very nice place to stay at and would go again if ever visiting Harrogate

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our very lovely room which was immaculately clean, modern and comfortable. Little touches like the chocolate, crisps and biscuits with complementary refreshments of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water were great. The breakfast was delicious and cooked to order, and you could help yourself to fruit, cereal croissants etc. It was very convenient to walk in to the town centre and I would stay here again. The only let down was the very squeaky bed in the room above which did get quite noisy, but obviously with different guests this probably wouldn't be an issue!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dairymilkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

scotia house is avery good location for avisit to harrogate a5 minute walk in to town centre what can you say about marie that hasnt already been said bright and bubbly agreat host accomodation and breakfast 1st class all the way

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisharwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

our second visit to scotia house. marie is just the most perfect hostess. room perfect, all the little touches that make all the difference. The breakfasts were as good as you would get in any 5star hotel. would not stay anywhere else. wonderful, thank you marie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 100 in Harrogate
554 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#6 of 100 in Harrogate
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#21 of 100 in Harrogate
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 100 in Harrogate
281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conference View Guest House
Conference View Guest House
#66 of 100 in Harrogate
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ash Grove Guest House
Ash Grove Guest House
#37 of 100 in Harrogate
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia House

Property: Scotia House
Address: 66 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm & welcoming guest house located directly opposite the Conference Centre and within walking distance to the town centre, restaurants and bars. Whether visiting Harrogate for business or pleasure we aim to ensure your stay is an enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Scotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing