We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel lovely hosts!”
Review of Scotia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scotia House
Ranked #25 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with another couple as we were celebrating our birthdays, The hotel was beautiful, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The lady that owns the hotel was lovely and gave us great information on where all the best places were to go. The hotel is just minutes from the centre perfect for all the restaurants, bars, parks etc.

I would highly recommend this hotel as it is in a great location it is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was divine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collie0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Scotia House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Scotia House was fantastic, the owner and her daughter were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. the hotel is extremely clean and beautifully furnished and so comfortable. breakfast was amazing plenty of choice and tea and coffee served as many times as you like. location was great only few minutes walk to shops, bars and restaurants.free parking permit issued on arrival which is a big plus. would stay here again we all enjoyed it.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadz1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My sister and I have just returned home after two marvellous days in Harrogate. We chose Scotia House based on previous reviews and we are so glad we did. Our room was immaculate, the food superb, the noise levels minimum and we were treated with warmth and good humour. We can highly recommend this B & B and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyL58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Have just stayed for 3 nights. Agree totally with previous reviewer. Some of the best breakfasts we have had anywhere. The stairs are very difficult if, like me, you have problems with arthritic knees particularly if on the top floor. The bathroom extractor fans can be noisy ifr some guests come in late.

Room Tip: Room No 1 looked the best bet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A lovely B+B located conveniently for all ameneties. the owners are friendly, helpful and breakfast is well above average providing plenty of choice. I would stay here again but book directly as it's seeminglycheaper.We had a really pleasant and scrupulously clean room although it was small. Lots of stairs too but overall, excellent all around

Room Tip: Back rooms quieter as off the main road
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlynda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have just enjoyed a three night stay whilst exhibiting at a conference. Brilliantly located for the conference centre, events at the Majestic Hotel and easy walking distance into Harrogate. Although there is no car parking, on street parking is fairly plentful and conveniently close by. The welcome, service and hospitality couldn't have been better. My room (1) was large, recently refurbished and gave me a quiet and comfortable night's sleep after long days at the conference. The whole place is spotless and I will definitely stay again when in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisebielby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed one night in King's Suite in Scotia House with my mum. Location is perfect - opposite the conference centre and only a 5/10 minute walk from town. Rooms were large, comfortable and clean. Staff pleasant and friendly but not overbearing. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of fresh fruit and cereal and a superb cooked breakfast. All in all, great value for money and a lot better than some of the bigger hotels in Harrogate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HECSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#10 of 98 in Harrogate
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 98 in Harrogate
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#7 of 98 in Harrogate
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#5 of 98 in Harrogate
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotia House

Address: 66 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $89 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotia House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm & welcoming guest house located directly opposite the Conference Centre and within walking distance to the town centre, restaurants and bars. Whether visiting Harrogate for business or pleasure we aim to ensure your stay is an enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Scotia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotia House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing