We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value set meal in the county if not country”

The Fox at Folksworth
Ranked #20 of 436 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $66
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern British restaurant offering fine dining food.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best value set meal in the county if not country”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Clarkes produce beautifully presented, delicious food of a high standard. The service is friendly though lacks a little polish. The fact that you can currently eat their lunch menu for the bargain price of 2 courses for £15 or 3 for £20 has to make it one of the best meals you can get anywhere for this money. Attractive surroundings in an interesting building. I recommend you get here quick before that price goes up. Let's hope that Peterborough can hold on to this really welcome first of its kind in the town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helenelizabeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    112
    60
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Please try this understated yet classy restaurant. It is such a surprise and one of a kind in the city. The food was of a very high standard and superb quality. Great presentation and excellent combinations.The service was very professional. Overall, a real treat to find somewhere that has got it just right.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“THE PERFECT Sunday Lunch!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Having heard excellent reviews from friends and family regarding the Sunday lunch menu at Clarke's, we decided to visit the restaurant to sample their menu.. From an extensive choice I chose the starter: Fish cakes, pea puree and fresh tartar sauce followed by the Traditional roasted beef for main, finished off with the Sticky toffee pudding coupled with double vanilla ice cream. The food was excellently prepared and the main course of traditional roasted beef was perfectly cooked to my preference, The staff were very attentive as usual and provided a delightful experience for my family and I. I shall be visiting again and hope to enjoy the great food and atmosphere that Clarke's continues to provide time and time again, along with the simply excellent value for money the restaurant provides to it's patrons.

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever eaten.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The food is just amazing - well presented, perfectly cooked and seasoned, fresh and seasonal and some innovative flavours. And in Peterborough as well, which is a culinary desert. We will definitely be back.
The service was spot on as well - attentive enough but not at all intrusive.
Only draw back was the atmosphere, we were there on a Thursday lunch time and there was only one other table filled.
And the best bit was the bill - really good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maybe the best in town”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a place where you could wear your black tie or cocktail dress for an evening without being ridiculous! Everything from your entry in the restaurant until your leaving is in good hands. Everyone is really professional and relaxed. It is so nice to have a standard like this in our town! The food, the presentation are brilliant. The menu is divine. The lunch menu is obviously different from an evening dinner but is still brilliant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox at Folksworth also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Elton, Peterborough
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Fox at Folksworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing