We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding location”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing weekend in an outstanding location, the buildings are breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel restaurant menu was exceptional at a reasonable price for the quality. The staff in the restaurant made the experience special, so courteous and friendly. Breakfast was self service, and a set price for as much as you wanted. Lovely selection, but chaotic with people up and down constantly. The spa/sauna facilities were adequate at quiet times for hotel visitors, but towels and gowns were draped over all the loungers poolside which prevented us from spending much time there. Sadly members were complaining that too many hotel visitors, slightly spoilt the enjoyment of the facilities for us. We loved going in the Ramblewood pub for a pint, lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed a meal in the pub restaurant, good quality food at a reasonable price. Shame the hotel staff were inattentive and disinterested. I would have loved to have given this amazing hotel a 5 star rating but we found the staff in general (other than the restaurant) efficient but disinterested. On every occasion staff passed us and never acknowledged us. We would love to return one day to this special hotel but hoping that the hospitality is improved before we return.

Room Tip: Stairs on upper floors steep and twist. No lifts at all so inaccessible if mobility a problem. Stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    239
    125
    39
    35
See reviews for
141
284
25
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

my family had been there only once, but always always want to go back....great Hotel, cool swimming pool, nice staffs, the Spa was fully booked - maybe next time. we will go back this year or the next..

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hutulong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel, particularly rooms in the older part of the buildings. Breakfast is good but otherwise it is badly let down by the quality of the environment and the food in their Ramblewood Pub, which should be a good place for a decent but basic evening meal. If they could only sort that out, the hotel would be by far and away the best in Peterborough - oh and a cycle machine in the gym would be good too!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I recently booked 2 triple rooms at Orton Hall so that I could celebrate my son-in-law's 40th birthday with the family. We have stayed at Orton Hall before and were not disappointed at our return visit. A lovely setting to enjoy a relaxed family weekend. The ages ranged from 6 to 66 and everyone had a great time.

The grandchildren enjoyed the swimming pool and the meal in the Ramblewood Inn. Breakfast in the Huntly Restaurant was a treat for us all.

Easy parking and friendly, helpful staff - to be recommended.

Room Tip: The triple rooms were very spacious and the beds were large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crepello012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel on a special deal and were not disappointed. It is a beautiful and unique place. We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night and thought the meal was not only superb, but very reasonable for what we had.

The grounds were terrific and the complimentary spa (for guests) was an added bonus.

When we checked out we made a point of saying that we would definitely come again as we like little weekend breaks like this. Excellent value for money!

One little thing - the hotel is linked to a pub next door and we felt that the staff were a tad inexperienced. Also, only one person serving on the bar on a Sunday lunchtime led to some frustratingly long waits. If this was sorted, 5 stars would be no problem!

But it was still a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

came back to this hotel on our wedding anniversary 25th july 2013
food was lovely, room was great and clean and jacuzzi and pool was relaxing

went to burghley house which is a nice place to visit and very interesting

weill be back here again in the future

reccommended hotel and clean and staff nice aswell

barry and jackie townsend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Where to start....on arrival at lunch time we had a very pleasant lunch in the ramble wood pub/restaurant with very good and friendly service. A leisurely amble round the small grounds and beautiful attached church/graveyard, lovely in the sun. The spa was a delight, clean, spacious and comfortable and again the staff were very friendly and efficient. Mud serail treatment was bit of fun but probably wouldn't have it again. Hot stone massage was fab. Pool ideal in size and temperature, nice powerful jacuzzi and steam room was modern and spacious. Poolside beds soo comfy. Dinner was in the Huntley and absolutely 5 star +. Again waiting staff excellent as well as reception and bars. Room was nice and clean, big comfy bed and lovely view tho bit dated and no mod cons. Would certainly return on a deal again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2.0 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#12 of 27 in Peterborough
790 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#9 of 27 in Peterborough
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
Holiday Inn Express Peterborough
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
409 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: The Village | Orton Longueville, Peterborough PE2 7DN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Orton Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Peterborough
Peterborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing