We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, good for a wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, good for a wedding venue”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently stayed for one night, the night of the wedding of a friend's daughter. The wedding went off well, good service, food good for a mass catered event and a nice ambience in the older part of the hotel. Our room was a good size, looking over a courtyard area. Breakfast was as you would expect from a chain hotel, buffet style with some elements being in the serving dishes too long. I don't like the idea of paying a premium for non standard (e.g. cappuccino) coffee, over and above the price of breakfast.
I can sympathise with guests who want a quiet time and find there is a wedding party in the hotel. the venue is not really large enough to separate the two elements.
I would say that prices in the hotel bar are high, especially in comparison with the more informal bar attached to the hotel, and the selection of beer is better in the Tanglewood Inn!!
The female members of the party who used the spa were full of praise for it.
Service in the bar was a bit erratic and slow at times, otherwise good levels of service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wren104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    229
    118
    38
    34
See reviews for
133
268
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First room we were put in was tiny. Wouldnt recommend anyone staying if there is a function on as the majority of the hotel were out of bounds and we were spoken to abruplty when asked to move from the area which apparently part of the function which is not closed off or even told we couldnt go in that area. Partof the outside is also part of the function and yet again asked to move on the second night from the outside area and not very pleasant!! I would advise if you are staying find out if there are any functions on, also men running round without tops on in the evening time who were from the function. On a plus very helpful reception staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELJ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here on business. The rooms are clean and spacious. They are also well equipped with everything you would expect tea/ coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, trouser press, hairdryer and toiletries. There is also Internet connection. Breakfast was top quality. There was an excellent selection ranging from full English to continental breakfast, all of which was good quality.
Next door to the hotel is an excellent pub, my colleague and I had a lovely meal and drinks in the beer garden, enjoying the evening sunshine. Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing weekend away and would consider returning on leisure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moredela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irchester
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned from our son's wedding which was yesterday at Orton Hall. The venue was outstandingly beautiful, both inside and out. The administration and hosting was perfect from start to finish. Staff were all exceptionally efficient and friendly. The orangery, where the ceremony was held was idyllic, decked out beautifully with lovely, pristine white chair covers with gold bows, complementing the decor perfectly. The registrars who hosted the actual wedding ceremony were friendly and professional and made the exchanging of vows so special and personal. The grounds provided an amazing backdrop for photos and confetti was allowed! The meal at the reception was fitting of a high end restaurant, beautifully presented, cooked to perfection and served very efficiently. In the evening,the room was efficiently turned from a lovely dining room into a disco area complete with a good sized dance floor, still with enough room for tables and seating. The bar staff were friendly and the service there, even when it was at it's busiest was good. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with good en suite facilities. It was a nice touch to have a fan in the room during this hot spell. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. The spa area was clean and luxurious, with a lovely pool, steam room and sauna, as well as a Jacuzzi and small shallow, kiddies pool. A lovely way to relax and enjoy the end of a fantastic weekend. We would highly recommend Orton Hall to anyone looking for fantastic wedding venue and thank everyone concerned in making this special day utterly perfect.

Room Tip: The ones we saw were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Orton Hall Hotel is one of those great country house residences where you can opt out of the hustle and bustle of life and pamper yourself for a few days in a splendid pool, a luxurious spa, a King size bed and the very best in culinary cuisine.

Of course, not all of us can afford either the time or money involved. But this place has a nice little trick up its sleeve in which all can indulge. The old stables have been turned into a very fine inn called the Ramblewood where they serve award-winning real ales and a food menu that offers a variety of really good hot and cold meals at very affordable prices. What's more on a gloriously sunny day, you can sit outside in the splendid grounds to enjoy all that's on offer.

It's a pity they don't offer cycle hire too - for Orton Longueville, the idyllic village in which the hotel is situated - is just a couple of minutes away from a wonderful tarmacked cycle network which meanders through Orton Mere and Ferry Meadows with its lakes, nature reserves. bluebell woods and past one of England's finest preservation steam railways, the Nene Valley which runs from Wansford to Peterborough.

For good food, refreshment, service and old fashioned splendour, you'll go a long way to beat what's on offer at The Orton Hall Hotel and its adjoining Ramblewood Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill St Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went here on sat afternoon with my mother-in law. Lovely pool, jacuzzi and steam rooms. There are herbal teas and water which you can help yourself to. Felt very relaxed on the lovely ratten sun loungers they had scattered around the pool. Bath robes and towels are supplied. The most enjoyable part of our treat was a dual treatment room. We both opted for a rainfall massage in which you have a choice of oils for your massage. I had Jessica who was fab, she totally took all the knots out of my back and I could have literally fallen asleep after. My mother in law was also pleased with her massage, not sure of the girls name who did hers. I will definitely be returning can't wait....thanks again Imagine Spa for a wonderful afternoon. Thanks Jessica :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spud1stclassonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I were lucky enough to be invited to a wedding reception at Orton Hall in May. We also stayed there overnight. From start to finish, the service was excellent. Unobtrusive, yet highly professional. The reception itself was a model of how these events should be arranged. The food was excellent and the whole experience remains one of happy memories.
The bedroom was large, comfortable and above all, spotless.
Breakfast followed the same pattern. As much choice as you could wish for and, again, excellent, cheerful service. We could certainly recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PG-Casterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#9 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#2 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: The Village | Orton Longueville, Peterborough PE2 7DN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Orton Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Peterborough
Peterborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing