We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding!”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had our wedding at this hotel, the staff, food everything was absolutly brilliant! Our honeymoon suite was nice and clean but very dated.
However, many of our guests rooms had been reburshished in past few weeks and they loved their rooms! The whole hotel is gradually being decorated etc, altho you do not notice the works going on.
Good buffet breakfast included, good value for money. Highly recommeneded wedding venue!
However, the following morning our guests did find the swimming pool and spa to be closed which was a little dissapointing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just1me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    229
    118
    38
    34
See reviews for
133
268
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night in May in an Executive Double room. Was a nice sized room with a view of the garden. No complaints at all about the room and its facilities; plenty of tea, coffee, shower gels etc and TV had a decent selection of channels.
The hotel grounds & original building were beautiful and there was a lot that could be explored.
The hotel facilities were good - indoor pool area was clean and quiet and the breakfast room OK. I'd recommend eating breakfast in the conservatory area though if possible - less crowded and light & pretty. Top Tip - the toasters there were SLOW so get that first, or the rest of your breakfast will go cold!!
The only downside was that a wedding was taking place there, leaving the bar area a bit of a no-go for other guests during the evening. Some party guests also came and went from their rooms loudly very late at night! If you're a sound sleeper, you probably wouldn't notice & I wouldn't let this put you off a stay here.
There's a bar attached and it's only a 5-10 minute drive to the centre of Peterborough, so a good hotel overall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JossWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This is a very mixed experience.
Check-in staff are surly and irritated to be bothered by your arrival: restaurant staff are excellent.
Rooms are nicely furnished and clean: main areas are shabby and grubby.
Probelms are dealt with slowly and ineffectively
It is, overall, an average hotel which will disappoint people who think they are paying more than average in order to have a high quality experience.

Room Tip: Check wi-fi connectivity in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benedickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We have stayed at a lot of hotels and b&bs around the UK over the last few years and were just bowled over by this place. I struggled to find somewhere in cambridgeshire that wasn't either someones home with a few spare rooms that was saying it was a B&B or a hotel that was samey and overpriced. I stumbled across Orton Hall only because I started to look as further afield as Peterborough, and I'm so pleased we decided to book.
The hotel is obviously an old house and has rather grand, slightly rough around the edges, charming period furniture. If you prefer the DFS catalogue look, you won't like it. Dinner was a real occasion and having the inn on the doorstep meant you could have an informal drink before. Our room was huge (may have been the bridal suite as we then saw it on some of the brochures!) and overlooked the beautiful grounds. Breakfast was lovely even if portions were on the small side, and all of the staff we met got the perfect balance of friendly and unobtrusive which is lacking in a lot of British hotels.
I'd never stayed at a best western before as I don't like the idea of chain hotels, but this one has completely changed my mind. I even took a wedding brochure away with me!
To sum up, most of the poor reviews on here are from business travellers who perhaps expect a lot more and if you, like me, want something with character without pretension, this is just the ticket.

Room Tip: We paid for a superior room - worth the extra £20
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank span474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We have just returned from a small family and friends reunion to The Orton Hall and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. There were 12 of us in our group, all arriving on Friday afternoon and staying until Sunday. The hotel was very quiet on the friday with plenty of lounges and a very sunny bright victorian conservatory for us to sit in and enjoy. We had dinner in the main dining room on Friday which was delicious. All of the bedrooms we had were of a good quality, clean and comfortable, ours was particuarly nice, although it would be fair to say there were differences between the quality fo the rooms amongst our group. Breakfast was very good, hot, and good quality. The staff were very helpful and always happy to stop and chat and gave us some ideas for where to go walking and what to visit in the area. The hotel is in large grounds which were also nice to explore, although its best feature is probably the swimming pool area. A very large pool for a hotel, with a sauna, jacuzzi and other things to enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My colleagues and I stayed at Orton Hall for nearly a week, we have been on a tour of the UK staying in 26 hotels; out of those 26 Orton Hall has provided us with excellent service and beautiful surroundings. The staff are very helpful especially as we dont know the area. The rooms are very plush and we agreed we would return next year on our UK tour

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becksqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Whilst accepting the other comments of slightly outdated decor, its surroundings were so lovely that we ignored this fact and decided to stay at the hotel when we arrived, We thought that the staff were efficient and helpful, if not overly friendly, and were impressed by the warmth and comfort of the pool despite the steam room not working during our stay. Dinner was good, and so was breakfast, and at first glance, our room was very comfortable and spacious. It was only at 04::00 that we discovered there were drawbacks to its location in the new block. Rowdy Scots next door neighbours with an addition to smoking arrived back their room tanked up on alcohol, and proceeded to go in and out to the exterior through the variety of doors, to light up and to chat. Every door closure, every movement, every (foul languaged) word was relayed to us in our own room, as if they were right there with us sitting on the bed. Whilst we don't blame the hotel for the nature of its residents, they do have a duty of care to ensure their guests have a night's sleep, if that is they want, and are not kept up through poor attention to acoustics, by those who don't want to sleep. Bleary eyed we made our way to the Duty Manager the following morning, who obligingly listened to what we had to say and considerately knocked £25 off our bill. That didn't actually make much difference to the fact that ultimately, we would not stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
2.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
Holiday Inn Peterborough West
#10 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#9 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#4 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: The Village | Orton Longueville, Peterborough PE2 7DN, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Orton Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Peterborough
Peterborough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing