We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good all round hotel with a bit of character. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bull Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good all round hotel with a bit of character. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights while we were in Peterborough for a family event. This is a friendly, comfortable hotel with its own private car park, in a convenient location right in the city centre. It has the relaxed atmosphere and character of an old coaching inn, much nicer than the standard concrete block chain hotels you might have considered.

The restaurant serves quality dinners and lunches and there's a good value for money bar menu. It’s a minor criticism but given the character of the hotel you might expect a more interesting range of beers on the bar. Where's the real ale?

Overall a good all round value for money hotel with comfortable rooms and helpful staff. We enjoyed our visit and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikes_intrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mikes_intrepid,
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is really very nice when someone takes the time to compliment us on a job well done. We have some really good rates for your post Christmas booster, we hope to see you then.

Thank you,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    296
    123
    53
    38
See reviews for
101
290
49
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is really good at being what it is, a classic old world hotel in the middle of town. The rooms can be a little small and old, but that is more than made up by the charm.the only other complaint I would say is the internet can be a little slow in places. Parking is easy. Access to shopping and dining can't be beat in the area. The breakfast is also fantastic.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gallopingghost_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Gallopingghost_77,
Thank you for your marvelous review, we are all very thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and please spread the news far and wide.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Hotel is located in the centre of Peterborough. That has both plus and minus points. Most things, including the Station, are within walking distance. However, Night Clubs, especially on Saturday nights, do not close until 3.00 am, so it is worth asking to be located in as quiet an area of this Hotel as you can. The place is very clean with 118 rooms over three floors. If you are not the athletic type, ask for a ground floor room, as there is no lift. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Don't expect views to die for from a Peterborough Hotel bedroom window: you may be looking at a brick wall!
The car park is located at the back of the Hotel: make sure you get the correct postcode, different from the Hotel's postcode, and do not attempt to enter through the car park exit or your car suspension will be seriously damaged! The car park is well lit and as I parked near to the Hotel's back entrance, I was secure in the knowledge that it was safe.
The Staff were reasonably polite and effectual, but there was certainly none of the friendliness that other reviewers have suggested! The food is good, but breakfast is very expensive for what you get.
You will not be disappointed in the Hotel itself which is very well kept.

Room Tip: If you have trouble carrying cases up long flights of stairs, ask for a ground floor room. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
DannyBoy94,
Glad you really enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business for three nights. The room, while small, was functional. The food in the evenings was good and well cooked - service was a little slow but we were a fairly large party. The conference rooms are a little way down the street in a separate building which is rather tired. There are no permanent staff there and so requests take a while to receive attention. The lunchtime buffet was pretty dire and no reflection of the good meals in the evening. Supermarket bread sandwiches and greasy sausage rolls, fried bread and cheese - not great and did not improve despite our observations of dissatisfaction. Probably not a bad city centre spot for a business stopover but there must be better conference options available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westyorkshireman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Westyorkshireman_10,
Many thanks for your review, and thank you for the lovely words on the hotel.
I am a little disappointed with your comments regarding the service offered in our adjoining conference centre, and I promise to take steps to improve upon the service offering in that area.
In regard to the refreshments offered, I have looked into this matter and would confirm that we actually served what was chosen by your conference organiser,and obviously,deeply regret that this did not meet with your approval on this occasion.
We take all feed back, good or bad very seriously and share this important information with all our teams to effect ongoing improvements to every aspect of the services that we offer, and will of course be doing so too with your views.
I hope sincerely, that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion.
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Nice hotel, free parking, nice feel about the public areas and nice wide corridors on way to room. Room fine if not a little small in comparison to the other areas. Good location close to shops and the other amenities as far as Peterborough has to offer. Nice cathedral around the corner is worth a look. Staff friendly, if not a little stretched at breakfast with the hotel being full to capacity. But, overall pretty good and would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
WillM149,
Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased that you would return and that you had a good time whilst in our care.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend found this totally by chance during a recent weekend in Peterborough. We fancied somewhere nice to eat in the evening and walked past this place. The menu looked good and the prices were reasonable. We were not disappointed! The food was scrummy!! The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the dining area we sat in was very cosy and welcoming.
Top marks all round, really recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sandy1980,
Thank you for posting your review, and we are all very pleased that you have discovered our excellent food at last, where have you been?
Seriously, now that you have found us, we really look forward to seeing you much more in the future.

Thank you once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were visiting Peterborough Arena. On booking Vicky gave us the postcode and directions for access to the hotels complimentary car park and was very helpful. On arrival we were greeted by Holly at reception who was very friendly and helpful, even able to help me locating an open shop later on at about 11pm when i needed chocolate! The hotel is beautiful and full of character. Our executive room was perfect, we were at the front of the hotel. I was worried that it might be noisy in the town centre on a friday night, but we heard nothing and slept very well. This hotel is so central, surrounded by restaurants, shops and some beautiful scenery ( Peterborough Catherdral at the end of the road). Breakfast was great, nothing was too much trouble and the waiting staff were lovely. We will definitely be staying here again. I am in Peterborough on business in the next few weeks and I now know exactly where I will be staying!

Room Tip: We had room 295 and it was perfect at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterboroughAprice, Operations Director at Bull Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Cookie78_12,
Very many thanks for your lovely review, and we are of course delighted that you enjoyed our lovely hotel together with the staff, who we believe set us apart from our competition.
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, and we genuinely hope that it will not be too long before we see you again.

Kind regards,
Alan Price
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 29 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#9 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Peterborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 29 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Hotel

Property: Bull Hotel
Address: Westgate, Peterborough PE1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Peterborough
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bull Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing