We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“catering”
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“catering”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The catering at this hotel (breakfast) is pathetic, I have had better breakfasts while camping, The catering manager shood be removed,from his post.I recomend useing the very nice pub across the road,On the good side the rooms are fine

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilso34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    190
    128
    95
    74
See reviews for
142
301
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Oh dear, oh dear. What a disappointment.

We stopped-off here with fiends for a bite of lunch and to check-out the hotel for a possible stay in the future.

The hotel is a rambling old affair with many old buildings joined together over the years. Money has been spent, but it needs a whole lot more. The general appearance is a bit shabby.

Now the service. Ours was not a demanding table: two hot sausage baps, one cheese & pickle sandwich, one chicken and apricot sandwich, one bowl of chips. Did the guy from the bar write that down? No. Did he try and be clever? Yes. Did he fail? Yes. One C&P sandwich arrived (made with stale bread), followed by the C&A (with the same bread and a limp soggy garnish). Two BACON rolls arrived (sent back). No chips. Fifteen minutes after the first food arrived, the order was complete. The sausage rolls were a bit sad too - not even proper butcher's sausages, just cheap ones.

So will we go back for food? No.
Would we dare trust them with our wedding day (this is big business for this hotel)? No.

What a shame.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from yet another fantastic break at The haycock Hotel, we are regulars and are always treated with a mix of royalty or as old friends! we stay as a respite from a busy life and looking after our special needs daughter so we always look forward to this break, the staff are amazing and always very attentive to our needs, from reception to housemaids!! we always receive a warm welcome from reception and a nice smile which continues throughout our stay,the only thing wrong here is it spoils us when we have to stay elsewhere as no other hotel is a patch on The Haycock! we can't wait till september when we can visit again !!

Room Tip: We always ask for the old part of the hotel, it has much more character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diddymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a friends wedding. The hotel is in a great setting with lots of character. The room was large and the bathroom was huge too!
Check in was simple and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our room was very quiet clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and without exception the staff were friendly and sincere, which made for a very relaxing stay in the hotel. We would recommend this hotel and intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

When we arrived on Easter Sunday afternoon the Receptionist was agitated as a wedding party had just left. Our check-in was not a delight as we had to constantly repeat requirements because she was confused. Needless to say, we didn't receive our newspaper the next morning.....wonder why! Ordered a sandwich in the bar area and waited a good 45 minutes for it to be served. It was nothing out of the ordinary so have no clue why it should take so long and to be so expensive into the bargain. Bedroom was nice, bright, clean and comfortable however there was nowhere in the bathroom to put your toiletries. Based on the price of the sanwiches we decided to eat in a nearby pub directly across from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. The room was fine, clean and comfortable. village is beautiful, and access to the hotel is great. A visit to either of the pubs in the village are preferable to the hotel bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
1.6 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#7 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#4 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#11 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Property: Haycock Hotel
Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing