We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay bed and breakfast”
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location, very comfortable and clean room. Excelent fresh produce on brekfast and so much choice. Very welcoming and friendly lady on breakfast on talking to her we found out her name was diane. Must mention asbraham the night portert so friendly and helpfull. Well worth the journey and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortstaybreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 826 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Inice comfortable hotel set in picturesque countryside. Nice warm welcome from the lady on reception. Comfortable room , dinner was ok although the service was a bit slow and slapdash. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious. The blonde lady serving was the highlite of our stay, bubbly friendly and so professional a real treasure and so informative. Will definately be back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhopperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we were given a voucher gift for afternoon tea and chose here because it was near where we were staying and looked nice. Well it was lovely! There was so much food, hot scones and as much tea as we could drink, and nothing was too much trouble. It was a lovely old historic place too in the middle of Wansford on the old Great North Road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a very nice old fashioned style hotel offering good value for money.The hotel is situated just off the A1 in the pretty village of Wansford.Iain the bar/lounge waiter in particular is excellent and always makes us very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We often call at the Haycock for afternoon tea in their bar or lounge. It's an oasis after shopping and Iain, the waiter looks after us really well. He is amiable and an excellent waiter, always looks after us making sure everything is right with our order and always gives us a warm welcome. Nothing is ever too much trouble. All the staff are so friendly. It's good value for money and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The normally good Haycock breakfast, appears to have fallen to the level of powdered eggs in the scrambling department. As a regular visitor, I have noticed an improvement in the quality of the rooms.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank AyrSaltCellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've stayed at the haycock for work nearby and always found it great value, I decided to take my partner for the weekend and with the half board night stay , was stunning value with and absolutely superb evening meal , three course and great breakfast and comfy room. I can't praise it enough.
Will continue to look forward to my work trips here. You can't get premier inns for this price including all meals.

Room Tip: Go for the half board , bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
349 reviews
4.2 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
398 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#8 of 27 in Peterborough
952 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range: $83 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing