We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel!”
Review of Haycock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haycock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Peterborough
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went here recently for a quick getaway and took advantage of the January offer - bed, breakfast and three course evening meal all for £145. On arrival, we were met by friendly receptionists who advised we had been upgraded to a superior room for free. When we got to our room we were delighted to find that our room had a massive four poster bed and jacuzzi in the bathroom! The room was well furnished with t.v and a sitting area together with separate dressing area. Our three course meal was served in the lovely dining room by very professional and polite staff and nothing was too much trouble. The food was absolutely delicious. I had the lamb shank which was so tender and very tasty. The following morning we were served by a very pleasant lady to a full English breakfast and again nothing was too much trouble. All in all, we had a lovely stay in a olde worlde hotel in a lovely village. Great if you like that kind of thing!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front very nice, not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CambridgeOver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 832 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

After reading some "not very good" comments about The Haycock I was very apprehensive about our pre-arranged night at this establishment but thankfully we had a very pleasant stay. Ok, maybe the shower could have been a tad bigger and the hair dryer was a little dated, but the room was clean, and everything laid out with care, so no complaints there. We had a delicious meal, very much a "taster" meal, so different and flavoursome. Service very good and attentive. Lovely breakfast, so cannot complain at all.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with my elderley mum for a weekend. The staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was large, well equipped and very cosy. The hotel food was excellent and there were lots of lovely spaces to read, play chess or just enjoy the log fire. I hope to go back soon...

Room Tip: I requested a walk in shower rather than an over the bath shower, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coppertop1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

There was a time when if you told someone you had stayed at the Haycock they would go "ooooo...". I'm afraid those days are gone. Poor check in. There was a guy in front of me who was taking ages and then a lady standing awkwardly waiting to ask something then me. The guy at the desk had no idea how to handle this.
Anyway room out the back in through the courtyard. It was cold and the bathroom looked like it had been installed in 1986. There was dodgy grouting and I think the suite was pink.
Wifi is only really available in the lounge bar.
Breakfast was ok but not as good as a Premier Inn breakfast.
Really characterful village and architecture, right on the A1 and only a few miles from Peterborough you think that this facility could be packed out and making a mint. It's about 5 miles from the Marriott which is always busy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dog377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We've just returned from a very comfortable overnight at the Haycock. We'd booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package and were given a lovely room (Vi-spring mattress, always a good sign!) with large ensuite. Dinner was really good and verywell presented by charming staff. Ditto breakfast. Having loved this hotel 30 years ago it was nice to see it still retains its charm and character.

Room Tip: Ask to be in main hotel facing road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just had lunch in a cold cheerless room and the lunch was most disappointing. Two of us had cheese and pickle sandwiches. Not much to go wrong there one might think, especially as it was the only vegetarian sandwich option but the bread was much too thick and the cheese was scanty and so mild as to be tasteless. My husband has a mushroom bruchetta with a poached egg. The portion was very small and although the egg was beautifully cooked it came with nothing else and was poor value for money. We have used the Haycock on many occasions and it is certainly a shadow of its former self with a rather unloved feel about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed here overnight for a works Christmas meal. We got a really good package deal for dinner, bed and breakfast and overall I thought it was excellent value for money.

Good points:
1. Staff were all friendly and helpful
2. Rooms are very spacious with large en suites. I was also pleased that my room stayed dark in the morning due to the good blinds!
3. The hotel is overall a beautiful looking old fashioned and atmospheric building in a lovely village. We were in the old part but I can appreciate other reviewers' views of having to go out to the new building ( I wouldn't have been impressed either)
4. Dinner was served to our group of 15 in a beautiful private room and the waiters were very attentive and provided a good service throughout the evening.
5. We pre ordered our meal from a set menu. Pretty standard fare and the quality was okay - have had better but have also had a lot worse elsewhere!
6. We rolled on into the early hours but there wasn't any real pressure for us to finish earlier which was nice.

Not so good points:
1. Staff regularly tended to hang around the reception desk chatting loudly within earshot of guests which didn't seem very professional to me.
2. The hotel is situated very close to the A1 and the noise of the traffic was loud at times.
3. Decor is a little tired in places although I wouldn't hold that against it-for me that just adds to the feel of an authentic and traditional English style hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshinegirl_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#14 of 27 in Peterborough
351 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bull Hotel
Bull Hotel
#8 of 27 in Peterborough
962 reviews
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
380 reviews
4.2 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haycock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haycock Hotel

Address: London Road | Wansford, Peterborough PE8 6JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Peterborough
Price Range: $80 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haycock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Macdonald Associate Hotel, The Haycock Hotel is one of the finest ­­­­3-star hotels in Peterborough. Set in the idyllic surroundings of Wansford, on the River Nene, our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and fine facilities. With direct access to ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ the motorway and only 80 miles from London, our hotel is a popular choice for family holidays, business and weddings. Our hotel is also a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms.Our hotel in Wansford is perfect for country adventures; roam the amazing countryside and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. Once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Haycock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haycock Hotel Peterborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing