We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B at a reasonable price”

Charlotte House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlotte House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I wish TripAdvisor didn't go from Average to Very Good. I would rate this B&B as good.

It's one of those big old houses in a once prosperous (but no more) part of town, that has been done up to be a B&B, and it works fine. As we approached I wondered if I had made a mistake, but once inside it was fine.

The WiFi worked in our bedroom (without being charged anything extra), the breakfast was fine, the landlady was fine (with a wonderful Eastern European accent) and £60 for the night was also fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesHappyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 57 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really friendly little b and b with nice double beds and good prices. Off-road parking at the rear, although it is on first-come first-served basis. A reasonably quiet area of town, although out of the centre.

Room Tip: Room 2 is cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I work regularly, but infrequently, in Peterborough and have always stayed at Charlotte House and found it excellent. I was dismayed to find that Wayne and Sally had sold up and left but nonetheless booked a room.
I found none of the problems written by previous visitors but there were other issues.
There was no sign of the owner, just a charming Russian lady who did her best but the "owners touch," so valued previously, was absent.
The TV had been left in DVD mode and the lady in charge had no idea how to revert it to TV mode - fortunately I did, although I felt that this should have been adjusted when the room was serviced.
Both of the bulbs in both of the bathroom lights were not working rendering the room dangerous to use before morning light. Surely this should not have been allowed to happen?
One of the electric sockets only worked intermittently, but there were other sockets so this was not a major issue but, again, should have been sorted when the room was serviced.
The breakfast continued to be of the usual high standard.
The night I stayed I was the only guest, which is the first time this has ever happened - so this speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Check out that everything is working before you pay for the room - unfortunately I paid in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueandaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was booked as we were attending an exhibition nearby, a planned stay of 3 nights for myself and 2 work colleagues
I was put in a room with no curtains or window blind and wallpaper that every drop was peeling away on one wall.

We checked out the next morning and moved to another hotel.

The only positive from this stay was the breakfast was excellent, a credit to the chef !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we had two double rooms booked on the 23/9 turned up at 3 pm no one in - left message on answer phone - went back 20 minutes later still no one in - left another message - lucky for us we found another b&b locally
it is now 26th September & still no reply or message from the b & b ?

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My daughter and i were going to the burghley horse trials in Stamford. this b and was perfect.not far to travel. the accomodation was just right. a twin with a lovely en suite. im .not very good with showers, but i really enjoyed this one. easy to use.The breakfast was excellant. everything you could wish for. the noise from the main road kept me awake .a lot. but the second night didnt notice it.

Room Tip: A back room away from the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here for a work trip and was very happy i had chosen this B&B and will use them again in the future.

High standard of cleanliness, a well fitted room with everything you could need, and a lovely couple in charge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missrd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peterborough hotels
5.8 mi away
Sibson Inn Hotel
Sibson Inn Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#17 of 27 in Peterborough
346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Stilton Cheese Inn
The Stilton Cheese Inn
#1 of 1 in Stilton
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#19 of 27 in Peterborough
377 reviews
3.5 mi away
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
Peterborough Marriott Hotel
#13 of 27 in Peterborough
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House Hotel

Address: 78 London Road, Peterborough PE2 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range: $58 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlotte House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Charlotte House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing