We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
346
137
38
17
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
346
137
38
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galleried restaurant dick turpin four poster sunday lunch great north road beef cheese board wedding venue main restaurant wedding reception garden room lovely atmosphere booked a table course meal cooked to perfection main course full english
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 552 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch on May 5th at 13.00. Unfortunately one of our party of four was delayed, but the staff dealt with this excellently. The food was superb and service was prompt and courteous. We were in the Gallery restaurant and the setting was wonderful. All in all an excellent choice for a meal. Will definitely return many times. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 126DougM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We look forward to your next visit and want to thank you for taking the time to review your lunch on trip advisor.

Sunday lunches are a relaxed enjoyable service and I am delighted you enjoyed both our food and service.

Many thanks

Johanna Grimshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019

We met some old friends here last night and ate in the Bistro restaurant behind the bar. The atmosphere was great, we had an absolutely delicious meal which was agreed by all of us. Our compliments to the chef's. The service was excellent by Jean and her colleagues. A large table of guests were also being served at the same time and not once did you feel like the staff were harassed or giving out excuses for delays in the food arriving because it wasn't.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recommendations, I am delighted you enjoyed you visit. I have passed on your compliments to both my Kitchen and Jean.

The Bistro has a really nice ambience when it’s busy and I think it would be hard not to get caught up in the general enjoyment of a buzzy evening.

Kind regards

Johanna Grimshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Booked this at last minute . What a great find . Phoned to book room & staff very helpful . On arrival greeted by receptionist , Christine , who was very friendly & welcoming .Room was very clean & comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent . All in all a wonderful place to stay .
Ian & Gill

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 381gillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ian and Gill,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments to the team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Johanna Grimshaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019

We visit about once a month and normally have the steaks (it's our red meat fix!).It has a great ambiance whether eating in the bar, bistro or in the upstairs restaurant with helpful, knowledgeable, friendly staff. On an odd occasion we have also stayed overnight. The last time was Christmas and it was magical as it happened to be when the carol singers were there in the courtyard. We always look forward to it - thanks!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank LeeC2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

We visited the Bell again for our anniversary this year. Last year we had one of the newer rooms but, this year, we opted for one of the four posters. A good experience although the mattress was a little hard - a mattress topper would easily resolve this. That said we still slept well!

We ate in the restaurant on both evenings. At first glance the menu looks very simple and could be easily overlooked but do give it a try. The food is excellently cooked and imaginatively served. The food experience is far superior than a glance at the menu might suggest.

The sorbets are fabulous - worth trying even when you think you can’t eat another thing! The atmosphere and surroundings are lovely, especially on a chilly evening when the fires are lit.

The real gem of the restaurant is Jean. What a treasure she is - just the right balance of friendly and attentive.

Whilst the four poster room was a lovely experience I would certainly be happy to stay in the modern rooms for future visits. Check in and out was straightforward and parking in the car park was easy.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 206SueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toptable10, General Manager at Bell Inn Stilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Belated Anniversary wishes !

I am delighted you came back to see us again. I want to thank you for your review and I will pass it on to Jean directly .She is as you rightly say a treasure and we are very lucky to have her .
We all look forward to your next visit .

Kind Regards
Jo
Generasl Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews