We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge portions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stilton Cheese Restaurant

The Stilton Cheese Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 417 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Love the fact there is so much fish on the menu but agree with a fellow reviewer who said with every dish on the menu you are offered; chips, jacket potato or boiled potato and either salad or vegetables.

The garlic prawns for starters are amazing - lobster is available with 24 hours notice but to be honest not great value or a true thermidor.

Fish and chips are always a great favourite and always cooked to perfection. Look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank slipperyuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    33
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have eaten here twice while staying with friends in Peterborough and have enjoyed the food both times. The food is basic but well prepared and you get a lot of it for your buck. Its worth stopping at should you ever be driving through Stilton (where, unfortunately, the cheese is no longer produced) and feel like some good old English fare.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Up to the usual high standard we've experienced on each visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Booked here for a group dinner to celebrate my 50th, our 20th Wedding Anniversary and a new addition to the family - 12 of us in total. Food, drink and service was up to the usual high standard that we've experienced whenever we've eaten here. Would concur with the comments of the contributor below - a little more imagination with what's offered in the way of accompaniments to the excellent mains would be welcome - boiled brocoli and carrots doesn't really do it when matched with monkfish.

One I'm very happy to recommend. A little more expensive than some foody-type pubs on the Fens (starters ranging up to a tenner, mains up to twenty), but worth paying a bit more for me thinks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NGB_May2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Jekyll and Hyde”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I reguarly visit the cheese and always leave with mixed feelings. The quality of the major part of each dish is excellent. What lets it down is the lack of imagination on the accompanyments. With every dish on the menu you are offered; chips, jacket potato or boiled potato and either salad or vegetables. Not only are these offerings bland they do not match well with the excellent fish dishes that are on the menu. I would certainly recommend anyone to try this restaurant. They would jump straight to 5/5 if only they thought about the whole plate and not just one element!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stilton is about more than cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just visited the Stilton cheese, haven't been in a while for no particular reason. Food great as always, fantastic choice, friendly staff - what more could you want.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Outtoplay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stilton Cheese Restaurant also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Stilton Cheese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing