We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Spice - CLOSED

Royal Spice
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent quality curry, we go for a set menu for 2 which is more than enough! service is excellent, staff are friendly and helpful. We will be back as always.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliveyboy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a shame!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just had a long over due visit to my once favourite Indian, but came out very disappointed. Staff were not the usual friendly staff. No smiles today!
Dinner was served promptly. We were not asked how our food was. When I said I was not happy with my bland curry, I was not asked why or given an apology. It was just taken away.
I was very disappointed with my visit and won't hurry back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lots of menu choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friendly staff, warm and inviting restaurant with lots of menu choice
Centrally located so easily accessible

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food at the Royal Spice was excellent. If you like a good curry and a couple of Cobra beers get to the Royal Spice

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank agadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The best in Peterborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am a regular visitor to this restaurant. The food is generally excellent, however the odd occasion it has not come up to its normal standard. This seems to be when its at its most busiest when they struggle to cope with a lot of covers. We tend to go early evening when the restaurant is mostly empty and we have found the food excellent on these occasions. I would recommend the Royal mixed starter which comes on a sizzling iron skillet, the associated onions are a super bonus of flavour. The staff are attentive and happy please. My wife and daughter did not like the wine in there spritzers as it was dry, they happily changed it for a medium dry white wine. We have been going for several years and have tried other Curry establishments in Peterborough area but have either found they don't match up are or are not good value for money. They do have special nights in the week which my daughter raves about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Spice also viewed

 
Thorney, Peterborough
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing