We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hosts at a lovely relaxing campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Messe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Grande Vigne
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful friendly hosts at a lovely relaxing campsite”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After touring France in our campervan we stayed for 2 nights at Grande Vigne on the way back to the ferry. The campsite is very easy to get to from the main road but is in an idyllic quiet countryside setting. The owners, Ian and Helen, were so welcoming, greeting us with a very much appreciated cold drink on a scorching day. The camp site has 5 pitches with plenty of space for everyone to camp with some shade from the trees, plus 2 lovely gites. The facilities were excellent with a proper shower room (not just the usual shower cubicles) and a beautiful little pool with a terrace and sunloungers. Ian and Helen went out of their way to ensure every guest was enjoying their stay, whether they were there for a few nights for a couple of weeks. They had information about the surrounding area, bikes were available for hire and a bread van called in some mornings. While we were there we went to a wonderful evening of music and food in the grounds of a restaurant in a nearby village which Ian and Helen told us about. We were really sorry to have to leave such a comfortable, friendly site with truly exceptional hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This camp site has recently changed ownership and is run by a British couple. Ian & Helen have upgrade the site and offer a tremendous welcome to campers. There are only 5 pitches so booking is a must. Despite staying at many camp-sites throughout Europe I have never seen the shower facilities offered at this site anywhere else. Its just like having your bathroom from home with you!
Shade is a little restricted, but the site is totally flat, easily accessed and with convenient power & water supplies.
The village of Lazay nearby has a local market and convenient supermarket for all your requirements.
This is a great stop of if you are heading further South

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Myself and my partner took refuge at Grande Vigne after hot footing it from Brittany away from storms on the 14 August 2012. We were met by a warm, friendly and accomodating arrival from the owners Helen and Ian - and also from the other guests.
We had made our way down to the Charantes to seek out better weather and relaxation. We achieved both and more besides. We were very impressed with the facilities which were simply luxurious by camping standards. We borrowed bikes (free of charge) from the owners (this is open to all guests) and went off to explore the surrounding areas, and went kayaking (Helen and Ian provided information on this). It is an excellent base to explore all the lovely days out in the region and neighbouring regions.

Our only negative was that we didn't find this place earlier in our holiday and that we didn't stay for longer!

I personally would like to say thank you to Helen and Ian for making my birthday so lovely, which I celebrated whilst I was there, it made it a memorable one!

We will be seeing you in the future - and keep on doing what your doing!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at La Grande Vigne at the end of July 2012 for 4 nights. We were booked into the gite called Suzanne, (2 bedrooms – 1 double and a single) which was very well furnished, very clean, and had a happy, bright ambience. The whole property is a rural idyll for anyone wanting total relaxation and peace. The pool though described as smallish was more than adequate for having a quick swim and cooling off. It is very well maintained with clear clean water, which was pleasant and refreshing. However what made this place special are the new owners. Helen and Ian are two of the most friendly, polite and considerate hosts a guest is likely to meet. They have only recently taken over the business but already they are introducing changes to make the place really something special. From the complimentary wine and snacks left as a welcome gift, to the bright cheery greeting and the genuine interest in the guests’ well-being, they proved to be exceptional hosts. Attentive, thoughtful and warm without being intrusive their relaxed and laid back style puts the guest immediately at ease. Although tranquillity is assured, Helen and Ian are the very opposite of the rule-bound hosts you can often encounter in holiday rentals – they encouraged us to play our music if we wished, to make ourselves at home and to enjoy our stay. In addition to the gite and camping site being very well equipped, there are lots of brochures on what to see and do in the area, and Helen and Ian are on hand to make useful suggestions. A great place but made special by the warmth and genuine friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fintan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Due to some ambitious targets as we cycled around France, we required somewhere to camp the night at short notice. La Grande Vigne was one of the first camp sites that appeared on Google. To be honest, we couldn't have chosen a better site. After phoning ahead, Ian and Helen greeted us on arrival and showed us to the camping field. They made sure that we were well looked after, going beyond the call of duty to provide sufficient food and drink for the 5 of us.

The site is well organised, with separate shower and toilets, along with an additional basin area. There is also a swimming pool and boules area, although on this occasion, more exercise was the last thing on our mind. A peaceful and quiet night was had by all.

We would definitely recommend a visit, and if we are in the area again, will be sure to stop off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ian and Helen are the new owners of Grand-Vigne from May 2012 and they are the most friendly hosts we have ever met on our travels in Europe!. They will attend to your every need, are always willing to help at any time of the day or night and are lots of fun!
If you prefer 'peace and quiet' of a rural setting and a pretty place to relax, YES ,you will find it here too! Grand-vigne camping has a lovely secluded site with available shade from trees, there is a quiet pool available, no fight to get sunbeds here. shower and toilet facilities are extremely clean and well maintained. E-mail or text Ian for easy directions from the main road Potiers/ Ruffec/ Limoges- Perfect if travelling to south of France or Spain for restful stop-off here.Within easy reach of the Atlantic coast- approx.1 hour, or 30 minutes drive to Poitiers airport ( Limoges and La Rochelle are approx. 60-90 minutes drive.) Two gites are also available so most useful if other family members require extra space.
We stayed for a few weeks just after Ian and Helen moved in and had a really enjoyable holiday: certainly both of them worked very hard from dawn until dusk maintaining the standard and improving the surroundings - will no doubt, soon look like our local park with beautiful plants and flowers! Special thanks for the trip to Couhe and the numerous glasses of wine!
Most definitely the BEST campsite we have ever stayed in, we look forward very much to returning again.Thankyou again and very happy to leave our caravan in your care!
Well worth reading all of the new information about the two gites and updated web site at grande.vigne@orange.fr

Room Tip: Read all of the information first before staying at the gites- suggest booking early as fast becomin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LEGENDABEDFORDSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A great, small, relaxing peaceful site, with excellent facilities and within easy access to major routes. Local services.are just a short drive away.

The owners, Steve and Tracey are very welcoming and helpful and willing to give advice and assistance to any queries.

Facilities are clean and well maintained as are the pitches, each supplied with electric hookup if required.

I would certainly recommend this site to anyone, and I am already planning next years trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FurryGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camping Grande Vigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Grande Vigne

Property: Camping Grande Vigne
Address: 11 rue du Paradis, 79120 Messe, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Messe
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Messe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly rural campsite with 6 large pitches, electric hook-ups, shower room and WCs, washing-up area, laundry, swimming pool and sunbathing area with loungers, tables, chairs & parasols, boules court, dartboard. 2 gites also available for rental on site. Only 10kms from the N10, ideal for stopovers traveling north or south. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing