We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from city but nice hotel”
Review of The Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Barn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ruislip
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This Hotel sat on a wonderful piece of property located in Ruislip. It was very close the the train station which is the mode of transportation I used. During my visit it was a Bank Holiday and the train line I needed was shut down for about four days. This was a terrible inconvenience which caused major delays in my arrival to the hotel. Normally the hotel is about 20 min on the train but for me it was about an hour due to taking a different line. This has nothing to do with the hotel. The hotel room was nice although we had to leave the building and walk across the property to the dinning room where breakfast was served. I prepaid for my room plus breakfast only to find it did not include a hot breakfast. This was a disappointment but the cold breakfast was okay. The chocolate croissants were lovely. The staff was delightful!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank JessicaNicoleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 538 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a business trip, and stayed in a superior oom in the Shirley Farm building. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was well equipped with spa bath, toiletries etc. Had a couple of strange experineces in the night with weird noises (not sure if its haunted!), but overall couldnt fault it. Breakfast was lovely, and I also sampled room service which again was nice (burger), although the tray charge of £3.50 was unexpected, as my bill was only £10 ish! I would stay again - although maybe not in Shirley Farm!

Room Tip: Spar rooms nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMfamily295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I review this location following a post-Christening luncheon celebration in the Cromwell Suite. Difficult to overstate how well the entire event panned out. I hold the view on such occasions any one of a million things can go wrong. My experience at the Barn Hotel totally contradicts that view.

From Neetoo, the lady organiser, to all the service and waiting staff, everything was handled in a professional and friendly manner. I have nothing but the highest praise for all concerned. The Cromwell suite setting was superb and the suite itself was set out decoratively; the quality of the food was excellent (thank you to all concerned), and was well received by all. The overriding feeling was one of enjoyment; it was a most memorable occasion, and even the sun had the cheek to show its face.

In response to the time-honoured question - would I book again and/or recommend to others? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chapmanbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The grounds were lovely and the hotel was rally nice. The rooms were clean and had all facilities, and they were well serviced. The staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We arrived, after a long haul overnight flight, at 0930 and were able to check in right away - a real bonus. The hotel in only 1 hour on the tube from Heathrow with 1 change and 40 minutes from Central London with no changes. Wireless internet is also available in the rooms.
An ideal place for a relaxing break in a lovely setting. Yet, so close to the city if you want to go.

Room Tip: The new block has excellent rooms but the building does not have the character of the other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded to a suite. Such luxury, jacuzzi bath with T.V and jet shower. Spacious living room and two large double beds in bedroom. Well stocked mini bar and very reasonable.
Reception and bar are tudor style and a lovely open fire.Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Lovely grounds to walk in or just take in the sun.

Less than five minute walk to from train station into city centre (about forty five minutes). We ordered a taxi a reception to go to Heathrow airport and the taxi arrived within five minutes. (£19 fee).

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and only a few steps across yard to bar ,restaurant and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a lovely afternoon in the Cromwell suite, which was beautifully laid out, to celebrate our Golden Wedding. The meal was excellent and all the guests (45), commented on how they had enjoyed the food From the booking of the event to the actual function, the staff were very pleasant and attentive. At all times that we have visited the Hotel, birthday celebrations and bar lunches, we have found the staff very helpful and pleasant, and will use the facilities again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Barn hotel reviews were mixed on here so I wasn't sure what to expect. We stayed here for just 1 night whilst visiting friends and when I booked a standard double room at £85.00 per night, I had an email saying that we'd been upgraded to a luxury room with spa bath.
The hotel itself is really lovely - lovely reception area, bar and restaurant with lovely old features and big squashy sofas in the bar.
Our room itself was room 2, in an older part of the hotel, outside - called Anne Boleyn - and the room size, cleanliness and facilities were all fine, the bed very comfortable. The continental breakfast was lovely too - loads and loads of fresh fruit, plenty of cereal, toast and pastries so no complaints there. Staff were also very helpful and pleasant.
However, the room felt unfinished and lacked the finishing touches you'd expect even though it looked like it had been refurbished. There were no lamps or wall lights in the room, so at night the only light we had was a very bright overhead light which wasn't that romantic or relaxing. There was a panel under the desk which wasn't fixed in properly so we could see the electric pump for the shower and the electricity fuse box, and the electrics didn't look that safe. The carpet under the desk was also damp we discovered when trying to plug something in. We then realised why - the beading around the tiles in the bath wasn't properly done and so had loads of gaps in it - and must have been leaking water behind the tiles and under the bath (thank god we were on the ground floor) and it wasn't possible to avoid water going down there as there was so much gap and it looked really tatty. The toilet roll holder also kept falling off the wall as it wasn't fixed on properly. There was a large tile on the side of the bath that was loose and falling off. The hairdryer was really bad and looked like it was from the 60s. The room door also had a 3cm gap under it which wasn't a major problem but meant that we could hear people coming and going and didn't feel that the room was that private either and there was no net curtain on the window which you would expect for a ground floor room that people could see into if walking past!
This is a massive shame as overall the hotel is lovely and these comments are about simple, cosmetic issues that are not at all hard at all to fix and so the room we were given overall really lacks the finishing touches I'd expect. Although not too expensive, I also still wouldn't expect these issues from a room of that price. Alex Polizzi would be tutting as a little attention to detail would make all the difference.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lish_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruislip
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Ruislip Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ramada London South Ruislip
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Uxbridge Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grim's Dyke Hotel
3 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 5 in Uxbridge
680 reviews
4.2 mi away
Denham Grove
Denham Grove
#1 of 1 in Denham
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn Hotel

Address: West End Road, Ruislip HA4 6JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ruislip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ruislip
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Barn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barn Hotel London
The Barn Hotel Ruislip, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing