We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakwheel Inn

The Oakwheel Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oakwheel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Burniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay - again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our 2nd stay here and had another good experience.
Made to feel valued and treated very well - nothing is too much trouble. Priority at mealtimes, too!
Wendy is very hands-on and on the ball.
Found our room, Audrey's Peace, didn't quite live up to it's name as was above entrance to pub.(Fact pub is on main road means traffic noise, we accept that, though.) We'd no trouble sleeping, really comfy beds and all facilities we needed.
Meals and service were terrific, all staff very welcoming and pleasant.
You need a good appetite as meals are hearty but freshly cooked. Good variety of veg and, with reference to a recent review, chips were spot on!. Ate there 3 times and wasn't disappointed.The fact we couldn't manage a dessert or starter says it all!
Will definitely stay there again but possibly in a different room?
Thanks a lot to all staff for a very restful and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Check location of room if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 19th-21st Aug in room no1 named Punch & Judy.We found it impossible to get a good night's sleep in this room, due to the constant noise from a generator going all night.We were told the generator had to stay on to maintain the temperature for the beer.The bedroom &bathroom were clean.Double bed felt small - we are not big people.Public area could do with brightening up with a lick of paint - especially the floor boards.The tables were very marked.
Breakfast was good.Plenty of parking space. Unfortunately we will not be returning due to the above noise. We are not the only ones to have brought above noise problem to staff and to public notice. We have stayed in many public and private establishments without this problem.
BE Blackpool UK

Room Tip: Room No. 1 named 'Punch & Judy' is a noisy room at night due to generator noise,give t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We've only eaten here , never stayed so this is only about the food. Generally it was a nice meal with plenty of veg and potatoes. I like the fact you can put the amount of veg on your plate that you want to eat . Slightly disappointed with chips ( not as good as they used to be) different chef maybe? Still quite pricey but overall happy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We only stayed here one night but wished we had booked for more the twin room was very nice comfy beds nice bathroom great shower the food was amazing & plenty of it the atmosphere in the pub was brill as was the cask ales & we tried most of them the breakfast set us up for the day a very nice full english we will definitely be back to the oakwheel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyjane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th August. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room (Lorna's Room) was clean, comfy and cozy with a huge bathroom. The hot water was really hot and plentiful and the food and the service was excellent. We both travel and use hotels regularly for work and we have paid 3 times as much as this for 1/4 of the service and standard and would definitely recommend staying here rather than in Scarborough itself, which is just a short 5mins drive away. The breakfast was second to non and the fact that most of the items on the menu are locally sourced and freshly prepared only helped to seal the deal! We would highly recommend this as a place to stay and even just to call in for a meal if you are passing by. Well done and thank you to Wendy and the team, we feel thoroughly rested even if it did take 5 hours to get to you!

Room Tip: Ask for Lorna's room as it is comfy, snug and quiet and overlooks the car park so you can see yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

stopped on our way south with our caravan for drink and something to eat bar staff very friendly on drinking our drink was just going to order food when a woman shouted down the garden like a fish wife you cannot park there i get busy we were shocked our custom must not mean anything on leaving found out she was land lady horrid way to start a visit south,

Room Tip: stay clear go next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoakwheel, Owner at The Oakwheel Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to leave feedback, we appreciate all comments positive and negative. I can recall this incident, however I believe this review to be quite personal and cruel, two things that I can say confidently that you did not encounter that afternoon at the Oakwheel.
On the chosen afternoon I was notified by a customer that a large caravan attached to a similar large saloon car had been parked across 7 car parking spaces in our relatively small car park. As it was approaching 5.30pm one of our busiest periods on a Friday- I sought to find the owners to politely ask them to park in a more considerable manner buy suggesting the grassed area at the end of the car park due to the upcoming busy period expected.
I asked around the bar area customers if the caravan belonged to them and had no success. On entering the patio/ garden area, I spotted a couple which I understand to be you as you where the only ones in the garden, as you where facing me, I politely said (excuse me does the caravan belong to you) and the gentleman replied ( yes we are going in a minute just finishing our drinks ) No mention of eating with that I replied That's fine and walked back into the pub,
however 10 minutes later you came into the busy bar area to shout profanity's at me in front of dinning guests Saying that I screamed at you to move the caravan . Trying to maintain professionalism you were ask to discuss the matter outside where you continually remained verbally abusive and no matter what I said didn't make any difference.
I am Sorry that you believe you encountered ill treatment during your visit and I assure you if you park in a considerate manner if you ever visit again , you will have an enjoyable experience that we pride ourselves and our repeat custom on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Not far from Scarborough itself (10 mins), great pub, wonderful food and nice friendly service but very basic and watch your step as there isn't a level floor in the place. I'd come again, at £60 a night it's overall good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burniston
3.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.8 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Windmill
The Windmill
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwheel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwheel Inn

Property: The Oakwheel Inn
Address: 17-19 Coastal Road, Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough > Burniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oakwheel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run Pub, Set in the village of Burniston 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby just of the main A171. Offering a well stocked bar with real ales, Home cooked meals, with special boards, free Wi-Fi, real coal fire, beer garden, under cover heated smoking area, 5 en-suite bedrooms and Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Oakwheel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing