We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was great shame about the sevice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barn Cafe Bistro

The Barn Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Burniston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Barn, a unique dining venue near Scarborough, on Yorkshires beautiful heritage coast.The traditional farm building was lovingly converted in 2008, and now houses a fully licensed cafe restaurant serving an exciting bistro menu.The cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and supper, and our fantastic, traditional Sunday lunch is renowned locally. Delicious cakes and home baking are served all day, along with a selection of speciality teas and cappuccino coffees.Our cosy log burner and friendly staff will make sure you have a warm welcome, or make the most of summer and sit outside, in our beautiful courtyard seating area.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was great shame about the sevice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Me and my husband have been here many times before usually ok. but went a few days and the service was terrible the waiter didnt smile once and seemed more interested in what was happening in the kitchen and outside. The food was lovely as always but we will not be returning to be treated and spoken to like we did. Disapointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kateclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    37
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Called in when we were up in Scarborough based upon my sons recommendation and we weren't disappointed .
The whole place is delightful and appropriate for the area. the food is wholesome , and adventurous , with a range of English European and far eastern influences on the menu.The bread was a delight , the homemade chutney was fruity and the humous was tasty with a strong flavour of coriander.Home made soup was roasted butternut squash and had a good peppery flavour to compliment the sweetness.
prices were reasonable and the place was filling up at a rapid rate when we left at 1.00.
I would recommend it if you are in the area, we will certainly return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GilbertSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth going!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was very cosy and it had a very calm atmosphere.
Loved how it was set out.
Very clean.
The staff were very friendly and polite.
The cost was reasonable.
The food was very tasteful.
I would go definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Mary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Absolutely amazing discovery. We came for Sunday lunch and it was well worth the trip from Bridlington. You will need to book in advance as there are not that many tables but the standard of service and food was very high indeed.

Recommend to all, you will not be disappointed! We hope to get to one of their evening meal sittings during the week sometime soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sea food special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat the two pubs near by were fully booked saw this little place and asked if they had a table the staff were brilliant found us a table upstairs, there was a special sea food menu you on offer fantastic .The food was cooked to order and very fresh the vegetables were also perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mintsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn Cafe Bistro also viewed

Burniston, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Barn Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing