We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return.”

The Barn Cafe Bistro
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Burniston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Barn, a unique dining venue near Scarborough, on Yorkshires beautiful heritage coast.The traditional farm building was lovingly converted in 2008, and now houses a fully licensed cafe restaurant serving an exciting bistro menu.The cafe is open for breakfast, lunch and supper, and our fantastic, traditional Sunday lunch is renowned locally. Delicious cakes and home baking are served all day, along with a selection of speciality teas and cappuccino coffees.Our cosy log burner and friendly staff will make sure you have a warm welcome, or make the most of summer and sit outside, in our beautiful courtyard seating area.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Called in for lunch yesterday, having driven past endless times but recently heard about the menu from someone else.
I had a lamb burger with feta and tzatziki dressing - the perfect Saturday lunch - probably the tastiest burger I've ever eaten, and surprisingly filling. Followed by a good coffee (always a good sign for me when macchiatto is an option) and lemon tart - lemon tart is pretty ubiquitous but good lemon tart is harder to find and this was a good one.

Newspapers available, and a lovely helpful waitress. I had a look at the evening menu and will be going at the first chance I get. Great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tygertyger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We can't believe we haven't tried this coastal gem sooner. The restaurant set in an old barn is cosy and quaint. The staff are lovely. The food was excellent. We have tried most pubs and restaurants in the area and the Hares Leap is without doubt in a different league. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mal9199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hog roast looked good but who in their right mind would pay £8.50 for a bit of pork and a sausage in a baguette! Outrageous. The couple we were were with shared one, thought it was lovely but not worth the money. I opted for a coffee instead which was actually very nice. Service from the counter was slow and no table service was available.

Thank hungryScarborough_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

We’re sorry to hear you didn’t love every aspect of your visit to Hares Leap on bank holiday Monday. Due to the fact that the annual ‘Burnison show’ is directly opposite us, we have to cater to a large number of guests, so we changed our normal service to enable us to accommodate everyone. We usually have full table service, but due to high demand and quick turn around, we opted for counter service on this occasion.
It’s a shame that you felt our ‘hog roast’ was over priced, as many other customer enjoyed it, and appreciated that we’d tried to do something a little different: we had the same fantastic quality, outdoor reared pork from Easingwold, that we use in all of our restaurant dishes, served with homemade stuffing made with Wold Top ale and sausage meat from the same pork producer, pear sauce made from in season ‘Guyot Blushed’ pears served in a hand made, award winning ciabatta roll from the artisan bakery ‘More?’ and finally one of our house ‘outdoor reared sausages’ on the side. Considering the quality, we felt we had priced the Hog Roast fairly.
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your coffee, and we hope you’ll come back again for another cup on us at some point, to make up for your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We called in on the off chance for Sunday lunch. So glad we did! Roast beef to die for with well cooked selection of vegetables. As for the Yorkshire pudding..... We will definitely return!! Value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynne2_5_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us! We use the very best aged Yorkshire rump beef for our Sunday lunch and try to make the accompanying elements, from homemade horseradish cream to the Yorkshire pudding, extra special as well. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Sadly we popped in for a coffee on a Sunday morning well midday to be greater with are you eating (no) well coffee cakes outside , ok weather was lovely so not a problem ,whoops we had been on a 10mile treck so only had about £3cash on us which was not enough for 2drinks so we asked to pay on the card (abruptly ) told only if you spend £5 fair enough if that's the rule , although we know there is no charge to a business for card users ) beside point we buy extra stuff to make it to the require amount , sat outside waited , waited , waited for coffees , whilst waiting I decided to go to the little girl room , to hear the manager I think complaining about us only buying two drinks and it wouldn't been £5so why did the waitress except card ? She relied they paid £5 he shuffled off ;-/, coffee finally arrived when all I can say is there was more in the saucer than cup , when mentioned to the young boy he just said sorry walked away ;-( , overall this does look to be a nice place and maybe the food is good yet service is a big part too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank HolidaysJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haresleapfarmshop, Manager at The Barn Cafe Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

We are open for coffee and cakes from 12-3 on a Sunday, and have two designated tables on the ground floor and several comfy seats and sofas on the balcony area, as well as the outdoor seats, for people not having a full Sunday lunch with us.
It seems on this occasion you didn’t get the friendly, helpful and informative service we aim to provide, which has highlighted to us some staff training issues, which we have already addressed following your constructive criticism.
Unfortunately like many establishments with a small profit margin, we do have minimum spend of £5 for card transactions. This is to cover our transaction processing fees, which I assure you, we are charged by our bank.
We’d love to offer you free coffees on us to make up for your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn Cafe Bistro also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Burniston, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Barn Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing